Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Take a break from your recommended academic reading and explore e-books and audiobooks on the Libby app.
More information can be found on the Libby guide.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Key resources
Try searching these databases for scholarly research. For guidance on how to use these resources, please see this page.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an extensive archive of free-to-air TV programmes and radio shows
Kanopy films and documentaries covering Mathematics. Full content for University of Exeter.
TED talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). They can be a great way to keep up to date with live issues in your area of research/study
Explore TED Talks related to the topic of mathematics and statistics, or the Math Talks To Blow Your Mind playlist is a good starting point for understanding the sort of talks you'll find on TED.
You'll find talks on all sorts of other topics too. The latest and most popular talks are available from the TED homepage.
These databases are multi-disciplinary in content but should contain scholarly literature relating to climate science.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.
However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.
Just follow these instructions:
Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:
Find out more here: Making the most of Google Scholar
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is transforming how we study, work, and interact with technology. Whether you’re using AI to support your learning, automate tasks at work, check grammar, or assist with research, it’s crucial to understand its capabilities, limitations, and ethical implications.
The Understanding AI guide will help you develop AI literacy, learn how to use AI responsibly, and ensure you meet the University of Exeter’s policies.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
