About The Fashion Law (TFL)

The Fashion Law provides well-curated, research-driven news and insights into the legal and business aspects of the rapidly evolving fashion industry.

A wide range of content is available to support your research into legal and commercial aspects of the fashion world.  

In addition to short news articles, there is a range of analytical content, including: 

Case Studies & Snapshots

Topical content covering the latest litigation and industry developments, including regulations and legislation.

Funding & Finance Data Sets

Track investments and M&A events across various market segments for a broad overview of activity and a look at the evolving markets

Timelines & Trackers

Track deals, legislation, and lawsuits to help you keep a consistent gauge on the market.

Case Documentation

Up-to-date court filings and documentation.

Weekly briefings

Regular briefings of important developments in the field.

Deep Dives

These define and decode the most cutting-edge legal and business trends.

Case Briefs

Case studies with in-depth examinations, expert analysis and real-world context.

Topics of Interest

A regularly expanding library of relevant retail business, law and tech topics.

Accessing The Fashion Law

Login to the Fashion Law site with your usual University email and password.

Support & Feedback

If you need any support to use the site or would like to feedback on your experience of using the resource, just get in touch with your Law Librarian.

New Resource

The University has recently subscribed to the Public Information Online (PIO) online service from Dandy Booksellers Ltd offering a wide range of official documents going back, in many cases, more than a century.

About Public Information Online (PIO)

This web based archive supports research across publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, Welsh Parliament (Senedd), Scottish Government and also key Non-Parliamentary material. It is ideal for researching current and archive. governmental documents on various topics. 

Full details of coverage are available on the PIO website.

To learn more about what to expect from PIO, take a look at this short introductory video or take a look through this product showcase article by Donna Ravenhill of Dandy Booksellers, which gives a a great overview of the content, together with some illustrative search examples.  

Civil Service Yearbook

The current version of the Civil Service Yearbook is available to search or browse via Public Information Online.

You can search for archive versions using the Advanced search screen, as illustrated below.

User support

Online help is available via the PIO help pages. 

If you need further support to make use of this resource for your study or research, please get in touch with your Liaison Librarian. 

Feedback

You can also send feedback on this resource to your Liaison Librarian.  We’d be interested to hear how it has aided your study / research.

Starting this week!

During Term 1 2022/2023, the library liaison team are hosting weekly library research cafes in the Forum Library Lounge. No need to book, just drop by and take the chance to speak to a librarian about your library research. 

What sort of support can I get?

• Not sure how best to use the Library Search Service?
• Wondering which databases would be best to help you find resources for your assignments?
• Tried searching online but not finding the information you need?

We can help with that and more.  So if you need any advice on any aspect of searching for information to support your studies, just drop by and ask.

When and Where?

Every Tuesday throughout Term 1 starting 27th September - 6th December 2022 between 12:00 - 14:00.

Look out for us in the Forum Library Lounge area. As you enter through the Library gates, just look to your right and you'll find us at the study benches.

You can keep an eye on other events from the Library and Study Zone via the events calendar.  You'll find a mix of on-campus and online sessions. 

Our Library Games collections at Forum and St Luke's have proved very popular for some down time from studies.

We had some great suggestions in for new items recently and are delighted to say these are now available.  Do come and try them out!

New to Forum Library

Monopoly World Edition; Blokus, Alomejor Go Game Set, Exploding Kittens

New to St Luke's Library

Monopoly Junior & Fortnite, Colour Brain,Obama Llama

Looking sharp!

We also spotted that the pencils at the Forum Library were looking rather sad and blunt.  So we have had a sharpening session and all are good as new so you can get stuck back into some art therapy with the colouring books.

If you have any feedback on our Games Collections, or want to suggest some new items for the future do get in touch.

If you haven't discovered the Games Collections yet, just pop into the libraries and we will be happy to point them out to you.  You can also find out more information about the games online.

This year, the Library has obtained access to hundreds of new digital archives, including the full collection from British Online Archives. These include new collections covering missionary, military, trade union, trade and political records including many collections covering the British Communist Party and some new collections on the East India Company. Overall, they offer a fantastic trove of resources for students and staff to explore. 

Other notable recent acquisitions include the Royal Anthropological Institute Archive, and the archive of the Hindustan Times newspaper, which covers 1924-2010.

We have also updated our access to collections from Adam Matthew Digital: this includes the final part of the Mass Observation archives (covering the 2000's), a new archive on interwar culture and other new archives on Victorian film and the East India Company coming soon.

In addition, we have secured a deal with Gale Cengage to access a large number of their digital archives, maximising access for staff and students. These new archives include collections on China, Latin America, U.S. History, U.S. and U.K. declassified documents, political extremism and radicalism and the final part of the State Papers Online. Added to these are numerous newspaper archives, topping up existing access and adding access to the Picture Post magazine archive.

All new resources are available via our A-Z list, or you can browse by theme, time period or country on the Primary Sources Guide. Newspaper and magazine archives are listed on the News Archives Guide.

The JustisOne legal search platform has been retired and has been replaced by a new improved vLex Justis platform.  

The same content that was available to users via JustisOne remains available to all users, but in addition users can search across the entire vLEx platform for more comprehensive search results. 

Familiar features such as the precedent map are also retained and are supplemented by new tools and AI features to broaden and deepen the research experience.

To aid this transition vLex have provided a really useful set of support materials in their online Resource Centre.  This includes a comprehensive user guide, video walkthroughs and public webinars so you can sign up to be guided through the new platform by expert vLex trainers.

Login to: vLex Justis

This short video will guide you through the key ways to search and browse for content.

If you have any feedback on the new platform, or want to know more, just contact Lee Snook, Law Librarian.

De Gruyter and publishing partners are offering free access until 30 June 2022 to selected ebook titles and journal articles to support research into the war in Ukraine and the history of Eastern European relations.

Materials are drawn from over 115 eBooks and 13 journals in fields such as:

• European History
• International Relations
• Law
• Modern History
• Political Science
• Slavic Literature
• Sociology

Find out more about this initiative in the De Gruyter Newsletter or take a look at some of the Highlight Titles.

About Sage Research Methods

For several years, the University has made use of the Sage Research Methods database.  This database comprises numerous modules and prior to summer 2021 the modules were primarily in written form; journal entries, books and encyclopaedia.  For 2021/2022, an enhanced portfolio of over 3,000 additional materials has been made available and encompasses video, datasets and research cases, together with learning activities to test understanding

Educators can call on multimedia and lesson content to assist students to build their research methodology understanding and skills throughout their module activities.  Students can explore the realities of research through working with practice datasets and learning from real life research experiences that are featured in the  video and cases content.  This helps bring the research experience to life in a way that is not possible through the book and journal content.

Access Sage Research Methods

Login with your University username and passwords to SAGE Research Methods.

More about the new content

The new content includes datasets, cases and video

SAGE Research Methods Datasets

A collection of sample datasets and instructional guides that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative data analysis techniques.

SAGE Research Methods Cases

Detailed records of how real research projects are conducted, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the research methods, how they overcame challenges, what went well, and what they might have done differently

SAGE Research Methods Video

A streaming video collection created to support undergraduate teaching, student reference, research projects and higher level academic interest material. Content includes tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.

Click to see more info on datasets, cases and video

Help and Support

For online help and support, take a look at Sage's Training Centre.

If you are completely new to the Sage Research Methods database then you may like to join one of the upcoming webinars which will give you an introduction to the service.  Upcoming dates are: 

Mon 11 October @ 14.00 BST - RSVP

Mon 15 November @ 14.00 GMT - RSVP

Your liaison librarians are also available for help and support.  Just get in touch if you have questions about the database and how you might use it within your teaching.

Explore legal material from the seventeenth century through the early twentieth century. 

Together, the distinct collections that comprise The Making of Modern Law cover nearly every aspect of American and British law and dig deep into the legal traditions of Europe, Latin America, Asia, and other jurisdictions, both classic and contemporary. Encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature, these collections support and complement the traditional study of law by featuring valuable books from the most influential legal writers throughout history.

The University has recently acquired access to the Investor State Law Guide.  This is a specialist database for comprehensive investment treaty law research. 

It contains investment treaties, arbitral rules, case and other key documentation, and offers a collection of sophisticated analytical research tools to support in depth, comprehensive research across the field.  For example, you can browse by topic or treaty provision to connect with relevant content.

The Research Tools

• Subject Navigator: research complex subjects by isolating relevant issues and digging deeper into the Subject Navigator tree. Within the structure of the Subject Navigator, you will be able to view start by finding higher-level subject areas that are relevant to your research. As you dive deeper into the sub-sections of these subjects, you will be able to focus on the sub-areas that are most relevant to your research.
• Article Citator:  see a list of legal instruments (Treaties and Arbitration Rules) to see how these have been interpreted by tribunals. It will allow you to sort these cited instruments by the most commonly cited provisions and allow you to jump directly to the paragraph/footnote in the decision and award document that references the provision. 
• Jurisprudence Citator:  instantly see how specific decisions have been treated by subsequent investment treaty tribunals. 
• Publication Citator:  track the history and use of trusted secondary resources. It will allow you to gain insight into how authoritative materials have been utilized and considered by tribunals
• Terms and Phrases tool:  see how specific terms or phrases have been defined in the context of previous investment arbitration tribunals
•  ISLG Reports tool:  see patterns or data synthesized in such a way that will help you gain relevant insights related to cases, people, organizations or disputes. 
• Full Text Search tool: run a comprehensive keyword search across all documents in the ISLG collection, including decisions, awards, procedural orders, pleadings, arbitration rules, treaties and other legal instruments. 

Support

Use the online Knowledge Center for help on making the most of the research tools.

You can also sign up for training webinars to get a comprehensive overview of all the research tools

A number of videos are also available to view via  Screencast and YouTube.

Access

Investor State Law Guide 

And also ...

We also have access to OUP's Investment Claims database which you can use to access additional secondary sources in this area

Access: Investment Claims

New Resource!

The University has institutional access to TheLawyer.com website. This provides access to:

• The Lawyer Magazine: monthly current awareness on legal topics and careers. 
•  Lawyer 2B : The Lawyer’s student publication, providing careers and interview advice, commercial awareness guides, as well as news about training and vacation schemes, pupillage, law schools and insight into the legal profession for anyone interested in a career in law.
• Commentary: opinions, podcasts and analysis from legal practitioners and researchers
• Firms A-Z: News info, deals, analysis and rankings for Top UK and European law firms
• Plus lots more ...

You need to register with your @exeter.ac.uk address to set up your account so that you can access all content. 

As well as providing the latest legal commentary from the profession, this resource will be useful for legal careers research and also for keeping up to date with the latest legal tech discussions.

Historical research: If you are looking for early copies of the Lawyer Magazine, take a look at all the library's holdings for coverage info.  We have print and online access options from databases such as Hein Online.

We hope you find this resource useful. Get in touch with your Law Librarian if you have any questions about using the site.

About VSI

The Very Short Introductions are written by experts in the field and provide concise and engaging introductions to a wide range of subject area.

For students, these are a great source when approaching a new topic. They could be particularly useful when considering option choices, starting new modules or researching new ideas for dissertation work.

Lecturers who are compiling module readings, might want to select these as introductory texts for students, They give a broad overview of topics in a subject area but also highlight themes and controversies that could be explored in more detail through seminars and other module work.

These books span topics across all the disciplines at the University, encompassing the Arts and Humanities, Law, Medicine and Health, Science and Mathematics and the Social Sciences.

The collection is updated on a monthly basis, so it is worth checking in regularly for new content.  You can view details of the monthly updates online or keep up to date via the VSI Facebook group

Logging in to VSI

Just use you usual University username and password for access.  You’ll discover the VSI via the University’s A-Z list of databases.  But here is a quick link so you can jump in and start searching

Login to VSI

Using VSI

The search interface is very user friendly.  You can browse through the books in particular subject areas or search for a topic of interest, e.g. climate change or pandemic to discover material available throughout the subject collection.

If you end up as a regular VSI user you can set up a free personal VSI account and keep track of saved searches, chapters and books and also add your own annotations to materials.

An introductory video tour is available to guide you around.

Or you can click the image below and view/download a PDF version of the tour

If you have any questions relating to VSI, just contact your Liaison Librarian who will be happy to help.

Staff and students at University of Exeter now have access to the Encyclopedia of Law and Religion Online. This online version of the multi volume encyclopedia provides comparative insights into the relations between law, religion, the state and society.

Content is grouped into volumes covering, Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceana plus International Organisations.

The articles cover topics such as

• Social facts; 
• Historical background; 
• Position of religion in the legal system; 
• Individual religious freedom; 
• Legal status of religious communities; 
• Right of autonomy; 
• Active religious communities and cultures; 
• Labour law within religious communities; 
• Religious assistance in public institutions; 
• Legal position of religious personnel and members of religious orders; 
• Matrimonial and familial laws; 
• Religious and criminal laws; and 
• Country-specific issues. 

You can browse through the country materials or run a search on a topic to retrieve materials from across all volumes.

Sample Search Screenshot

Bibliographies are provided at the end of each country article and will point you towards further research in the field, drawn from books, articles, legislation and websites.

If you need advice on using the encyclopedia, just contact your Liaison Librarian. 

We have short term trial access to the Making the Modern Law Series.  Access is available until 8th February.  

The series is made up of 7 primary source databases.  Find out more about these below and use the links for access.

The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers (Primary Sources) https://link.gale.com/apps/ACLU?u=exeter

Search the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) records on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, and other topics

The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970 (Primary Sources) - https://link.gale.com/apps/MLFP?u=exeter

Access four centuries of historic legal codes from northern, central, and eastern Europe.

The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 (Primary Sources) - https://link.gale.com/apps/MMLF?u=exeter

Explore four centuries of full-text legal history from a global, interdisciplinary perspective.

The Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1950-1980 - https://link.gale.com/apps/MMLR?u=exeter

Discover frequently studied case histories from the U.S. courts of appeals.

The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Primary Sources) - https://link.gale.com/apps/MOML?u=exeter

Search this comprehensive collection of legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926.

The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1600-1970 (Primary Sources) - https://link.gale.com/apps/MMLP?u=exeter

Find state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other American legal history resources.

The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 (Primary Sources) - https://link.gale.com/apps/MMLT?u=exeter

Read through full-text documents from Anglo-American trials, including transcripts, printed accounts, arbitrations, and books.

Cross searching

It is also possible to cross search one or more of these databases using the enhanced Gale Primary Sources platform. 

Use this link for access and click on the Legal Studies limiter Just to add that we have recently updated the Gale Primary Sources platform homepage to include a Legal Studies limiter:

https://link.gale.com/apps/GDCS?u=exeter

Feedback

We'd be interested in your feedback on this trial.  If it would be useful for your teaching or research, please send your feedback to Lee Snook.

Social Justice Suite

Hein have recently made three of its databases freely available as part of its Social Justice Suite.

In offering these resources to the community Hein aims to "honour our core value of corporate citizenship" and "help foster knowledge, facilitate civil discourse, and encourage action for the betterment of our nation".

The suite includes the following resources:

• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law

• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

• Civil Rights and Social Justice

Access all these resources and other HeinOnline collections via the HeinOnline database link. Just log in with your University username and password if you are off campus.

Use the links above to find out more about each individual collection and for user guides and videos to help you explore.

All these collections include commentary resources such as books and scholarly articles, in addition to official documents, reports, case law and legislative provisions. The overviews below give you more of an insight into each collection.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law

A multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20^th century because long after slavery ended courts were still resolving issues emanating from slavery. In addition there are hundreds of pamphlets, books, articles, essays and other commentary written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. 

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

More than 680 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.

Civil Rights and Social Justice

A diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A varied collection of books on many civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.

Trial access is available to the Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text database until 22nd July 2020.

Click to Access: Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text 

This database is hosted by EBSCO and provides access to hundreds top journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology. A full title list is available for you to view online.

Content Includes

• More than 320 full-text magazines and journals

• More than 600,000 records

• Coverage of more than 600 journals from around the world

Subjects Include

• Criminology

• Criminal justice

• Corrections and prisons

• Criminal investigations

• Forensic sciences and investigation

• Substance abuse and addiction

• Probation and parole

Please pass any feedback on this database to your Liaison Librarian.  We'd be interested in your thoughts on its relevance to your teaching / research.

Are you a UoE Law Student?  Interested in becoming a TR Legal Representative for the 2020/21 academic year?  Then read on ...

What will you be doing?

• Encouraging more effective use of Thomson Reuters Legal Services such as Westlaw UK, eBooks and Practical Law. Running and promoting training sessions and competitions.
• Working with Thomson Reuters, Law Librarians and other key members of staff to schedule hands-on training sessions online and on-campus at your institution.

To be eligible to apply:

• You must be studying a Law Degree full time during the 2020/21 academic year at the institution that you are applying for.

Fee:

• Student Representatives are paid a Fixed Fee of up to £180 per month during term time to deliver a set number of tasks. We expect these tasks to take an average of 5 hours per week.

To Apply

• Simply follow the below link and complete the form!

https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=ZLjMYhpqXUuOHDl97BqCWEcSIevD84hNnc9cd67cYqdUNjFURDNMSTA2ODI5OUpHS0xTUFhZODhEWi4u

Closing Date - Friday 26th June

If you have any questions, please contact student.representatives@tr.com

#FUTURELEGALLEGENDS

 As we plan for the new term and focus on the online delivery of resources to students, digitised reading lists are an increasingly important element of University teaching support.

In recognition of the value of digitised reading lists to the taught course experience of students, on 16th June, the University’s Maintaining Educational Opportunities and Outcomes (MEOO) committee agreed a new reading lists policy, which is now available on the Library’s website.

Reading List Policy

• All modules must have a Library created reading list (this could be one book, or many) which the Library will make available to students via ELE modules.

• All reading lists for Term 1 should be sent to your Reading List Team as soon as possible, but by 1st August at the very latest.

• Due to Covid-19 restrictions, all materials on reading lists need to be available digitally.

• You can read the policy in full.

Many modules already have reading lists in place, so staff will be used to working with the library on this service. If you are involved in teaching in September you should have received a message about module reading lists for 2020/21.  If you have not previously used the service and want more information just get in touch.

As all materials need to be available digitally, some changes to existing reading lists are likely to be required.  When the reading list team check your lists they will flag any inaccessible content so that alternatives can be considered.

This new approach to reading lists will mean that students on all taught modules have easy access to all their required readings through their ELE modules.

If you need help or advice, please contact the Library Reading List Teams at

Exeter                  readinglists@exeter.ac.uk

Cornwall              digital@fxplus.ac.uk

To address the unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials, the Internet Archive suspended waitlists on its 1.4 million (and growing) books in their lending library. 

This National Emergency Library was available from 24th March - 16 June 2020.  The waitlist suspension allowed users to immediately borrow digitised books and supported students, researchers and other readers during a very difficult period when physical access to library collections was not possible.

From the 16th June 2020, traditional controlled digital lending was reintroduced, meaning that users would need to wait for access to a digitised book in the borrowable collection, if it was on loan to another user.

You need to set up a free Internet Archive user account for access.

These borrowable books can be accessed alongside other freely accessible 'always available' digitised books via the Internet Archive book collection.

The University has a wide range of online newspaper sources available, providing current and archive content from a wide range of countries.

You can access these news sources to examine coverage of topical events, but also do historical research through the newspaper archives.  These resources can be particularly useful at dissertation time for those studying in the humanities or social sciences, as they can reveal thinking at the time on topical issues of the day.

As well as newspapers, some of the news resources cover other sorts of content.  For example the Nexis UK service provides transcripts of radio and TV news broadcasting which can add an additional dimension to your news based research.

These online news sources are vast databanks of content so you need to plan your online searching carefully so that you are not overwhelmed by lots of irrelevant results.  You also need to be a little creative with your search terms as action grabbing headlines are typically used, especially in the popular press titles, and articles are not crafted in the same way as scholarly information such as academic journal articles.  So, searching for named people or events or organizations can be straightforward, but if you are searching more generally for a topic then you'll need to be prepared for a bit of trial and error and run a range of searches to capture everything you need.

The Search techniques guide is worth a look as that takes you through the various steps of pulling together an effective online search strategy.

Tip tips for online news searching ...

1. Make great use of the date range functionality

You can segment your searching into yearly or monthly segments if you ar finding lots of search results.  For example, my own masters dissertation looked at newspaper coverage of the principle of double jeopardy in law,  as reform was being mooted.  I chose a range of newspapers to examine and there was a huge amount of reporting about this as it was a very popular, emotive and contentious issue.  I searched each title separately and in yearly batches, before bringing all the results together for content analysis of the research.  This segmenting of the searching made the vast results more manageable - so be prepared to spend some time making the databases work for your particular research scenario.

2. Facsimile & Text formats

Some news sources (particular newspaper archive databases) appear in digitised facsimile form, i.e. as they appeared when published.  Early print copies have typically been scanned or photographed to produce the digital archive.  This format is particularly useful if you are interested in graphical aspects such as tables, photographs, and advertisements, etc. or if you want to compare things such as front page content across a range of newspapers on a particular day or range of days.

The current aggregate news services, such as Nexis UK and Factiva present more recent coverage across a range of news titles and sources.  These are not presented in facsimile format.  The text of the articles is available in a plain text format - and things like photographs and tables etc are not included.

3. Cross searching

Some of the news databases are available on platforms that permit cross searching across titles.  Whilst this is not always appropriate for in depth research, it is a great way to start some news searching.  You can quickly search a range of news databases for a topic/person and identify which news titles are likely to be the most fruitful for more in depth research.

4. Online Help / Tutorials

The newspaper database providers typically offer online help and/or tutorials to assist your research.  It is worth checking out these before you start your research so that you can see if there is any specific functionality that could be useful.  For example, some databases allow you to save searches to repeat periodically, and this is useful if you want to trace a topic in the press over an upcoming period.  Some databases will connect you with related databases on a  topic, so that you can move from your news research into an examination of related scholarly content.  Some databases provide a range of filters to assist with searching, e.g. focusing in on specific countries, regions or industries.  These can help you target your search at your specific research interest and save time by excluding irrelevant sources

5. Call on your Liaison Librarian for support with your news research

It can be tricky to develop an online search strategy that works for your research topic.  Your liaison librarian will be happy to assist you and help develop your search strategy and/or demonstrate some of the recommended databases and functionality to you.  Just get in touch if you find you are struggling with your news research and the team will be happy to help.

Quick Links

• Access all the News Resources
• Access the News LibGuide for lots of guidance on online news searching
• Access the Search Techniques Guide for guidance on online searching
• Contact your Liaison Librarian

If you are a postgraduate research student, or an early career researcher you may be interested in finding out more about the Certified Peer Reviewer course that is available via Elsevier's Researcher Academy.

The course will introduce you to the principles and practice of refereeing which is a key part of the scholarly publication process.

The course has been developed by Elsevier, with input from senior academic editors on leading journals in order to give insights into many different aspects of the process.

The course has been specifically designed to give those who have not yet reviewed – or who feel they would like additional training in this area – a greater understanding of the process in order to boost participation in the academic peer review process. 

The content is delivered via directed self-learning in the form of recorded webinars, podcasts and an online multiple choice online test, so that you can follow the course in your own time, and schedule your leaning around your other commitments.  Several core modules must be completed to gain certification, but you can “pick and choose” additional elements to suit your individual learning needs and interests.

If you are interested in getting involved in the peer review process then becoming a certified peer reviewer can help evidence your expertise and enthusiasm for the process and may aid you in your ambition to be added to journal reviewer pools.

It will also be a useful addition to your academic CV, evidencing scholarly publication related skills.

This course is just one element of Elsevier's Researcher Academy.  Many more freely accessible e-learning resources are available through the Academy to support researchers through the research cycle, encompassing preparation, writing, publication, peer review and communication of research.  You can browse the full portfolio online

You will need to set up a Researcher Academy profile in order to access the materials and start learning.

Interested in other certification schemes?

Several other online and certification schemes are available to you, covering legal research skills, conducting systematic reviews and building IP knowledge and skills. 

You can find out all about these schemes via the Building and Evidencing your Research Skills LibGuide.

The Library is working with publishing partners to open up access to digital content during the Coronavirus outbreak - and you can find all the updates on resources here.

We have great news for all Law staff and students.  OUP have been looking to help universities with access to resources and have kindly opened up full access for the University to Exeter to the entire Law Trove collection - thank you OUP!   Access now extended to end of July 2020.

Click to Access Law Trove

You should be prompted for your usual username and password.  If, not use the Sign in via your institution option on the left hand side of the homepage and follow the instructions.

Law Trove contains the content of about 200 law textbooks across core and optional law modules. Its powerful search facility means you can delve deeper into your title, navigate more easily, and connect with additional resources in the online library collections.Through this service you have full text access to key OUP textbooks which will support your core and optional law modules.

Here is an illustration of the various subject collections available.

Do log in and make the best of these great resources over the coming weeks.

If you need help logging in to resources use our Electronic Resources LibGuide which has hints and tips for common login and remote access problems.  Or get in touch via email library@exeter.ac.uk or chat service.

We are really pleased to be able to bring this resource to you. Please let your law librarian Lee know if you have any feedback on it.  We'd love to know how it helped your teaching or studies.

For more online law library support, take a look at the Law Subject LibGuide.

Law Trove Support Documents

• Getting started with Law Trove

• Going further with Law Trove

• Law Trove for Lecturers

The Library's priority is to keep all its library users and library staff safe and well supported.

Library buildings are now closed, but the Library is open online: library staff are working remotely to support you.   You can contact us via email or chat (see below).

You can keep up to date with updates on library services and resources via the Library's Coronavirus FAQ LibGuide.

You will also find comprehensive advice and support from the University available on the webpages via the central University's Coronavirus support site.