Skip to Main Content

Creativity: Innovation & Business Strategy Subject Guide: Business Subject Guide

Help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

Welcome to the Business, Management, Accounting & Finance Subject Guide

Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

 

New to the University?  Explore the Getting Started with the Library guide to learn all about the Library basics. 

Your Librarian at Exeter

Profile Photo
Nicola Nye

Where to start your search

Library Search

computer generated representation of person typing info into a computer
Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more. 

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching - Recommended databases

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and much more, to support your study and research.  

When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:

1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)

2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)

3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)

The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Finding Company Information tutorial.

Company Documents

Company Data

Company Analysis

Finance Databases

  • WallStreetMojo
    Free Guides and Resources to help you learn Investment Banking, Financial Modeling, Equity Research, Private Equity & more.

Accounting and Tax Databases

These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.

With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. Perfect for compiling SWOT or PESTEL analyses. 

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject (e.g. Finance) or type (e.g.Journals, News, Data etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Please note, most databases have their own built-in help and guidance, usually located in the top right hand corner.

Academic Research 

I'm looking for...

You may like to see how issues are portrayed in the press. Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.

Key resources include:

  • Financial Times subscription
  • The Economist
  • Nexis UK - A large full text database providing current newspaper coverage from local, national and international titles.
  • Newspaper archives -  Extensive archives for a range of UK and international newspapers.

 

Case Studies can be found across a range of resources including in books, journals, professional magazines, databases, company websites and online.

 

View the Finding Case Studies page for additional information and recommended resources.

 

  • Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.

  • They can be a vital source of information for your studies.

Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.

Visit the Official Publications LibGuide for guidance and recommendation on accessing:

  • UK Parliamentary papers; including debates and legislation
  • Official European Union publications
  • Information from key international bodies; including the OECD, World Trade Organization and the World Bank

Access Harvard Business Review online (link opens in a new window)

Click on the image below to open PowerPoint with instructions.

You will need to sign in with your Exeter University email address and SSO whenever you use FT.com, to get the full subscription content.

You can access the FT via the university system using the link above, or access directly via FT.com.

Signing in

Enter your University of Exeter email address, click Next and click SSO Sign in.

Basic Search

Once you have logged in to FT.com the simplest way to search is by using the box in the top right

The results are categorised at the top of the screen as All of FT, Articles, Blogs and Multimedia. Click on any of the headings to limit your search or use any of the other filters below (Date, Companies, Section, Region, etc.)

Browsing FT.com

The latest news in UK and international business is broken down into different areas along the banner. This includes financial, economic and political news, comment and analysis. Run your mouse over a heading to browse different sectors, geographies and companies.

App

Download the FT app and log in via SSO with your Exeter University email address.

Financial Times LibGuide

Searching Online         

Conduct basic searches with the search box at the top of each page.  Click on the Search icon to open up the search box.

What is available?

You can search for articles and content from The Economist newspaper since June 1997, along with blogs and web-only content.

For earlier content you need to use the Economist Historical Archive Service which covers the period 1843 - 2014. 

Browsing

Use the print edition contents page lists and links to all articles in the current print edition. To view the contents of earlier print editions, browse the cover index.

You can also browse Economist articles by topic and view the collection of special reports.

App

Download the Economist app and Log in via SSO with your Exeter University email address

  • Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

 

 

A range of financial information databases are available to staff and students of the Business School.

The list of databases managed by the Business School can be found here.

For access to login ID and passwords for online databases for existing students and staff, please visit the database login information page on the Business School Intranet.

Support & Guidance

For general data resources inquiries: y.chen5@exeter.ac.uk 
For database software issues: either go through SID or email UEBS-itsupport@exeter.ac.uk  

 

What is a thesis?

A thesis or dissertation is a document submitted in support of candidature for a higher degree or professional qualification, presenting the author’s research and findings.

They consist of substantial primary research in specialised topics and provide very detailed data and analysis. They may be so specialised that they provide information that is unavailable elsewhere and their bibliographies can be a useful source of wider reading on a topic. They are extremely valuable sources of information.

Before you begin your research, it is important to discover what else has been written on your topic.

When starting doctoral research, it is crucial to establish that the specific research that you intend to do has not already been carried out. You will therefore need to look at previous theses in your field of study, both at the University of Exeter and elsewhere.

Explore the Theses LibGuide for help with finding full text theses from the University of Exeter, the UK and around the world.

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Study Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Contact Us or Give Feedback