Manuscripts from the collections of the Bridgettine nuns of Syon Abbey [EUL MS 262/add1 and EUL MS 262/add2] including amongst others: a revised edition of the Rule of St Augustine and the Constitutions of St Bridget, containing the signatures of sisters and brothers of Syon Abbey, c 1607 [EUL MS 262/add1/2]
Syon Abbey archive [EUL MS 389], comprising papers relating to the Bridgettine community's period in exile in the Low Countries, France and Portugal. These include correspondence with ecclesiastical authorities [EUL MS 389/ECC/1/1-4] and signed vows of sisters [EUL MS 389/COM/2/1/1-3].
John Dodderidge's 'History of Wales, Cornwall and Chester' manuscript copy, 1603 [EUL MS 6]
'Dialogue between a Councillor of State and a Justice of the Peace' by Walter Raleigh, manuscript copy c 1615 [EUL MS 98]
John Keymor's treatise on trade, manuscript copy c 1620 [EUL MS 97]
Seventeenth century commonplace book, manuscript, c 1624, including papers relating to Parliament, the House of Commons and treaties with Spain [EUL MS 32]
Commonplace book of Devon cleric Joseph Ayres, manuscript, 1650 [EUL MS 40]
Third printed volume of a 'Rule for Perfection' by Revd. Francis Bennet of Essex, 17th century [EUL MS 70]
Mariette family papers, comprising French historical papers relating to the Mariette family and connected families (such as the de Villeblin family), including wills, inventories, and other legal documents, copies of deeds, and private accounts,16th-19th century [EUL MS 36]
The collections include:
Note: To restrict the results to a specific time period, enter a date range under *Refine your results* and *Creation Date*
Baring-Gould Library A collection of approximately 3,000 books, the majority of which were collected by Sabine Baring-Gould (1834-1924), and include many of his own works. The Library includes books relating to literature, history, theology folklore, fairy tales, religion, music, art, architecture, geography and natural history.
Crediton Parish Library The Crediton Parish Library contains a great number of theological works, but there is also a good cross-section of other subjects, such as history, politics, science, geography and literature.
Crediton Parish Library Pamphlets This Crediton Parish Library includes 1225 seventeenth- and eighteenth-century pamphlets, many on non-conformist topics. Most of the works cover the period 1670-1720 and they form a useful source for the history, politics, religious controversy and literature of those years.
The Dodderidge Library (Parish Library of Barnstaple, Devon) The Dodderidge Library consists mainly of pre-1700 books, including a few incunabula. There are many books on theology, British, foreign and classical literatures and on geography, history and the sciences.
Exeter Law Society Collection The collection comprises 122 books dating from 1588 to 1906. It contains books, statutes, and law reports, including Ashby and White’s The Great Question (1705), Sir Matthew Hale’s The History of Common Law (1779), 4th Ed., and F. Const’s The Laws Relating to the Poor (1800, 1807).
Hughan Collection A small collection of approximately 150 books dating from 1549 to 1913, focusing mainly on religious themes, including a number of different versions of English Bibles.
Lloyd Collection A collection of rare books with fine bindings created by John Lloyd, the University Librarian at Exeter from 1946 to 1972. It comprises a collection of European fine bindings, illustrated and rare books.
Ottery St Mary Parish Library The Ottery St Mary parish library contains books mainly on theological topics dating from the 16th to the 19th century, but also include five 15th-century incunabula.
Rare Books Collection The collection is the main run of pre-1700 books which are owned by the Library and which have been collected over time. The collection covers a range of subject areas, from theology to architecture, from antiquities to history of science.
A L (Alfred Leslie) Rowse Collection The books taken from his working library are chiefly historical volumes used in his research, including titles on the history of Britain and the history of Devon and Cornwall, with a few literary books interspersed.
Society of Friends Collection The Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) have been active in Exeter since the late 1650s, with a Meeting House first constructed in 1691. The collection comprises 129 items and represents what is believed to be part of a monthly meeting library and was transferred from the Quaker Meeting House in Exeter.
Syon Abbey Library The Syon Abbey Library comprises more than 1,000 printed books dating from the early sixteenth century to the late twentieth century, including hagiographic, devotional, polemical, and historical works. As well as containing numerous individual titles of interest, the collection as a whole is a rich source of study for ecclesiastical history and religious women's reading habits.
Totnes Parish Library The Totnes Library dates back to the early years of the seventeenth century. The collection is strongest in its representation of seventeenth-century titles on divinity.
Cartography Collection
Approxmately 2000 items (17th to 20th century), including 231 historic maps, 21 historic atlases and 25 printed Baedeker guides.
The collection is catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue under the local classmark 'Cartography Coll.'.
Constable Map Collection
94 maps (16th-19th centuries, with a particular strength in 17th century maps), arranged in four sections: general British Isles (1-5); English counties (A-Z) (6-48); Wales and Welsh counties (49-77); non-British (78-94). The earliest map in the Constable Collection is an edition of Ptolemy's Hibernia et Albion, published between 1510 and 1530.
The collection is catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue under the local classmark 'Constable Maps'.
Townsend Collection
19 maps (16th-19th centuries, with a particular strength in 17th century maps), arranged in two sections: maps of Devon (1-10), maps of Exeter (11-19).
The collection is catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue under the local classmark 'Townsend Maps'.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
