Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theology and Religion Subject Guide: Home

Subject Guide - help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

 Welcome to the Theology and Religion LibGuide

   Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Library Induction to learn all about the Library basics. 

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your search with these recommended databases

Primary sources are documents which were created during particular historical periods, as opposed to secondary sources, which are written at a later date about particular historical periods.

Examples of primary sources are:

  • Government publications,
  • newspapers,
  • photographs,
  • original art work
  • diaries,
  • interviews,
  • memoirs,
  • letters,
  • manuscripts,
  • business records,
  • court cases,
  • census data,
  • speeches.

Find out more on the Primary Sources LibGuide

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.

You can browse by subject (e.g. Theology) or type (e.g.Journals, News, Archives etc.) or search to find your required resource.

EBSCO resources: This help site can support you with EBSCO journal databases, including:

- ATLA Religion Database

- Religion & Philosophy Collection

- Humanities International Complete

- Philosopher's Index

International Medieval Bibliography: Help guides

Année Philologique: User guide PDF

Web of Science:  Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training

Online tutorials

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us