Skip to main content

Subject Guide: Economics: Home

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

  Welcome to the Economics LibGuide

   Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching - Recommended databases

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and much more, to support your  study and research.  

These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.

With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. Perfect for compiling SWOT or PESTEL analyses. 

CIA Wold Factbook

Provides economic, demographic and political information on counties worldwide.

For guidance on how to use these resources, visit our collection of database support videos.

When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:

1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)

2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)

3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)

The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Researching Companies LibGuide.

Company Documents

Company Data

Company Analysis

Financial Times

Getting started

The first time you use FT.Com you will need to Register.

  • Click on Sign up
  • Enter your University email address and select the option "No, I am a new user. "
  • Click on Continue.

Fill in the form on the next screen and tick the box to agree to the terms and conditions, then click on Continue.

  • You will get a confirmation that you have successfully registered.
  • Click on Browse FT.com to go back to the search screen

You will need to sign in with your email address and the password you have just created whenever you use FT.com. If you use the link from the Electronic Library or the library catalogue you will have direct access.

Basic Search

Once you have logged in to FT.com the simplest way to search is by using the box in the top right

The results are categorised at the top of the screen as All of FT, Articles, Blogs and Multimedia. Click on any of the headings to limit your search or use any of the other filters below (Date, Companies, Section, Region, etc.)

Browsing FT.com

The latest news in UK and international business is broken down into different areas along the banner. This includes financial, economic and political news, comment and analysis. Run your mouse over a heading to browse different sectors, geographies and companies.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject (e.g. Economics) or type (e.g.Journals, News, Data etc.) or search to find your required resource.

Academic Research 

Market Research

 

Click here to access our extensive range of database support videos.

I'm looking for...

You may like to see how issues are portrayed in the press. Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.

Key resources include:

  • Financial Times subscription
  • The Economist
  • Nexis UK - A large full text database providing current newspaper coverage from local, national and international titles.
  • Newspaper archives -  Extensive archives for a range of UK and international newspapers.

 

Case Studies can be found across a range of resources including in books, journals, professional magazines, databases, company websites and online.

 

View the Finding Case Studies page for additional information and recommended resources.

 

  • Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.

  • They can be a vital source of information for your studies.

Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.

Visit the Official Publications LibGuide for guidance and recommendation on accessing:

  • UK Parliamentary papers; including debates and legislation
  • Official European Union publications
  • Information from key international bodies; including the OECD, World Trade Organization and the World Bank

Guidance on finding and accessing online articles from the Harvard Business Review, using the university's resources.

  • Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas.  You can explore TED Talks related to topics such as Business, Finance, Marketing and lots more from the TED homepage

A range of financial information databases are available to staff and students of the Business School.

See the list of databases managed by the Business School.

For access to login ID and passwords for online databases for existing students and staff, please visit the database login information page on the Business School Intranet.

Support & Guidance

For general data resources inquiries: j.shen@exeter.ac.uk
For database software issues: either go through SID or email UEBS-itsupport@exeter.ac.uk  

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Interactive tutorials

Click on the images above to access our interactive online tutorials on Finding company information and Finding market research.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us