LibGuides: Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Korean

Key databases

These databases allow you to quickly search across the global literature and identify publications in your research field.

These collections contain journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies.
19th Century English Language Journals of the Far East This link opens in a new window
A collection of six English language journals, founded by Western missionaries or scholars in China and other parts of Asia in the 19th century. These journals cover a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data source on all of the recognized languages in use today. The collection provides detailed profiles for every language and country on earth, as well as maps, statistical data, language identification, typology, classification and status as well as population data, language and dialect usage and development.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject index to scholarly publications in the fields of modern languages, literatures, linguistics, drama, and folklore literature. Also covers ethnomusicology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Old books

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of all matters related to language and linguistics.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, reference books and encyclopedia covering general reference, language and quotations and subject topics across, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

A wide range of Modern Language newspaper archives can be accessed via Nexis UK.

To search for news results in the Korean language:

Click on News
In the By Language section, select Korean
Enter your keywords
Click on the Add option to add them to your search
Click on the Search icon

To find news articles from a particular newspaper:

Click on News
In the By Type section, choose Newspapers from the options available
Enter your keywords
Click on Search
Use the refine options on the left hand side to select the newspaper title you are interested in
You can further refine your results by date, language etc.

Korea Times‎ This link opens in a new window Fully searchable archive of the Korea Times archive, a daily newspaper published in Seoul, South Korea, and one of the oldest English language‎‎ newspapers in the country. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1956-2016

Korean language learning websites

Chegg Prep Flashcards
A free website that allows you to create your own flashcards or choose from over 500 million existing flashcards to test your language skills and knowledge.
Review your flashcards on the app or from any device.
MemRise Korean courses
Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspaper websites

Chosun Ilbo
Daily national newspaper (South Korea)
Dong-a Ilbo
Daily national newspaper (South Korea)
Hankook Ilbo
Daily national newspaper (South Korea)
Hankyoreh
Daily national newspaper (South Korea)
JoongAng Ilbo
Daily national newspaper (South Korea)

Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Korean

Korean Language and Literature Resources

Key databases

Korean language learning websites

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspaper websites