LibGuides: Wellbeing &amp; Leisure Collections: Award Winning Books

The Animals in That Country

Arthur C. Clarke Award 2021

Empire of Pain: The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty

Baillie Gifford Prize 2021

The Last Good Man

Betty Trask Prize 2021

The promise

Booker Prize 2021

Shuggie Bain

British Book Awards Debut Book of the Year 2021

Hamnet

British Book Awards Fiction Book of the Year 2021

Troubled blood

British Book Awards Fiction: Crime & Thriller Book of the Year 2021

Diary of a Young Naturalist

British Book Awards Non-Fiction: Narrative Book of the Year 2021

Luster

Dylan Thomas Prize 2021

JFK Volume 1, 1917 - 1956

Elizabeth Longford Award for Historical Biography 2021

Notes on the Sonnets

Forward Prize for Best Collection 2021

Sterling Karat Gold

The Goldsmiths Prize 2021

At Night All Blood Is Black

International Booker Prize 2021

Medusa

International Rubery Book Award 2021

The first woman

Jhalak Prize 2021

The Butchers

Ondaatje Prize 2021

Summer

Orwell Prize for Political Fiction 2021

Between Two Fires: Truth, Ambition, and Compromise in Putin's Russia

Orwell Prize for Political Writing 2021

The Dead Are Arising

Pulizer Prize Biography 2021

The Night Watchman

Pulizer Prize Fiction 2021

Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America

Pulitzer Prize History 2021

In Love with George Eliot

Paul Torday Memorial Prize 2021

In the dream house

Rathbones Folio Prize 2021

Dark, Salt, Clear

Somerset Maugham Awards 2021

The Young Team

Somerset Maugham Awards 2021

Piranesi

Women's Prize for Fiction 2021

Lost Children Archive

Rathbones Folio Prize 2020

Explaining Humans

Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize 2020

The Forward Book of Poetry 2020

Showcases a selection of the best contemporary poetry published in the British Isles over the last year.

The volunteer

Costa Book Awards Overall Winner 2019

Middle England

Costa Novel Award Winner 2019

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Costa First Novel Award Winner 2019

Flèche

Costa Poetry Award Winner 2019

Golden child

Desmond Elliott Award 2019

In our mad and furious city

Dylan Thomas Prize 2019
Jhalak Prize 2019

If all the world and love were young

Felix Dennis Prize for the Best First Collection 2019

Rock, Bone, and Ruin

Fernando Gil Prize for Philosophy of Science 2019

I am dynamite! : a life of Friedrich Nietzsche

Hawthornden Prize 2019

Swan song

McKitterick Prize 2019

Amity and prosperity : one family and the fracturing of America

Pulizer Prize Non Fiction 2019

Be With

Pulizer Prize Verse 2019

Working Verse in Victorian Scotland

Saltire Society Literary Awards 2019

Portable Paradise

T.S. Eliot Prize 2019

The boy, the mole, the fox and the horse

Waterstones book of the year 2019

Murmur

Wellcome Book Prize 2019

Book Awards

Arthur C. Clarke Award
The UK's premier prize for science fiction literature
Baillie Gifford Prize
The Baillie Gifford Prize covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.
Betty Trask Prize
Awards for writers under the age of 35 for a first novel.
Booker Prize
Best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK and Ireland
British Book Awards
Book of the Year Awards for multiple catagories
Costa Book Awards
Five catagories of awards including First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book
Desmond Elliott Award
Award for a first novel written in English and published in the UK
Dylan Thomas Prize
Award for the best published literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under
Elizabeth Longford Award for Historical Biography
Award for historical biography published in the preceding year.
Felix Dennis Prize for the Best First Collection
Award for the Best First Collection of Poetry
Fernando Gil Prize for Philosophy of Science
Award for excellence in the domain of the Philosophy of Science
Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award
Award for best business book
Forward Prize
Forward Prizes for Poetry honour excellence in contemporary poetry published in UK and Ireland.
Goldsmiths Prize
Award for innovative and genre-busting novels
Hawthornden Prize
International Rubery Book Award
Award for the best books by independent writers, self published authors and books published by independent presses,
Jhalak Prize
Book of the Year by a British/British resident BAME writer
McKitterick Prize
Award for an author over the age of 40 for a first novel
Ondaatje Prize
Award for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, evoking the spirit of a place
Orwell Prize
Awards for Political Writing and Political Ficition
Paul Torday Memorial Prize
Award for first novels by authors aged 60 or over.
Pulizer Prize
Awards for Journalism, Letters, Drama & Music. Including Fiction, Non Fiction, Drama, History, Biography and Poetry
Rathbones Folio Prize
Award for best work of literature
Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize
Award for best science book
Saltire Society Literary Awards
Scotland's National Book Awards
Somerset Maugham Awards
Award for writers under 30 for works of fiction, non-fiction or poetry
T.S. Eliot Prize
Award for the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland
Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction
Award for the best historical fiction novel of the year
Waterstones book of the year
Award for best book of the year
Wellcome Book Prize
Award for exceptional works of fiction and non-fiction that illuminate the many ways that health and medicine touch our lives
Women's Prize for Fiction
Award for a female author of the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year
Young Writer of the Year Award
Award for an outstanding work of fiction, non fiction or poetry from a writer under 35
#Merky Books
Award-winning imprint launched in 2018 by Stormzy and Penguin Random House UK with a clear ambition to publish books that will own – and change – the mainstream.

Wellbeing & Leisure Collections: Award Winning Books

The Award Winning Book Collection includes a selection of books which have received literary awards in recent years.

These award winning books have been selected from across numerous literary awards both National and International. Covering Fiction, Non-Fiction, Science, History, Poetry and other subjects.

Details of all the books and book awards can be found below.

Book Awards