Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Chinese

This database features hundreds of titles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies.

A wide selection of Chinese language ebooks covering a variety of subjects across the social sciences and humanities. Includes 50,000+ books in literature, history, business, and politics. Also contains carefully selected primary sources such as local gazetteers (difang zhi 地方誌) and literature and history sources (wen shi ziliao 文史资料) and reference works.

Full text Chinese language journals across history, literature and philosophy. Full text access also available to archive content (1994-2012) for Series G (politics, military affairs, law) and Series H (education and social sciences)
For research in academic journals in the Chinese language.

This database searches full-text Chinese language books, articles, theses, web pages and newspapers across a large range of subject areas.

Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.

Subject index to scholarly publications in the fields of modern languages, literatures, linguistics, drama, and folklore literature. Also covers ethnomusicology.

Full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.

A collection of six English language journals, founded by Western missionaries or scholars in China and other parts of Asia in the 19th century. These journals cover a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.

China: Culture and Society provides access to the Wason Pamphlet collection in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these rare pamphlets make up one of the most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world.

Series of digital archive collections sourced from libraries and archives across the world, covering the C19 and C20. Consists of monographs, manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and letters, historical photos, ephemera, and other kinds of historical documents. Our access includes coverage of Anglo-Chinese internal politics and relations as well as covering the security concerns of British India in relation to China.

A wide selection of Chinese language ebooks covering a variety of subjects across the social sciences and humanities. Includes 50,000+ books in literature, history, business, and politics. Also contains carefully selected primary sources such as local gazetteers (difang zhi 地方誌) and literature and history sources (wen shi ziliao 文史资料) and reference works.

Full text collection of Chinese and Japanese ancient books from the Si Ku Quan Shu and Qing Dynasty archives covering historical, political, economic, religious, philosophic, literary, ethnic, geographic and medicine documents (Chinese language).

Comprehensive data source on all of the recognized languages in use today. The collection provides detailed profiles for every language and country on earth, as well as maps, statistical data, language identification, typology, classification and status as well as population data, language and dialect usage and development.

Covering 1911-2000, these papers by and about Dr. Norman Bethune detail his life and impact. Celebrated in China particularly, he was a Canadian surgeon and dedicated Communist, helping the Loyalists in the Spanish Civil War and later the Red Army in China. Includes correspondence, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, pamphlets, and other research materials.

Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Covers U.S./China relations in the post-Cold War Era, including detail on the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. Contains public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, and news clippings, as well as White House documents.

Contains un-catalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle. The pamphlets are global in scope, although mostly in English and cover 1901-1969. The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.