Manuscripts from the collections of the Bridgettine community of Syon Abbey, including several illuminated manuscripts and fragments [EUL MS 262]
- EUL MS 262/1 Processionale mid-late 15th century,
- EUL MS 262/2 Horae, c 1430s;
- EUL MS 262/3 Brevarium, 15th century;
- EUL MS 262/4 Horae, c 1423-1430s;
- EUL MS 262/5 Horae, 15th century;
- EUL MS 262/6 Brevarium, 15th century;
- EUL MS 262/7 Sermo de Sancta Anna et alia, 15th century;
- EUL MS 262/9 Officium parvum Beate Mariae, 15th century;
- EUL MS 262/fragments 1-8. The collection also contains fragments of parchment sheets (some with water, fire and pest damage) which have also been collected by the Abbey. Some of these are illuminated and are attributed to have formed part of the pre-Dissolution Abbey library.
The collections include:
Facsimiles include:
Note: To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*
Crediton Parish Library The Crediton Parish Library contains a great number of theological works, but there is also a good cross-section of other subjects, such as history, politics, science, geography and literature.
The Dodderidge Library (Parish Library of Barnstaple, Devon) The Dodderidge Library consists mainly of pre-1700 books, including a few incunabula. There are many books on theology, British, foreign and classical literatures and on geography, history and the sciences.
Ottery St Mary Parish Library The Ottery St Mary parish library contains books mainly on theological topics dating from the 16th to the 19th century, but also include five 15th-century incunabula.
Rare Books Collection The collection is the main run of pre-1700 books which are owned by the Library and which have been collected over time. The collection covers a range of subject areas, from theology to architecture, from antiquities to history of science.
Syon Abbey Library The Syon Abbey Library comprises more than 1,000 printed books dating from the early sixteenth century to the late twentieth century, including hagiographic, devotional, polemical, and historical works. As well as containing numerous individual titles of interest, the collection as a whole is a rich source of study for ecclesiastical history and religious women's reading habits.