Skip to main content

Wellbeing & Leisure Collection: Reading for Health and Wellbeing

The Wellbeing and Leisure Collection includes a selection of books to help you understand and manage your health and wellbeing, and a number of fiction and non fiction titles that you can read for general relaxation, enjoyment and advice on everyday living.

Titles for the collection have been recommended by Wellbeing Services at the University, by the Reading Agency through the Reading Well, Books on Prescription scheme and also via personal recommendation of students and staff at the University.

You can help build the collection by making your own online recommendations for self help or fiction and leisure reading.

Where are the books?

Some of the books are online and you can login with your usual University username and password for access.

The majority of the books are available in print and can be found on the Wellbeing & Leisure Collections Stands in the Forum Library entrance, Level 0, and at St Luke's Library in the sofa area on the ground floor

Wellbeing & Leisure Collection - recommend a book

The Fresh List

Students from the University of Exeter created a mood boosting booklist for freshers as part of Grand Challenges.

Find out more here.

You can also borrow these books from the Wellbeing & Leisure collection.

Wellbeing Support

UoE Students

Wellbeing Services provide student support for physical and mental health wellbeing.   

Further advice and support

The Samaritans 

Telephone Helpline:  116 123 24 hours a day, 7 days a week


Mind

Telephone Helpline: 0300 123 3393 Text 86463

 

Libraries Unlimited

 

Why not also take advantage of the services and facilities at your local public library. 

There are 50 public libraries across Devon including four libraries in Exeter. Exeter Library is the largest library in the county and can be found in the city centre, just off the High Street.

They offer a wide selection of books (fiction and non-fiction), films, magazines, information and music. Joining is completely free. Find out more on the Libraries Unlimited LibGiude.

Reading and Wellbeing

Research from The Reading Agency has shown that there is

  strong evidence that reading for pleasure can increase empathy, improve relationships with others, reduce the symptoms of depression and improve wellbeing throughout life 

Join a Reading Group

Reading Groups for Everyone, is the UK’s largest reading group network and is run by the national charity, The Reading Agency.

 The reading groups meet in all kinds of places and are made up of all kinds of people. The one thing they have in common is that they love reading and talking about books.

Reading groups can be a good way of connecting with people, promoting wellbeing and reducing isolation.

 

 

Know Before You Go

 

The student mental health charity Student Minds has produced Know Before You Go and Transition guides.

 

These really helpful guides to transitioning from school to university life, with chapters on identity, becoming independent, building relationships, education, mental health and sexual health.

Library Wellbeing & Leisure Collection Team

 

 

Holly Armstrong, Natasha Bayliss, Lee Snook & Amy McEwan manage the Library's Wellbeing and Leisure Collections.

 

If you have any questions or feedback, just get in touch

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us