Manuscripts from the collections of the Bridgettine nuns of Syon Abbey [EUL MS 262/add1 and EUL MS 262/add2], in particular manuscript entitled 'An Account of the Travels, Dangers, & wonderful Deliverances of the English Nuns of the famous Monastery of Sion From their first leaving England to their Settlement at Lisbon in the Kingdom of Portugal' (1741) [EUL MS 262/add1/26], and a manuscript volume of prayers entitled 'Estacao' (c 1749-1793) [EUL MS 262/add2/25].
Syon Abbey archive [EUL MS 389], comprising papers relating to the Bridgettine community's period in exile in the Low Countries, France and Portugal. These include correspondence with ecclesiastical authorities [EUL MS 389/ECC/1], vows of sisters [EUL MS 389/COM/2/1/4], a letter from Sister Kitty Witham (1756) [EUL MS PERS/WITHAM], and an account book (1768) [EUL MS 389/FIN/1/1/1]
Gale and Morant Family Papers - content advice: Papers within this collection contain problematic language or terms that have changed meaning over time - [EUL MS 44; EUL MS 44 add. 1; EUL MS 130.] relating to the management of family-owned sugar plantations in Jamaica at the height of the Transatlantic Slave Trade and comprising include correspondence, accounts and other papers (1731-1939).
Mariette family papers, comprising French historical papers relating to the Mariette family and connected families (such as the de Villeblin family), including wills, inventories, and other legal documents, copies of deeds, and private accounts,16th-19th century [EUL MS 36]
Eighteenth century French political satires and love poem [EUL MS 125]
Copy of Arabic manuscript by al-'Awtabi in six parts (c 1703) [EUL MS 119/4/6]
Nuovo Ritratti della corte di Francia (1704), a manuscript account of the French Court entitled [EUL MS 30b]
Gentleman's almanack of Richard Bent (1718) The volume bears the title: 'Ephemeris Generosus. Or the Gentlemans Almanack. Containing an Astronomical View of the Heavens for the year of our Lord God, 1718, being the second after Bissextile, or Leap Yeare.' The calculations are made for the 'meridian of London'. [EUL MS 24]
Lady Jersey's personal papers (18th-19th century), including invitations to events, political satires, and short communications. [EUL MS 10]
The collections include:
Note: To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*
Baring-Gould Library A collection of approximately 3,000 books, the majority of which were collected by Sabine Baring-Gould (1834-1924), and include many of his own works. The Library includes books relating to literature, history, theology folklore, fairy tales, religion, music, art, architecture, geography and natural history.
Crediton Parish Library The Crediton Parish Library contains a great number of theological works, but there is also a good cross-section of other subjects, such as history, politics, science, geography and literature.
Crediton Parish Library Pamphlets This Crediton Parish Library includes 1225 seventeenth- and eighteenth-century pamphlets, many on non-conformist topics. Most of the works cover the period 1670-1720 and they form a useful source for the history, politics, religious controversy and literature of those years.
Exeter Law Society Collection The collection comprises 122 books dating from 1588 to 1906. It contains books, statutes, and law reports, including Ashby and White’s The Great Question (1705), Sir Matthew Hale’s The History of Common Law (1779), 4th Ed., and F. Const’s The Laws Relating to the Poor (1800, 1807).
Fox Collection The Fox Collection is a small collection of 54 17th to 20th century books mostly on topics relating to Quaker history. The collection was created by Mr Hubert Fox, who lived in Devon and who published a few books on naval and Quaker history.
Hughan Collection A small collection of approximately 150 books dating from 1549 to 1913, focusing mainly on religious themes, including a number of different versions of English Bibles.
Lloyd Collection A collection of rare books with fine bindings created by John Lloyd, the University Librarian at Exeter from 1946 to 1972. It comprises a collection of European fine bindings, illustrated and rare books.
Ottery St Mary Parish Library The Ottery St Mary parish library contains books mainly on theological topics dating from the 16th to the 19th century, but also include five 15th-century incunabula.
Reserve Collection of post-1700 rare books The books in the Reserve Collection include individual volumes transferred from the Library's main sequence of loan books, as well as gifts and purchases. The historical aspect of all academic subjects taught at the University are represented, from art history to literature, from the history of science to the history of law.
A L (Alfred Leslie) Rowse Collection The books taken from his working library are chiefly historical volumes used in his research, including titles on the history of Britain and the history of Devon and Cornwall, with a few literary books interspersed.
Society of Friends Collection The Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) have been active in Exeter since the late 1650s, with a Meeting House first constructed in 1691. The collection comprises 129 items and represents what is believed to be part of a monthly meeting library and was transferred from the Quaker Meeting House in Exeter.
Syon Abbey Library The Syon Abbey Library comprises more than 1,000 printed books dating from the early sixteenth century to the late twentieth century, including hagiographic, devotional, polemical, and historical works. As well as containing numerous individual titles of interest, the collection as a whole is a rich source of study for ecclesiastical history and religious women's reading habits.
Cartography Collection
Approxmately 2000 items (17th to 20th century), including 231 historic maps, 21 historic atlases and 25 printed Baedeker guides.
The collection is catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue under the local classmark 'Cartography Coll.'.
Constable Map Collection
94 maps (16th-19th centuries, with a particular strength in 17th century maps), arranged in four sections: general British Isles (1-5); English counties (A-Z) (6-48); Wales and Welsh counties (49-77); non-British (78-94). The earliest map in the Constable Collection is an edition of Ptolemy's Hibernia et Albion, published between 1510 and 1530.
The collection is catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue under the local classmark 'Constable Maps'.
Townsend Collection
19 maps (16th-19th centuries, with a particular strength in 17th century maps), arranged in two sections: maps of Devon (1-10), maps of Exeter (11-19).
The collection is catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue under the local classmark 'Townsend Maps'.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
