We recognise that it is healthy to take some 'time out' away from your study, research and work activities. Playing games can support your wellbeing by bringing some light relief and enjoyment to stressful times.
Whilst our physical games collection is temporarily withdrawn during the Covid-19 outbreak , the staff at the University Library have put together a collection of useful e-books, apps, games, and other resources that you can use online.
Something missing? Suggestions for useful resources to include and feedback are always welcome. Why not get in touch with us and ask us to add something to this page?
SuperBetter builds resilience - the ability to stay strong, motivated and optimistic even in the face of change and difficult challenges. Playing SuperBetter unlocks heroic potential to overcome tough situations and achieve goals that matter most.
You may already have seen some of the 'Overcoming...' books in our Wellbeing & Leisure print collection. There are now apps available to accompany some of the books in this series. All are free to use but contain in-app purchases. All the available apps are listed here:
Overcoming Low Self-Esteem
There are now a number of meditation and mindfulness apps available. Some are free to use, whilst others are available with a student discount. We present just a small selection for you here:
A free-to-use app
You have to pay to use this app, however student discounts are available
A free-to-use app with in-app purchases
You have to pay to use this app, however a 30-day free trial is available
There are now a number of apps available to help you manage stress and anxiety. Some are free to use, and some are being offered free for a limited time. We present just a small selection of the best ones here:
The premium version is being offered for free for the duration of the pandemic
Using gamification to improve health and wellbeing
Designed for young people but would still be appropriate for adults
An anxiety management app development by the University of the West of England
Each app has been peer-reviewed and recommended by qualified health professionals, but this does not mean the reviewer agrees with all of its content.
Click here to see a list of recommended apps relating to mental health.
If you are missing the Library jigsaws, you can still get your puzzle fix with an online jigsaw.
Try these great examples from Jigsaw Planet
Click on the screenshot below to explore the available puzzles.
We've put together a collection of comfort films recommended by The Guardian, available electronically on Box of Broadcasts. Click here to see our guide and access the playlist.
The BBC offers free access to live and archived music and spoken word radio broadcasts, as well as an increasing range of interesting podcasts. There really is something for everyone! Click here to find something that suits you.
The BBC has also put together a Culture in Quarantine collection featuring highlights from their Arts output as well as ideas for getting creative at home.
Have you seen the Wellbeing Games Collection at the Forum Library and St Luke's Library? Some games from this collection are also available as apps. All are free to play but either contain in-app purchases or advertising.
You can download here:
Chess – Play and Learn
Settlers of Catan
The good folks at Boardgamegeek.com have put together a collection of their favourite board games which are also available as IOS and Android apps. Click here to see the Android list as a Google Doc. Otherwise, click the buttons below to view the appropriate list: