Introduction to the Theatre Royal (Exeter)
The first Theatre Royal in Exeter opened in 1821 as a successor of the New Theatre which was gutted by fire in 1820. The Theatre Royal had its home at West Southernhay/Bedford Circus, but was likewise destroyed by fire in 1885. The Exeter Theatre Company was formed, and the second Theatre Royal opened in Longbrook Street in 1886. This theatre also burned to the ground in 1887 in tragic circumstances, with the (New) Theatre Royal opening on the same site in 1889. The theatre went into decline in the 1950s and was demolished in 1962, to be replaced by an office block. The present Northcott Theatre (situated on the University of Exeter main campus) opened to all intents and purposes as its successor in 1967.
The theatre ran productions of all kinds, ranging from plays, musicals, variety and pantomimes, with occasional ballets, operas and film showings. The theatre closed regularly every summer, and staged a huge pantomime each Christmas. These ran for one or two months and were very popular. As well as the home repertory company, touring companies also visited, including the D'Oyly Carte Opera Company with the great comic actor Sir Henry Lytton. Many other famous theatre names guested, including Harold Neilson, Mrs Patrick Campbell, local-born Violet Vanbrugh and Charles Hawtrey. Early appearances by Harry Secombe and Morecambe and Wise were also made.
You can find out more about the collections relating to the Theatre Royal held by Special Collections, which include a collection of 2,400 playbills, by browsing the boxes on this page.
The collection contains nearly 2,400 playbills, relating to all types of production at the theatre between 1890 and 1955. Included are bills for ballets, plays, variety and revue performances, musicals, operas, pantomimes and film showings.
The online catalogue includes individual descriptions for each of the playbills in this collection. Click the next tab to find out more about searching this collection.
Click here to find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
Page from unknown newspaper containing Prudential Assurance Company Limited, list of claims for the Theatre Royal Exeter fire on the 05 September 1887.
Click here to find out more about this item on the online archives catalogue
Page from unknown newspaper containing Prudential Assurance Company Limited, list of claims for the Theatre Royal Exeter fire on the 05 September 1887.
Click here to find out more about this item on the online archives catalogue
Programme for Cliff Gwilliam's Cinderella Pantomime at Theatre Royal, Exeter 1954-55 and undated newscutting 'Bygones in and around Exeter' from the Express and Echo concerning the Theatre Royal fire of 1887.
Click here to find out more about this collection on the online archives catalogue
Comprising one box of items relating to the Theatre Royal, found within the Northcott Theatre Archive, which include programes, posters and a printing plate, dating between 1941 and 1954.
Click here to find out more about these items on the online archives catalogue
Rowland Glave Saunders (1873-1952) served six terms as Mayor of Exeter (1938-1944) during the Second World War. He later also became Chairman of the Exeter Theatre Company Ltd and was heavily involved in the Theatre Royal in Exeter.
This manuscript volume (dated 1938-1952) was written by Rowland Glave Saunders and mainly concerns his reminiscences of Exeter during during six his terms as Mayor of Exeter between 1938 and 1944, which he describes as 'six momentous years'. It also includes several newspaper clippings relating to the Theatre Royal towards the end of the volume.
Click here to find out more about this item on the online archives catalogue
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
