Skip to main content

Wellbeing & Leisure Collection: Digital Wellbeing

During this time of isolation, the staff at the University Library still want to support your wellbeing while you continue your studies and research remotely. So we've put together a collection of useful e-books, apps, games, and other resources that you can use until the library reopens.

Something missing? Suggestions for useful resources to include and feedback are always welcome. Why not get in touch with us and ask us to add something to this page? We also aim to maintain this collection of useful resources once the library re-opens.

 

Wellbeing E-books

Useful Apps

SuperBetter Logo

SuperBetter builds resilience - the ability to stay strong, motivated and optimistic even in the face of change and difficult challenges. Playing SuperBetter unlocks heroic potential to overcome tough situations and achieve goals that matter most.

You may already have seen some of the 'Overcoming...' books in our Wellbeing & Leisure print collection. There are now apps available to accompany some of the books in this series. All are free to use but contain in-app purchases. All the available apps are listed here:

Overcoming Anxiety

         


Overcoming Depression

          


Overcoming Low Self-Esteem

          

There are now a number of meditation and mindfulness apps available. Some are free to use, whilst others are available with a student discount. We present just a small selection for you here:

Oak Meditation

A free-to-use app

         


Headspace

You have to pay to use this app, however student discounts are available

          


Stop, Breathe and Think

A free-to-use app with in-app purchases

          


Insight Timer

You have to pay to use this app, however a 30-day free trial is available

          

There are now a number of apps available to help you manage stress and anxiety. Some are free to use, and some are being offered free for a limited time. We present just a small selection of the best ones here:

Sanvello

The premium version is being offered for free for the duration of the pandemic

         


Sidekick

Using gamification to improve health and wellbeing

          


Clear Fear

Designed for young people but would still be appropriate for adults

          


SAMApp

An anxiety management app development by the University of the West of England

          

The National Health Service has also created a library of approved e-health apps, most of which are free to use. You can filter the list by which apps are free.

Each app has been peer-reviewed and recommended by qualified health professionals, but this does not mean the reviewer agrees with all of its content.

Click here to see a list of recommended apps relating to mental health.

Devon Libraries Online

Whilst Devon Libraries are closed you can join online and access free ebooks, magazines and audiobooks.

As and when libraries re-open all temporary memberships registered during the closure period will be processed and a library card will be issued to you.

In the meantime, take a look at this collection of e-books put together by the library staff: Reading Well for Adult Mental Health

Wellbeing Support

UoE Students

Wellbeing Services provide student support for physical and mental health wellbeing.   
 
 

Further advice and support

The Samaritans 

Telephone Helpline: 116 123 24 hours a day, 7 days a week


Mind

Telephone Helpline: 0300 123 3393 Text 86463

 

Online Jigsaws

If you are missing the Library jigsaws, you can still get your puzzle fix with an online jigsaw. 

Try these great examples from Jigsaw Planet

Click on the screenshot below to explore the available puzzles.

Jigsaw planet

Arts and Culture

Films

We've put together a collection of comfort films recommended by The Guardian, available electronically on Box of Broadcasts. Click here to see our guide and access the playlist.


BBC Sounds

The BBC offers free access to live and archived music and spoken word radio broadcasts, as well as an increasing range of interesting podcasts. There really is something for everyone! Click here to find something that suits you.


BBC Arts

The BBC has also put together a Culture in Quarantine collection featuring highlights from their Arts output as well as ideas for getting creative at home.

Digital Board Games

Scrabble letters spelling out Library Wellbeing Ga

Have you seen the Wellbeing Games Collection at the Forum Library and St Luke's Library? Some games from this collection are also available as apps. All are free to play but either contain in-app purchases or advertising.

You can download here:

 

Chess – Play and Learn

         


Uno

          


Scrabble

          


Settlers of Catan

          


Evolution

          


San Juan

          

Interested in something else?

The good folks at Boardgamegeek.com have put together a collection of their favourite board games which are also available as IOS and Android apps. Click here to see the Android list as a Google Doc. Otherwise, click the buttons below to view the appropriate list:

          

Happy gaming!

 

There are communities of online games for possibly every board game imaginable. We've put together just a small selection for you below:

Chess Card Games
Chess.com Dominion Online
Red Hot Pawn Uno Freak
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us