Skip to Main Content

International Film Business Subject Guide: Online library support

Welcome to the International Film Business Subject Guide

Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University?  Explore the Getting Started with the Library guide to learn all about the Library basics. 

Your Librarian at Exeter

Profile Photo
Nicola Nye

Dissertation workbook

Where to start your search

Library Search


Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more. 

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Key databases

Academic databases

These databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc.  Some of these databases are multidisciplinary, covering many subjects, but will contain scholarly content relating to the field of the creative industries.

 

Humanities
Business

Film and TV databases

Most of our film resources are available in digital format. These collections contain interviews, documentaries and film. 

 You have access to further resources via the Film Studies subject list area in the A-Z Databases list

Company research

When looking for company information it is important to identify what type of information you need. Generally the information available falls into three categories:

1) Company documents (e.g. annual reports)

2) Company data (e.g. pre-tax profit)

3) Company analysis (e.g. a SWOT analysis compiled by independent researchers)

The Library has databases that provide access to each type of company information. For more information, visit our Finding Company Information tutorial.

Company Documents

Company Data

Company Analysis

Finance databases

  • WallStreetMojo
    Free Guides and Resources to help you learn Investment Banking, Financial Modeling, Equity Research, Private Equity & more.

Accounting and Tax Databases

Industry research databases

These services provide market research, country, company and industry information.

With up-to-date industry profiles you can identify new developments and market drivers for a chosen a industry; find the main companies operating in the sector and their market share; discover trends, challenges and outside influences affecting the industry. 

Database help guides

Please note: most databases have their own built-in help and guidance, usually located in the top right hand corner.

Academic Research 

Theses are academic sources of information and the result of substantial primary research into specialised topics. They provide very detailed data and analysis, and can provide information that is unavailable elsewhere. Their bibliographies can be a useful source of wider reading on a topic. They are extremely valuable sources of information.

Search for University of Exeter, UK and international theses here: Theses LibGuide.

The A to Z Database list

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you. 

You can browse by subject (e.g. Film Studies or Business) or search by name to find your required resource.

I'm looking for...

Books

You have access to hundreds of online books that cover business and the creative industries.  Use Library Search to search by topic to discover relevant content.  

Journals and journal articles

Most of our journal articles are available in digital format, although we do keep older print journals in the Forum Library.  

Our journal databases may offer full text access or abstracts only, or sometimes a mixture of both.

  • Full text access allows you to view or download the entire journal article from that database.
  • Abstract only access provides a summary of the content of a journal article and in many cases, links out to full-text sources held digitally in our collections.

Explore the news LibGuide for information on the range of news sources available via the Library.

Key resources include:

  • Financial Times subscription
  • The Economist
  • Nexis UK - A large full text database providing current newspaper coverage from local, national and international titles.
  • Newspaper archives -  Extensive archives for a range of UK and international newspapers.

  • Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.

  • They can be a vital source of information for your studies.

Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.

Case Studies can be found across a range of resources including in books, journals, professional magazines, databases, company websites and online.

View the Finding Case Studies page for additional information and recommended resources.

 

Primary Sources

The University has access to an extensive range of online primary source materials. These contain digitised copies of documents, letters, books, photographs and other primary sources. 

The Primary Sources Libguide will help you identify the best databases for your research. 

What is a thesis?

A thesis or dissertation is a document submitted in support of candidature for a higher degree or professional qualification, presenting the author’s research and findings.

They consist of substantial primary research in specialised topics and provide very detailed data and analysis. They may be so specialised that they provide information that is unavailable elsewhere and their bibliographies can be a useful source of wider reading on a topic. They are extremely valuable sources of information.

Before you begin your research, it is important to discover what else has been written on your topic.

When starting doctoral research, it is crucial to establish that the specific research that you intend to do has not already been carried out. You will therefore need to look at previous theses in your field of study, both at the University of Exeter and elsewhere.

Explore the Theses LibGuide for help with finding full text theses from the University of Exeter, the UK and around the world.

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

Build your skills and get help from the friendly academic skills teams.

Study Skills Support @ Exeter

Study Zone offers drop-ins, workshops and online guides on a range of study skills topics, including academic writing, referencing, time management, exams and revision, and digital skills.

ASK @ Cornwall

Find out all about academic skills support at the Cornwall campus. Take advantage of the online support materials available through the Study Hub.

Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar 

Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature  from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.

However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to  Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.

Just follow these instructions:


 

Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Dissertation students: New

If you are a dissertation student, at some point in your research, you may need to access resources held outside of the university library collections.

The library offers a number of services to help you access these materials. Find out more by exploring the guides below.

Library and Archives Access Bursary 
(Financial help to visit other libraries and archives)

Contact Us or Give Feedback