LibGuides: Advanced Clinical Practice subject guide: Home

Library Essentials @ Exeter

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Advanced Clinical Practice, Anatomy, Medical Imaging, Medical Sciences, Medicine, Neuroscience, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacy, Sports Science

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key resources

A quick start guide to using PubMed can be found here. For tips and advice from the Library, see our guide to Medline (PubMed).

NICE This link opens in a new window
NICE provide access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health. Includes the BNF and BNFC and NICE Guidelines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence, protocols, trials and Systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Clinical database to support and inform evidence based healthcare decision making and patient care.

Epistemonikos
Evidence-based healthcare database

Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research. Guidance on searching Medline (PubMed) is available here.

PDQ-Evidence
Quick access to the best evidence for informing decisions about health systems.

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Evidence guidelines and medical opinion. For decision making by practitioners at the point of care.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject Medicine or search to find your required resource.

Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research. Guidance on searching Medline (PubMed) is available here.
Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window A full text database of scholarly education literature.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window An index to nursing, midwifery and community healthcare literature, with full text access to many of the indexed journals.
AMED This link opens in a new window Index of complementary medicine literature, with mainly UK and European coverage.
HMIC This link opens in a new window Healthcare management research database. Covers health policy, quality and safety, management and administration.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window An index to scholarly education literature.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.

Watch this video for a demonstration of how to search for literature on the general medical database, Medline (Ovid) using multi-field search

Using subject headings when searching Medline can help you find more relevant results and make your search more comprehensive. To learn how to carry out a searching using MeSH (medical subject headings) watch the below video.

Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window Research literature database covering all aspects of human medicine and related biomedical research.

ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window Access e-books, videos and other content as well as a question bank of thousands of questions in basic science and clinical medicine. Create an account and undertake customised tests focusing on your weak areas of study. To log in, click "log in via institution" and then enter University of Exeter.

To access this resource there are a couple of additional steps. Watch the video below for a demonstration of how to log in and register to access ebooks and assessment activities.

This video introduces a range of evidence-based resources from NICE including NICE guidelines, the BNF and the BNFC.

HMIC This link opens in a new window
Healthcare management research database. Covers health policy, quality and safety, management and administration.

BMJ Learning This link opens in a new window
E-learning modules on clinical topics and professional skills. Supports continuing medical education.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
A full text database of scholarly education literature.

Medical Education (journal)

The following resources are recommended to support you to develop skills in systematic literature searching and research:

Finding and using research datasets
by Caroline Gale Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 429 views this year
Systematic reviews
by Isobel Eddyshaw Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 4355 views this year
Grey literature in health and medicine
by Isobel Eddyshaw Last Updated Nov 22, 2023 0 views this year
Using the Cochrane Library and NICE resources - Medicine [online tutorial]
by Isobel Eddyshaw Last Updated Nov 22, 2023 0 views this year

Advanced Clinical Practice subject guide: Home

Library Essentials @ Exeter

Librarian

Where to start your search

Library Search

Key resources

Frequently asked questions - healthcare databases