Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Craig McEwan (Thursday-Friday)
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and much more, to support your study and research.
When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:
1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)
2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)
3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)
The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Researching Companies LibGuide.
These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.
With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. Perfect for compiling SWOT or PESTEL analyses.
Provides economic, demographic and political information on counties worldwide.
For guidance on how to use these resources, visit our collection of database support videos.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
Click here to access our extensive range of database support videos.
You may like to see how issues are portrayed in the press. Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.
Key resources include:
Case Studies can be found across a range of resources including in books, journals, professional magazines, databases, company websites and online.
View the Finding Case Studies page for additional information and recommended resources.
Visit the Official Publications LibGuide for guidance and recommendation on accessing:
A range of financial information databases are available to staff and students of the Business School.
See the list of databases managed by the Business School.
For access to login ID and passwords for online databases for existing students and staff, please visit the database login information page on the Business School Intranet.
Support & Guidance
|For general data resources inquiries:||firstname.lastname@example.org|
|For database software issues:||either go through SID or email UEBSemail@example.com|
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.