Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.
Use the Environment Complete tutorials for an introduction to the database.
Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training.
You can browse by subject Environmental Humanities or search to find your required resource.
Library Hub Discover - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research.
As well as academic sources such as books and journals, you may wish to consult news sources, official publications, statistics etc.
Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.
The University has access to an extensive range of online primary source materials. These contain digitised copies of documents, letters, books, photographs and other primary sources.
We also have a wide range of physical primary source materials located on campus, both in the library and in the archives and special collections.
This Primary Sources Guide will help you find the sources you need for your assignments.
Find out more on the News LibGuide
Find out more in the Official Publications LibGuide.
Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
If you would like to find films and documentaries, these are some of the key resources.
For more audiovisual resources, see the A-Z database list.
The following tabs highlight a range of Environmental specific information sources which you may wish to consult.
To explore further resources visit the Searching for specific types of information libguide.
This Environmental Law: finding resources Guide highlights some of the key legal books and encyclopedia as well as explaining how to use legal databases.
The Census (UK) is undertaken by the Office of National Statistics (ONS). Census data is available to academic institutions via the UK Data Service. The Census Data LibGuide provides full details about the resources available to you and how to effectively search these resources.
We have extensive access to map resources through our Digimap collections. They provides online access to contemporary, historical, topographic, thematic maps and more. To explore our map collections take a look at the maps Libguide.
GIS is a system that collects, displays, manages and analyzes geographic information. GIS is used for many purposes that range from calculating space, analyzing spatial relationships, patterns or trends to cartography, visualization, and site management. GIS Software available includes ArcGIS Online. There are many resources available to help you on the GIS resources LibGuide.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Contact Us or Give Feedback