LibGuides: Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Russian

Key databases

Academic sources

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window Full-text journal articles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies. Some magazine, book and trade content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject index to scholarly publications in the fields of modern languages, literatures, linguistics, drama, and folklore literature. Also covers ethnomusicology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.

Primary sources

Current Digest of the Russian Press (DA-CDRP) This link opens in a new window
English translations of selected Russian-language newspaper content from the most authoritative Soviet and Russian newspapers, since 1949.
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data source on all of the recognized languages in use today. The collection provides detailed profiles for every language and country on earth, as well as maps, statistical data, language identification, typology, classification and status as well as population data, language and dialect usage and development.
Izvestiia Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Izvestiia was the official daily newspaper of the Soviet government from 1917 until the dissolution of the USSR in 1991, when Izvestiia became an independent publication. The archive covers content from 1917-2017. A Cyrillic virtual keyboard, supports the ability to search in transliteration.
Krasnyi Arkhiv Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full archive of the Russian language journal published from 1922 to 1941 by the Central Archives of the USSR and Central Archival Administration. Content includes diplomatic papers, official documents of the police department, diaries and personal correspondence of political figures of Tsarist Russia and was published 'for the education of the proletariat".
Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Long-standing USSR satirical journal published between 1922 - 2008. Featuring a wide range of political opinions and commentary on Soviet bureaucracy and excessive centralized control, religion, US foreign and domestic policy, Western political leaders and events, and more.
Pravda Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of Pravda, the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party from 1918 - 1991. Russian language.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
Soviet Woman Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
English language archive of the Russian magazine. Published by the Soviet Women’s Anti-Fascist Committee and the Central Council of Trade Unions of the USSR to counter anti-Soviet propaganda, and introduce Western audiences to the lifestyle, role and achievements of Soviet women. Publication spans from 1945 to 1991.
Voprosy istorii Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Publication of the Institute of General History of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Offers essays on Russian and world history. Was preceded by Istorik-marksist, Bor'ba klassov, and Istoricheskii zhurnal.
World Communism: Pamphlets from McMaster University This link opens in a new window
Contains un-catalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle. The pamphlets are global in scope, although mostly in English and cover 1901-1969. The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of all matters related to language and linguistics.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, reference books and encyclopedia covering general reference, language and quotations and subject topics across, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and regularly updated online access to Oxford bilingual dictionaries.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

A wide range of Modern Language newspaper archives can be accessed via Nexis UK.

To search for news results in the Russian language:

Click on News
In the By Language section, select Russian
Enter your keywords
Click on the Add option to add them to your search
Click on the Search icon

To find news articles from a particular newspaper:

Click on News
In the By Type section, choose Newspapers from the options available
Enter your keywords
Click on Search
Use the refine options on the left hand side to select the newspaper title you are interested in e.g. Die Welt
You can further refine your results by date, language etc.

Current Digest of the Russian Press (DA-CDRP) This link opens in a new window
English translations of selected Russian-language newspaper content from the most authoritative Soviet and Russian newspapers, since 1949.
Izvestiia Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Izvestiia was the official daily newspaper of the Soviet government from 1917 until the dissolution of the USSR in 1991, when Izvestiia became an independent publication. The archive covers content from 1917-2017. A Cyrillic virtual keyboard, supports the ability to search in transliteration.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains all obtainable published issues of the English-language Moscow News (1930-2014), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). Note: Moscow News was shut down by the Politburo in 1949 and did not resume publishing until 1956.

Russian language learning websites

MemRise Russian courses
Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.
ThoughtCo. - Learning & Teaching Russian
Teachers and students can use these comprehensive Russian language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspapers

Argumenty i Fakty
Weekly newspaper
Komsomolskaya Pravda
Daily national tabloid
Rossiyskaya Gazeta
Daily national newspaper
Izvestia
Daily national newspaper
Moskovskij Komsomolets
Daily Moscow based tabloid

Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Russian

Russian Language and Literature Resources

Key databases

Academic sources

Primary sources

Russian language learning websites

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspapers