Skip to main content

Sports Science: Home

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

Welcome to the Sports Science LibGuide

Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your  study and research.  Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.

Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.

Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.

Use the SportDiscus tutorials for an introduction to the database.

Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training.

Use the SCOPUS tutorials for an introduction to the database.

You can see a fuller list in the A-Z database listing under Sport Sciences.

Check out this smart searching guide for help searching.

 

You can use the following services to explore research materials available elsewhere
 

  • Library hub discover - Search a trial database of UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.

  • WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.

  • The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

  • The Library of Congress -  catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.

  • LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide

  • CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources

Loading ...

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Loading ...

I'm looking for...

  To access Anatomy resources, go to the A-Z Database listing.

  You can search for the resources below by title or  by selecting Anatomy as the subject type.

  You can access:

 If you are looking for public health policies or guidelines don't forget to visit the Department of Health or NICE websites.

 If you are looking for health statistics take a look at the guide to UK Health and Health care statistics.

 

The UN Global Issues Website offers in depth analysis of a variety of topics including ageing and health issues.

  • Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.

  • They can be a vital source of information for your studies.

Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.

 

During your studies you may need to find, use or run Systematic Reviews or search for grey literature. Use the LibGuides to find out more.

 

If you need to undertake a systematic review use Cochrane Interactive Learning to develop the critical skills required.

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas. You can explore TED Talks related to the topic of the Sport and more from the TED homepage.

Looking for a way to learn more about your subject area without reading?

Consider listening to podcasts that may help to increase your knowledge.

Podcasts vary in quality, frequency and reliability, so make sure you evaluate them before using the information for an assignment.

Here are some examples of podcasts produced by academic journals:

Loading ...
Contact Us