A registry of web tools for digital humanists and scholars conducting digital research. Find and compare resources on:
Note that the DiRT site is currently looking for new owners, and is temporarily down, but we hope that it will be resurrected soon!
An eclectic selection of guides, tutorials, tools and data, curated by a leading scholar in Digital Humanities, and all of which are free or have generous trial periods.
The world's largest web developer site with free tutorials and how-to guides:
A novice-friendly, peer-reviewed, community-driven resource for research and teaching with a wide range of digital tools, techniques and workflows, including:
Being a highly collaborative field, the Digital Humanities community pays particular attention to the ethics of cross-boundary research, and abides by the Montreal Statement on Research Integrity in Cross-Boundary Research Collaborations, which defines responsibilities for individual partners in collaborative research, in order to ensure ethical and fair cooperation, transparency and accountability in all aspects of research.
Recent DH-related conferences have reflected particularly on efforts to increase diversity in the field, and in recognizing the importance of constructive debate to advancing our understanding of methods and practices around the digital.
#TransformDH is an academic movement seeking to increase DH's inclusivity and diversity, working towards social justice and accessibility in its broadest sense (see @TransformDH and blog transformdh.org)
GO::DH For issues of inequality in access across lower and higher income countries, see the ADHO special interest group globaloutlookdh.org.
'RESOURCES – ON AUTOMATED SYSTEMS AND BIAS' For an ongoing list of relevant resources on how AI and search algorithms perpetuate existing social biases, see Abebe Birhane’s blog post. See also @black_in_ai.
#ArchivesSoWhite #ArchivesForBlackLives are movements at the intersection of Digital Humanities, archive studies, and diversity. See Bergis Jules' keynote speech, 'Confronting Our Failure of Care Around the Legacies of Marginalized People in the Archives', published on Medium.
An introductory text which examines the role of the Digital Humanities across disciplines, and attempts to define the key skills needed for each area of the field.
A comprehensive introduction and practical guide to how humanists use the digital to conduct research, organize materials, analyze, and publish findings.
This reader brings together the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities and provides a historical overview of how the term "Humanities Computing" developed into the term "Digital Humanities".
A more comprehensive survey of digital practice in the humanities, this book brings leading practitioners into discussions of theory and practice, looking at the motivation and thought of those working with new digital methods and concepts.
A volume of short thought-pieces and longer essays that tackle the more difficult concepts in the Digital Humanities, with current debates that often continue online and provoke extended discussion.
There are many approaches worldwide to the copyright of digital objects, and there are often grey areas where innovative new technologies are creating unimagined forms of information and representations.
Copyright for Archivists and Records Managers by 
Research Handbook on Intellectual Property and Digital Technologies by
This Research Handbook provides a scholarly and comprehensive account of the multiple converging challenges that digital technologies present for intellectual property (IP) rights, from the perspectives of international, EU and US law. Despite the fast-moving nature of digital technology, this Handbook provides profound reflections on the underlying normative legal dilemmas, identifying future problems and suggesting how digital IP issues should be dealt with in the future. Written by leading international academics, commentators and practitioners, the Handbook is organised into clear thematic parts that address the most prominent types of IP rights: copyrights and related rights; patents and trade secrets; and trade mark law and designs. Chapters analyse a range of key technologies and their impacts within these areas, including big data, artificial intelligence, streaming, software, databases, user-generated content, mass digitisation, metatags, keywords and 3D printing. The Handbook concludes by exploring issues of competition and enforcement that cut across all of these technologies, particularly in the light of online exploitation and infringement. Scholars and doctoral students of law will find this Handbook an invaluable introduction and guide to the field of digital IP. Practitioners will also find its thoughtful coverage practically relevant.
