Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Use LibKey to help you get access to full text articles.
Click the LibKey icon above to add the extension to your web browser. Select 'University of Exeter' as your institution and login using your Exeter IT login when prompted.
Take a break from your recommended academic reading and explore e-books and audiobooks on the Libby app.
More information can be found on the Libby guide.
Get in touch for help and advice on making the most of your library resources or book a 1:1 appointment with a Librarian.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Search within the following key databases to find articles, chapters and academic papers related to the natural sciences.
Use the Environment Complete tutorials for an introduction to the database.
You have access to further resources via the Natural Sciences subject list area in the A-Z Databases list.
These are just a sample of some of the e-books you will be recommended to read as part of the Natural Sciences programme. See your module reading list for more information and links to other books, or run a search in Library Search.
Atkins' Physical Chemistry 11e
by
Combining broad coverage with an innovative use of pedagogy, Atkins' Physical Chemistry remains the textbook of choice for studying physical chemistry. Significant re-working of the text design makes this edition more accessible for students, while also creating a clean and effective textthat is more flexible for instructors to teach from.
Sears and Zemansky's university physics : with Modern physics
by
Magazines
The following resources might be useful if you are looking into the history, philosophy and ethics of science, perhaps as part of a Frontiers module.
Resources to support the development of professional skills and knowledge, such as:
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject e.g. Natural Sciences or search to find your required resource.
Allied subjects include Biosciences, Computer Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Physics and the Medical School.
You will also find LibGuides available for these and other subject disciplines.
Connect to the platform with your Exeter IT login, and create a free account to save and organise journals and articles.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
You can explore TED Talks related to the Sciences.
You'll find talks on all sorts of other topics too. The latest and most popular talks are available from the TED homepage.
You can use the following services to explore research materials available elsewhere
COPAC - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
An index to life sciences research literature.
A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
Literature across the life sciences. Useful for research into biology, ecology, biochemistry, immunology, neuroscience and virology.
Lecture, Seminar and Case study talks focusing on the latest research and developments in biomedical and life sciences.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments provides access to videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories around the world.
It's a valuable resource you can use to learn about Lab techniques and processes!
An Index to scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.
A bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
Visit the Physics libguide for more information on the library resources available. 
There are video guides available to help you search Reaxys.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments provides access to videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories around the world.
A valuable resource you can use to learn about Lab techniques and processes.
Visit the Chemistry libguide for more information on the library resources available.
Use the QuickStart guide if you are new to this resources or the Help Tutorials to view demonstrations of the various database functions.
Visit the Mathematics libguide for more information on the library resources available.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
The Library offers a full programme of skills teaching (both online and in-person). Find out more in the Essential Kit guide.
Check out the Events page and book yourself into sessions that you think you need.
We also have extensive online guidance available: have a look at your Subject Guide and the Study Skills Online Resources.
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.
However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.
Just follow these instructions:
Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:
Find out more here: Making the most of Google Scholar
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is transforming how we study, work, and interact with technology. Whether you’re using AI to support your learning, automate tasks at work, check grammar, or assist with research, it’s crucial to understand its capabilities, limitations, and ethical implications.
The Understanding AI guide will help you develop AI literacy, learn how to use AI responsibly, and ensure you meet the University of Exeter’s policies.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
