Welcome to the Finance and Accounting Subject Guide
Use this Subject LibGuide to make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
Finance Databases
Accounting and Tax Databases
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and much more, to support your study and research.
An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:
1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)
2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)
3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)
The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Finding Company Information tutorial.
Company Documents
Company Data
Global news and business information service, includes full text access to major world newspapers and business titles.
Statista provides statistics and data on over 170 industries and 150 countries.
Please be advised, automated downloading of Statista content is not allowed and will cause our access to be suspended.
Company Analysis
Providing rankings of online stores, companies and marketplaces in over 50 countries. These rankings cover 42k+ online stores, 350 companies and 300+ online marketplaces. Detailed profiles are available for each player, providing information on 70+ financial and performance KPIs.
These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.
With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. Perfect for compiling SWOT or PESTEL analyses.
Providing rankings of online stores, companies and marketplaces in over 50 countries. These rankings cover 42k+ online stores, 350 companies and 300+ online marketplaces. Detailed profiles are available for each player, providing information on 70+ financial and performance KPIs.
Global news and business information service, includes full text access to major world newspapers and business titles.
Objective news and analysis that covers the legal and commercial challenges facing the retail industry. The Resource Centre includes up-to date court filings and documentation.
Database covering consumer market research reports: topics or sectors of the UK market.
Statista provides statistics and data on over 170 industries and 150 countries.
Please be advised, automated downloading of Statista content is not allowed and will cause our access to be suspended.
Please note, most databases have their own built-in help and guidance, usually located in the top right hand corner.
Academic Research
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject (e.g. Finance) or type (e.g.Journals, News, Data etc.) or search to find your required resource.
Online version of the Financial Times, a daily broadsheet UK newspaper covering international business, finance, economic and political news. Includes images and text. Date coverage: 2004-Current
You will need to sign in with your Exeter University email address and SSO whenever you use FT.com, to get the full subscription content.
You can access the FT via the university system using the link above, or access directly via FT.com.
Signing in
Enter your University of Exeter email address, click Next and click SSO Sign in.
Basic Search
Once you have logged in to FT.com the simplest way to search is by using the box in the top right
The results are categorised at the top of the screen as All of FT, Articles, Blogs and Multimedia. Click on any of the headings to limit your search or use any of the other filters below (Date, Companies, Section, Region, etc.)
Browsing FT.com
The latest news in UK and international business is broken down into different areas along the banner. This includes financial, economic and political news, comment and analysis. Run your mouse over a heading to browse different sectors, geographies and companies.
App
Download the FT app and log in via SSO with your Exeter University email address.
Full text access to The Economist magazine and web content. Log in via SSO with your Exeter University email address and search for University of Exeter. 
Searching Online 
Conduct basic searches with the search box at the top of each page. Click on the Search icon to open up the search box.
What is available?
You can search for articles and content from The Economist newspaper since June 1997, along with blogs and web-only content.
For earlier content you need to use the Economist Historical Archive Service which covers the period 1843 - 2014.
Browsing
Use the print edition contents page lists and links to all articles in the current print edition. To view the contents of earlier print editions, browse the cover index.
You can also browse Economist articles by topic and view the collection of special reports.
App
Download the Economist app and Log in via SSO with your Exeter University email address.
A range of financial information databases are available to staff and students of the Business School.
The list of databases managed by the Business School can be found here.
For access to login ID and passwords for online databases for existing students and staff, please visit the database login information page on the Business School Intranet.
Support & Guidance
| For general data resources inquiries: | y.chen5@exeter.ac.uk | |
| For database software issues: | either go through SID or email UEBS-itsupport@exeter.ac.uk |
Access Harvard Business Review online (link opens in a new window)
Click on the image below to open PDF with instructions.
You may like to see how issues are portrayed in the press. Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.
Key resources include:
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.
However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.
Just follow these instructions:
Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:
Find out more here: Making the most of Google Scholar
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
