LibGuides: Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Italian

Key databases

These databases allow you to quickly search across the global literature and identify publications in your research field.

These collections contain journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies.
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data source on all of the recognized languages in use today. The collection provides detailed profiles for every language and country on earth, as well as maps, statistical data, language identification, typology, classification and status as well as population data, language and dialect usage and development.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe's galleries, museums, archives and libraries. Useful for researching the cultural heritage of Europe.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.

Italinemo
Bibliographic database of Italian publications published across the world since 2000. Abstracts of each article included.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject index to scholarly publications in the fields of modern languages, literatures, linguistics, drama, and folklore literature. Also covers ethnomusicology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Xanthos Journal
Peer-reviewed academic journal publishing quality writing in the fields of comparative literature, philosophy and literature, literary theory and critique, classical reception, linguistics, and translation.
Supported by the University of Exeter.

Old books

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of all matters related to language and linguistics.
Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists.
Larousse Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Free online bilingual dictionaries, including English to French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and regularly updated online access to Oxford bilingual dictionaries.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, reference books and encyclopedia covering general reference, language and quotations and subject topics across, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.

Newspapers (Current and archives)

A wide range of Modern Language newspapers can be accessed via Nexis UK.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

To search for news results in the Italian language:

Click on News
In the By Language section, select Italian
Enter your keywords
Click on the Add option to add them to your search
Click on the Search icon

To find news articles from a particular newspaper:

Click on News
In the By Type section, choose Newspapers from the options available
Enter your keywords
Click on Search
Use the refine options ion the left hand side to select the newspaper title you are interested in
You can further refine your results by date, language etc.

Europeana Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Selected European newspapers from 20 countries. Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers. Content is in multiple European languages, and includes text, image, video and sound. Date coverage: 1618 - 1980s.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global news and business information service, includes full text access to major world newspapers and business titles.

If you are looking for Italian language news, choose the Search option and change the language from English to Italian.

Screenshot from Factiva database

You can also refine your search to just show results relating to Italy or specific regions in Italy by clicking on the Region option and choosing Italy or one or the Italian regions from the list. And then clicking on the blue triangle to add to your search.

Italian language learning websites

Chegg Prep Flashcards
A free website that allows you to create your own flashcards or choose from over 500 million existing flashcards to test your language skills and knowledge.
Review your flashcards on the app or from any device.
MemRise Italian courses
Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.
ThoughtCo. - Learning & Teaching Italian
Teachers and students can use these comprehensive Italian language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspaper websites

Corriere della Sera
Daily national newspaper
Il Messaggero
Daily national newspaper
Il Resto del Carlino
Daily tabloid newspaper
Il Sole 24 Ore
Daily national business newspaper
La Repubblica
Daily national newspaper
La Stampa
Daily national newspaper
Vox Europ (Italian language)
European newspaper available in 10 languages

Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Italian

Italian Language and Literature Resources

Key databases

Italian language learning websites

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspaper websites