LibGuides: Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Spanish & Hispanic

Key databases

Academic sources

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering art, archaeology, anthropology, classical studies, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, modern languages and cultural studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject index to scholarly publications in the fields of modern languages, literatures, linguistics, drama, and folklore literature. Also covers ethnomusicology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of scholarly journals and books from many leading University presses and Scholarly Societies, covering the humanities and social sciences. Full text access is available for material subscribed to by UoE. Table of contents access is freely available for all non subscribed material.

Primary sources

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Pamphlets and monographs documenting Latin American history and Latin American literature, from 1500 to 1930, from the Oliveira Lima library.
Ethnologue This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive data source on all of the recognized languages in use today. The collection provides detailed profiles for every language and country on earth, as well as maps, statistical data, language identification, typology, classification and status as well as population data, language and dialect usage and development.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe's galleries, museums, archives and libraries. Useful for researching the cultural heritage of Europe.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
Spanish Civil War Collection This link opens in a new window
Rare pamphlets from Germany, Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines (1936-1939), providing insights on the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists at the time of the Spanish Civil War.
SUR, 1931-1992 This link opens in a new window
Complete archives of the Latin American literary magazine SUR. Also includes manuscripts from the first issue and an unpublished set of letters by the founder Victoria Ocampo. Spanish language, with searching available in Spanish or English.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles, commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video covering the region. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level. Much coverage is C19 and C20 but some content is earlier including back to the C15. Includes selected U.S. press coverage of Latin American and Caribbean affairs 1800-1899.
Coleccin Revolucin, 1910-1921 This link opens in a new window
Spanish language documents relating to the Mexican Revolution from various archives. This collection includes the revolutionary activities of the Flores Magon brothers, correspondence, military activities and reports on the political situation in some states, land deals, reports of troops and mail operations, circulars, laws, decrees, and manifestos, sessions and meetings of the Supreme Revolutionary Convention held from 1914 to 1915.

Old books

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of all matters related to language and linguistics.
Larousse Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Free online bilingual dictionaries, including English to French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, reference books and encyclopedia covering general reference, language and quotations and subject topics across, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and regularly updated online access to Oxford bilingual dictionaries.

Individual newspapers

El Economista
Daily national newspaper. Full text coverage from Sep 8, 2020 - present
El Mundo
Daily national newspaper. Full-text content from May 8, 2008 - present
El Pais
Full text coverage from Jul 28, 2008 to the present

Newspapers collections - search across multiple newspaper titles at once

Europeana Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Selected European newspapers from 20 countries. Explore the headlines, articles, advertisements, and opinion pieces from European newspapers. Content is in multiple European languages, and includes text, image, video and sound. Date coverage: 1618 - 1980s.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin American countries in Central and South America. Newspapers contain content in Spanish, English, Portuguese and French. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1800-1922
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to regional, local and national newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout Latin American . It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile). Mainly Spanish and Portuguese languages. OCR text content. Date coverage: Late 20th century - current
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

Nexis This link opens in a new window Business and news reports from regional, national and international news titles. OCR text content only. Date coverage: Mainly 1990s-Current

To search Nexis for news results in a particular language

1. Click on News

2. In the By Language section, select the language you want (For example, Spanish)

3. Enter your keywords in the Search box

To find Nexis news articles from a particular newspaper:

In the Nexis homepage, start typing in the name of the newspaper e.g. el pais
A list of potential publications will appear.
Click on the newspaper title you want

The newspaper title will appear as a filter
Your search will now be restricted to results published in this newspaper

You can now enter your search terms to find the newspaper articles you need
You can save this as a favourite filter by clicking on the star

Spanish language learning websites

Chegg Prep Flashcards
A free website that allows you to create your own flashcards or choose from over 500 million existing flashcards to test your language skills and knowledge.
Review your flashcards on the app or from any device.
MemRise Spanish courses
Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.
ThoughtCo. - Learning & Teaching Spanish
Teachers and students can use these comprehensive Spanish language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.

Search the library collections

Library Search

Newspaper websites

ABC
Daily national newspaper
El Mundo
Daily national newspaper
El Pais
Daily national newspaper
El Periódico de Catalunya
Daily newspaper published in Spanish and Catalan languages
La Razon
Daily Madrid newspaper
La Revista
Sunday newspaper from El Mundo
La Vanguardia
Daily newspaper published in Spanish and Catalan languages
VoxEurop (Spanish Language)
European newspaper available in 10 languages

Videos

Learning Spanish II: How to Understand and Speak a New Language
A 30 episode series on learning the Spanish language

Modern Languages and Cultures Subject Guide: Spanish & Hispanic

Spanish & Hispanic Studies Language and Literature Resources