Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Medieval and Early Modern Resources

Welcome to the Medieval and Early Modern Resources Guide

This resource guide provides an overview of archives, manuscripts and rare books held by the University of Exeter that date to the medieval and early modern period (c fifth century to eighteenth century). The pages below include details about items or collections relating to different centuries and contain links to the catalogues, through which you can explore the collections further. 

The resources highlighted in this guide have been identified using our catalogues, but are not exhaustive. You can search our archives catalogue and library catalogue with key word searches to identify further items of interest. More information on searching the catalogues can be found on the Search our Catalogues LibGuide. If you come across any other sources within our collections that you think should be included in this guide, we would be very pleased to hear about them.

Archives and rare books held by Special Collections are available to everyone. More information about accessing the collections can be found in our Visiting Heritage Collections LibGuide. Please note that there may be some restrictions on accessing and copying (including photography) material in the archives and books held by Special Collections in line with current data protection and copyright legislation. Always make sure to check the access conditions on the archive catalogue and email Special Collections before your visit for more information about specific restrictions.

Contact Us or Give Feedback