Skip to Main Content

Accessibility

Enhance your e-book reading experience

Tools within our e-book platforms

Some e-book platforms have in-built accessibility options. They may allow you to change the text size, background and font colour for example, or may otherwise be adapted for use with screen reading or read aloud software. These can benefit benefit all staff or students regardless of whether you have a visual impairment or any special accessibility requirements. Below, we'll take an in-depth look at each of our biggest e-book providers and briefly explain the accessibility functionality and capabilities of each:

Ebook Central

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? No

Whole Book – Unavailable in most cases. 24-hour downloads as secure PDFs or EPUB files. E-reader required to view
Chapters – Limited chapter downloads as unsecured PDFs

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search for keywords and phrases using the search box labelled "Search within book" in the left-hand side panel. Your results will appear below the search box.
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Ebook Central does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes Users can zoom in up to 300% using the plus and minus buttons in the online reader interface
Text Reflow? No The text does not reflow when using the zoom function when reading online or in PDF format. However, the Ebook Central site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices. 
Text Font and Size? Yes Users can change the Ebook Central website typeface and the font of e-book full text to OpenDyslexic in the User Profile menu. However, the e-book font size cannot be changed
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the background colour of the page on Ebook Central, however their style guides do specify that their use of colours meets minimum contrast specifications
Alt Text? Yes Ebook Central does support alternative text if provided by the publishers. However, some e-books contain images without accessible descriptions and cannot be read by a screen reader
Screen Reader? Yes Ebook Central pages contain hidden landmarks, description of state, and other code which can be detected by a screen reader and provide additional information. Everything is labelled according to its function, making navigation easier
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate Ebook Central using only a keyboard. The tab, enter, and arrow keys allow you to navigate website menus, perform searches, read online (including book navigation), and download e-books
Unlimited Printing? No Users are permitted to print 10% of the text or one chapter at their discretion
Accessibility Statement? Yes Accessibility Statement: Ebook Central

EBSCOhost

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? No

Whole Book – Available in most cases. 24-hour downloads as secure PDFs or EPUB files. E-reader required to view
Chapters – Limited chapter downloads as unsecured PDFs

Full Text Search? Yes You can search for keywords within the content of an EBSCO e-book using the "Search Within" feature in the left-hand side column. Your keyword matches will be displayed below the search box. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No EBSCOhost does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function. EBSCO recommend downloading key chapters and opening them with your preferred text-to-speech tool, or copying the text from the online reader into a text-to-speech tool
Magnification? Yes The EBSCOhost online reader allows users to zoom content beyond 200%
Text Reflow? Yes EPUB content reflows within the online reader (meaning it adjusts to the screen size/zoom level). However, PDF content does not reflow. The EBSCOhost site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No EBSCO interfaces use web fonts that are known to work well for dyslexic users. However, it is not possible to change the font type or size within an EBSCO e-book
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page/background colour within EBSCOhost, however, EBSCO's company-wide design standards include requirements for minimum colour contrast
Alt Text? Yes EBSCO rely on the publishers to provide tags and descriptive information for images. This means they cannot guarantee that images within e-books will have sufficient information for assistive technologies to interpret them
Screen Reader? Yes For e-books in EPUB format, any screen reader should work successfully. PDF e-books are compatible with screen readers using an ASCII text layer
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate EBSCO e-books using only a keyboard. EBSCO e-books contain a Skip to Main Content link at the top of the viewer page, allowing keyboard users to skip redundant navigation links
Unlimited Printing? No Users are permitted to print 10% of the text (individual pages or a range) or one chapter at their discretion
Accessibility Statement? Yes EBSCO eBook Accessibility User Guide and FAQs

Kortext

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Downloads of the whole e-book available as either secured PDFs or EPUB files via the Kortext App

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a Kortext e-book by clicking the magnifying glass icon in the left-hand side column and typing in a keyword or phrase. The results will appear in a list below the search box. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
Yes Text can be converted to speech using the inbuilt Read Aloud function (only available via the Kortext App), available for both EPUB files and PDFs. The narration speed can be increased to three times normal speed or slowed down to half speed. The narrator voice can be changed to any of the user computer operating system's defaults.
Magnification? Yes All PDF files fully utilise magnification
Text Reflow? Yes All EPUB content is reflowable (meaning it adjusts to the screen size/zoom level). However, PDF content does not reflow. The Kortext site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes The font style and size can be changed within EPUB format e-textbooks both online and in the Kortext App. Font types include Open Dyslexic, Open Sans, Noto Serif, and Old Standard TT (serif). Font style and size cannot be changed in PDFs
Page and Background? Yes The page background can be changed to dark sepia tone or night mode for different preferences and reading conditions within EPUB format e-textbooks both online and in the Kortext App. Page background and tone cannot be changed in PDFs
Alt Text? Yes Kortext relies on publishers for supplying alt tags and image descriptions within their e-books, but encourage all its publishers to supply this content wherever possible in their contracts. Kortext complies with WCAG 2.1 AA for all alt tags and long descriptions on all images across their site (excluding book covers).
Screen Reader? Yes The Kortext App has an inbuilt reader, but can also work with other screen readers including JAWS, TalkBack, NV Access, and VoiceOver
Keyboard Navigation? No Kortext provides keyboard only input for select functionality. The Quick Keys section of the Kortext Accessibility Commitment Statement provides further information and keyboard shortcuts
Unlimited Printing? No Users are permitted to print up to 10% of the total pages in five- to ten-page ranges at any one time
Accessibility Statement? Yes Kortext Accessibility Commitment Statement

VLeBooks

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? No

Whole Book – Unavailable in most cases. 24-hour downloads as secure PDFs or EPUB files. E-reader required to view
Chapters – Limited chapter and page range downloads by printing pages to a PDF

Full Text Search?  Yes
You can search within the content of a VLeBooks e-book by clicking the magnifying glass icon in the left-hand side column and typing in a keyword or phrase. The results will appear in a list below the search box. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
Yes The online reader has inbuilt text-to-speech. Narration speed can be increased to twice normal speed or slowed down to quarter speed. The narrator voice cannot be changed from the default. E-books downloaded to e-reader software such as Adobe Digital Editions can also be read by most standalone screen reader software
Magnification? Yes VLeBooks have over 20 levels of magnification using the built-in zoom function, available when reading via the platform. The font size is dependent on device but typically a reading font size of between 4-36 is achievable
Text Reflow? No All EPUB content is reflowable. However, PDF content does not reflow. The VLeBooks site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No The font type cannot be changed within e-books in PDF format, but can be changed to various serif, sans-serif, and monospace fonts, as well as a dyslexia-friendly font in EPUB files via the e-book settings. In EPUB files, line, character, and word spacing can also be increased. For navigating the platform site, the font size can be made larger and/or changed to a Dyslexic friendly font through selecting Edit Accessibility Settings on the left side of the screen
Page and Background? Yes When reading via VLeBooks, users can change the page background colour to one of seven different dyslexia-friendly colours
Alt Text? Yes VLeBooks have the required Alt Tags to support image descriptions. However, the provision of alt-text and image descriptions is the responsibility of the publisher
Screen Reader? Yes JAWS and NVDA are not compatible with the online reader. To enable this software to perform, you must download the e-book to e-reader software such as Adobe Digital Editions, which can then be read by most screen reader software
Keyboard Navigation? Yes VLebooks does support keyboard shortcut navigation. The list of commands is provided within their Accessibility Guidance
Unlimited Printing? No Users are permitted to print 10% of the text as individual pages or a page range at their discretion
Accessibility Statement? Yes VLeBooks Accessibility Statement

ACLS Humanities E-Books

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable.

Full Text Search?  Yes
You can search within the content of a ACLS Humanities e-book using the "Search in this text" box on the top left-hand side of the page. The results will appear in a box on the left-hand side of the page. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No ACLS Humanities E-Books do not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function but e-books are compatible with accessibility browser extensions such as Read Aloud.
Magnification? Yes The ACLS Humanities E-Books site is compatible with basic operating system screen magnifiers and accessibility browser extensions such as Zoom Text Only. There is a built-in zoom feature allowing text to be resized up to 400%. Text in EPUB downloads can be resized. Text in PDF downloads cannot be resized except through zooming in on the image.
Text Reflow? Yes

While EPUB files are reflowable , PDF files are not. The ACLS Humanities site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices

Text Font and Size? Yes The text size can be changed via settings within the e-book and can be increased up to 400%. However, it is not possible to change the font. 
Page and Background? No
It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for ACLS Humanities e-books unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. However, the site does provide sufficient colour contrast.
Alt Text? Yes

Image descriptions are enabled for screen readers through alt-text attributes, but only when provided by the publisher. 

Screen Reader? Yes ACLS Humanities e-books are compatible with most major screen readers including JAWS, NVDA, and VoiceOver. A hidden link (available to screen readers) allows users to skip to the main content of each page.
Keyboard Navigation? Yes EPUB downloads are tagged and support standard keyboard navigation. PDF downloads are untagged and do not support keyboard navigation through headings and elements.
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes Fulcrum Accessibility Statement

Bloomsbury Collections

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited whole-book and chapter downloads as PDFs

Full Text Search? Yes You can search within the content of a Bloomsbury e-book using the "Search within this book" box under the e-book toolbar. The results will be presented underneath, divided according to the table of contents. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Bloomsbury Collections does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser. The site has been tested with 200% browser zoom to ensure that text still renders correctly and legibly, without losing any of the site’s functionality or navigation
Text Reflow? Yes Full text content is usually presented on a web page and is therefore reflowable when the browser's zoom functionality is used. When full text is presented in PDF, the text is not reflowable. The Bloomsbury Collections site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes Full text content for all recently presented on a web page and is therefore resizable within a user's web browser. When full text is presented in PDF, the text is not resizable
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for Bloomsbury Collections unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Alt Text? Yes Appropriate alternative text has been provided for jacket cover images and book illustrations
Screen Reader? Yes Bloomsbury Collections have been manually tested using JAWS 18, NVDA 2018, Apple VoiceOver and Android Talkback. Book chapters are correctly tagged to allow screen reader users to navigate the content
Keyboard Navigation? Yes

Most of the site's functionality is fully accessible via keyboard. Recent updates include a Skip to Main Content link, which is now available for keyboard navigation on all pages. However, the sequence of navigation is incorrect for the Go to Page feature on the e-book title landing page

Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes Bloomsbury Collections Accessibility Statement

Brill Online

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited whole-book and chapter downloads as PDFs

Full Text Search? No  
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Brill Online does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function. However, PDFs downloaded to e-reader software such as Adobe Digital Editions can also be read by most standalone screen reader software
Magnification? Yes E-books in PDF format have an inbuilt zoom function and can be magnified up to 300% without loss of functionality. 
Text Reflow? No Brill Online e-books are provided in either PDF or HTML format and are not reflowable. The Brill Online site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the text font or size within Brill Online e-books 
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for Brill Online e-books unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plug-ins that could make such changes to any other web page
Alt Text? No A number of images within HTML format content don’t include alt tags but most include adjacent description
Screen Reader? Yes It is possible to use text to speech tools to read out website content (e.g. ClaroRead for Chrome browser). Text to speech tools are built into some browsers (e.g. Microsoft Edge) and are available as a plug-in for many others.
Keyboard Navigation? Yes Most of the Brill Online site is navigable using only a keyboard, however they have noted some issues when the site is viewed at high magnification as essential navigation collapses into non-keyboard navigable elements
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes Accessibility Statement Brill Online 

Cambridge Core

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited whole-book and chapter downloads as PDFs

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a Cambridge e-book using the "Search in this box" box on the right-hand side of the title banner to type in keywords and phrases. A results page will then appear.
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Cambridge Core does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function. Instead, the platform recommends using text to speech tools to read out website content in both PDF and HTML format. These are built into some browsers but are also available as a plug-in
Magnification? Yes With Cambridge Core e-books, it is possible to zoom in up to 300% without the text spilling off the screen
Text Reflow? Yes Reflow is possible when using a PDF reader such as Adobe Reader by using their inbuilt accessibility features. The Cambridge Core site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type or size unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Alt Text? No

A number of images within HTML format content don’t include alt tags but most include adjacent description

Screen Reader? Yes It is possible to listen to most of their website using a screen reader, including the most recent versions of JAWS, NVDA and VoiceOver 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes Most of the Cambridge Core site can be navigated using just a keyboard 
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes Cambridge Core Accessibility

De Gruyter

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Whole Book – Unlimited whole-book downloads as PDFs or EPUB files
Chapters – Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a De Gruyter e-book using the "Search book" box on the right-hand side of the page to type in keywords and phrases. A results page will then appear. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No De Gruyter does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function but e-books can be read aloud using Adobe Reader or an extension in your web browser.
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser or a PDF reader. 
Text Reflow? No  All EPUB content is reflowable. However, PDF content does not reflow. The De Gruyter site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No  There is no inbuilt function to change the text font or size, but these may be changed through web browser settings. 
Page and Background? No There is no inbuilt function to change the page/background tone or colour, but this may be changed through web browser settings. 
Alt Text? No A number of images do not have appropriate alt text and images in PDF format often lack alt text altogether. 
Screen Reader? No It can be quite difficult to navigate De Gruyter e-books using a screen reader. Some structural information is not appropriately conveyed to users, some form inputs are not appropriately labelled and some images have inappropriate alternative text. 
Keyboard Navigation? No Some content cannot be reached or operated via keyboard.
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs or EPUB files
Accessibility Statement? No  

Elgar Online

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search? No  
Read Aloud?
Narration?
Yes With their DRM free PDFs, it is possible to use Adobe Reader's 'Read out aloud' functionality which can be enabled in the Adobe Reader software under the 'View' tab 
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser or a PDF reader.
Text Reflow? No

There is limited reflowing on Elgar Online e-books in PDF format. In HTML format, the text does reflow and is HTML5 compliant. 

Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type or size unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the colour or contrast of the site unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page 
Alt Text? No There is currently a lack of descriptive alt text for Elgar Online e-books in PDF format 
Screen Reader? Yes It is possible to read Elgar Online e-books using a screen reader 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes All functionality of the Elgar Online site is operable through a keyboard interface
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs. Unavailable online
Accessibility Statement? Yes Elgar Online Accessibility Information

Emerald Insight

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs or EPUBs. Whole book downloads unavailable. 

Full Text Search?  No It is only possible to search e-books in HTML/PDF/EPUB format using the search functionality within the browser/PDF Reader
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Emerald does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes Text can be resized without assistive technology up to 200 percent without loss of content or functionality.
Text Reflow? Yes When viewing an e-book in HTML or EPUB format, the text will reflow. However, PDF content is not reflowable. The Emerald site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes It is not possible to change the font type or size for e-books in HTML or PDF format unless your web browser/PDF Reader is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. However, you are usually able to choose from a selection of fonts when viewing e-books in EPUB format 
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for Emerald e-books in HTML format unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. However, the site does provide sufficient colour contrast. It is possible to change the background colour of e-books in EPUB format 
Alt Text? Yes Most images/figures have alternative text. However, the quality of the alternative text varies for e-books in HTML and PDF format. Images/figures in older content (pre-2000) may not have alternative text
Screen Reader? Yes Emerald e-books have been tested using the screen reader/browser combination of NVDA and Google Chrome 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate the Emerald site using only a keyboard. The TAB key can be used to navigate through links within the site menu and the main text of each page. Once a link has been highlighted, use the ENTER key to activate the link
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs/EPUBs
Accessibility Statement? Yes

Emerald Publishing's commitment to Accessibility

Gale eBooks

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable 

Full Text Search?  No  
Read Aloud?
Narration?
Yes The online reader has inbuilt text-to-speech. This can be found at the top-left hand side of the page by clicking on the "Listen" icon. Narration speed can be set to slow, medium or fast in the "Listen" settings. The narrator voice cannot be changed from the default
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser 
Text Reflow? Yes The text does reflow when reading Gale e-books in the online reader. The Gale site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes It is possible to change the text font and size of Gale e-books in the online reader using the "A" icons at the top-left of the page to increase/decrease the font size, and the "Aa" icon to change the font. Font options include OpenSans, EB Garamond, Open Dyslexic, and Noto Sans 
Page and Background? Yes It is possible to change the page colour in the online reader using the "Aa" icon at the top-left of the page. Page colour options include white, grey, orange, and green
Alt Text? Yes Charts, graphs and images within Gale e-books don’t always have alt or descriptive text, depending on the source
Screen Reader? Yes Gale e-books have been tested using NVDA and JAWS screen readers on Firefox and Chrome 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes Gale e-books can be navigated using only a keyboard 
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs 
Accessibility Statement? Yes Gale Accessibility Policy

JSTOR

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search? No  
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No JSTOR do not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function. They recommend utilising text-to-speech tools on the platform and with PDF content, available as plug-ins 
Magnification? Yes It is possible to zoom in at least 200% on JSTOR e-books 
Text Reflow? No JSTOR e-books are provided in PDF format and are not reflowable. The JSTOR site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type or size of a JSTOR e-book unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page or they are changed via the PDF reader
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the background colour or tone unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Alt Text? Yes All meaningful images that are part of the JSTOR interface have a text alternative. All images have informational text alternatives which convey descriptive information about the image. Some images have additional descriptive text, however, JSTOR cannot guarantee that all images have been given descriptive alt text
Screen Reader? Yes JSTOR have made effort to ensure that image-based PDF files are accessible and can be read with screen readers such as JAWS, NVDA, and VoiceOver. These files are tagged at a high level using an automated process
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate the JSTOR site and access all interactive elements using only a keyboard. It is also possible to skip directly to main content and skip long lists of links
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs. Unavailable online
Accessibility Statement? Yes JSTOR Accessibility Policies

Knovel

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a Knovel e-book using the "Search within" box on the right-hand side of the page. The search words will be highlighted within the book and the arrows on the right-hand side of the box can be used to skip through the results
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No
Knovel does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes Knovel does provide a built in zoom function in the online reader. It can be found as the plus and minus icons on the panel above the e-book 
Text Reflow? No Knovel e-books are not reflowable in the online reader nor in PDF format. The Knovel site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the text font or size of Knovel e-books in the online reader
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for Knovel e-books in the online reader unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Alt Text? Yes Many images and icons include text equivalents, however, the images of the PDF used in the viewer do not have any alt text.
Screen Reader? Yes Knovel pages have been tested using both JAWS and NVDA screen readers
Keyboard Navigation? Yes  Most content is keyboard operable. However, exceptions include the profile dropdown, the view more button in the table of contents, and the Share Search Results and Save Search Query links
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? No  

Liverpool University Press

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Whole-book downloads as PDFs available 

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a Liverpool University Press e-book using the "Search ..." box on the top right-hand side of the page. The results will appear below, on the right-hand side of the page
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Liverpool University Press does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes It is possible to magnify the text in the online reader using the inbuilt zoom functionality in document view. This can be found on the left-hand side panel as the icon with two arrows pointing in opposite directions
Text Reflow? No Liverpool University Press e-books are not reflowable in the document view. However, they do reflow when viewing in the text view. The Liverpool University Press site is HTML5 compatible, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes The text size can be changed when reading the document in text view. You can do this by clicking the "Text" option at the top of the page. The text size can be changed using the icon showing an "A" increasing in size, on the left-hand side panel 
Page and Background? Yes The background can be changed to dark mode when reading the document in text view. You can do this by clicking the "Text" option at the top of the page. Dark mode can be enabled using the "Aa" icon on the left-hand side panel 
Alt Text? Yes Images generally contain text alternatives, however, in a small number of instances, some images do not have appropriate text alternatives
Screen Reader? Yes Each Liverpool University Press page has been tested using both JAWS and NVDA screen readers
Keyboard Navigation? Yes Most functionality of the content is operable through a keyboard interface. However, some functionality such as the tab panels and disclosure elements are not keyboard operable
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited print of downloaded book PDF
Accessibility Statement? Yes Liverpool University Press Accessibility

OVID

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search for keywords within the content of an Ovid e-book using the "Search" feature in the left-hand side column. Your keyword matches will be displayed below the search box. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Ovid does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes Text can be magnified without assistive technology up to 200% without loss of content or functionality
Text Reflow? Yes The text does reflow when using the online reader. The OVID site is HTML compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes It is possible to change the text font and size in the Ovid "New Book Reader". To do this, go to page settings in the bottom-left hand corner of the e-book. Font options include OpenSans, Georgia, and NotoSerif
Page and Background? Yes It is possible to change the page colour of Ovid e-books in the "New Book Reader". To do this, go to page settings in the bottom-left hand corner of the e-book. Background options include Night Mode, Day Mode, and Sepia Mode 
Alt Text? Yes All non-text content that is presented to the user has a text alternative 
Screen Reader? Yes A screen reader should be able to navigate a user through the product.
Keyboard Navigation? Yes All functionality of the content is operable through a keyboard interface 
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? No  

Oxford Scholarship Online

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of an Oxford Scholarship e-book using the "Search within book" box on the right-hand side of the page. A results page will then appear. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Oxford Scholarship does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser for HTML content or through the PDF reader if downloading a chapter
Text Reflow? No Oxford Scholarship e-books are provided in either PDF or HTML format and are not reflowable. The Oxford Scholarship site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the text font or size within Oxford Scholarship e-books but can be changed within browser settings or via the PDF reader
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page tone or colour within Oxford Scholarship e-books. Throughout the site there are combinations of colours that fall below the minimum contrast levels.
Alt Text? No There is some provision of alt text within the Oxford Scholarship site, however this is an area currently identified for improvement.
Screen Reader? No It is somewhat possible to navigate the Oxford Scholarship site and e-books using a screen reader, however there are some issues including a lack of captions to some tables and the structure/organisation e-book PDFs.
Keyboard Navigation? Yes Most of the Oxford Scholarship site is possible to navigate using only a keyboard. However, keyboard operability has been identified as an area for improvement. 
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes Oxford Scholarship Accessibility

Project MUSE

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads usually unavailable. In rare cases, whole-book downloads available as unlimited access PDFs and EPUB files

Full Text Search? No  
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No Project MUSE does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser or via the PDF reader 
Text Reflow? No All EPUB content is reflowable. However, PDF content does not reflow. The Project MUSE site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type or size unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page or they are changed via the PDF reader
Page and Background? Yes Project MUSE allows users to enable High Contrast Mode and Dark Mode on their website via User Settings 
Alt Text? Yes MUSE provides text alternatives to all produced and hosted content
Screen Reader? Yes MUSE is coded to be intelligible to screen readers using semantic markup and relevant id/label attributes
Keyboard Navigation? Yes MUSE is fully keyboard accessible and does not use any timing-based interactions
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs or EPUB files. When a title can be read online, unlimited printing is available simply by selecting the desired text
Accessibility Statement? Yes Accessibility on MUSE

ProQuest Literature Online

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

99% of individual chapters – as well as hundreds of thousands of full titles – are available without download restrictions

Full Text Search?  No Many books on the ProQuest Platform are presented within the ProQuest ebook viewer, the same viewer used in ProQuest Ebook Central. You can search for keywords and phrases using the search box labelled "Search within book" in the left-hand side panel. Your results will appear below the search box.
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No ProQuest does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes

Text can be magnified up to 400% using browser tools without text spilling off screen.

Text Reflow? Yes The ProQuest platform is built to be responsive, meaning that regardless of the device you are using or the zoom level set in your browser, interface elements and content will reflow. However, some content in PDF format does not reflow due to the nature of the PDF formatting. The ProQuest site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No
It is not possible to change the font type or size unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page or they are changed via the PDF reader
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for ProQuest e-books unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page
Alt Text? Yes The ProQuest Platform supports alternative text and image descriptions when provided by the publishers.
Screen Reader? Yes It is possible to use a screen reader to navigate the ProQuest platform and ProQuest e-books
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate all databases on the ProQuest platform using only a keyboard 
Unlimited Printing? No Most titles with restrictions allow for 20% of the text to be copied and 40% printed
Accessibility Statement? Yes ProQuest Platform Accessibility Statement

SAGE Knowledge

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a SAGE Knowledge e-book using the "Search within this book" box on the right-hand side of the page, above the e-book toolbar. The results will appear below. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No SAGE Knowledge does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function. However, all content can be copied and pasted into a text-to-speech tool with no barriers.
Magnification? Yes PDFs downloaded from SAGE Knowledge support zoom and magnification. When reading in HTML format, magnification is possible by using the browser's zoom functionality.
Text Reflow? Yes SAGE Knowledge uses responsive design, so if reading the book in HTML, changing the zoom level in your browser will reflow the layout of the page. E-books in PDF format are not reflowable. The SAGE Knowledge site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? Yes In most SAGE e-books, you can change the text size between Small, Medium and Large, by using the 'Text size' icon in the tools section. 
Page and Background? Yes It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. However, all text on SAGE Knowledge meets minimum recommended contrast ratios against the background. This is 4.5:1 for normal text and 3:1 for large text.
Alt Text? Yes Alt text is available for most images on SAGE Knowledge. However, some titles, particularly older ones, do not have text alternatives available for figures and other graphics
Screen Reader? Yes The SAGE Knowledge site is designed to follow a logical reading order and semantic structure and has been tested with the combinations of JAWS and Chrome, NVDA and Firefox, and VoiceOver and Safari
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate SAGE Knowledge using only a keyboard. The tab key can be used to move through the interactive elements of the page. Features on the site have been designed not to rely on mouse-only interactions like hovering and drag-and-drop.
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes SAGE Knowledge Accessibility Guide

ScienceDirect

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole books may only be downloaded as a compressed ZIP file of individual chapter PDFs

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of a ScienceDirect e-book using the "Search in this book" in the centre of the page to type in a keyword or phrase. A results page will then appear. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No ScienceDirect does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function. However, it is possible to convert text to speech using Adobe Acrobat Reader's "Read out loud" option. 
Magnification? Yes Content can be zoomed up to 400% with reflow and without causing horizontal scrolling using the browser's zoom functionality if reading in HTML format, or using the zoom functionality of the PDF reader. 
Text Reflow? No PDF content does not reflow but the HTML version does. The ScienceDirect site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No  The text size can be changed through magnification. However, it is not possible to change the font type unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. 
Page and Background? Yes It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. However, the text and link colour contrast ratio with the background is at least 4.5:1.
Alt Text? Yes

All graphical elements and color-coded items have meaningful text equivalents

Screen Reader? Yes E-books in HTML format are compatible with screen readers including JAWS, NVDA, and VoiceOver. For e-books in PDF format, text to speech can be done using Adobe Acrobat Reader's "Read out loud" option. 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate the ScienceDirect site using only a keyboard. This includes text links, mobile hamburger menu, image links, and hide/show controls.
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes ScienceDirect Accessibility Features

SpringerLink

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Whole Book – Unlimited whole-book downloads as PDFs or EPUB files
Chapters – Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs

Full Text Search? Yes You can search within the content of a SpringerLink e-book using the "Search within book" box to type in a keyword or phrase. A results page will then appear. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No SpringerLink does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? Yes Content can be magnified using the web browser's zoom functionality when reading e-books in HTML format, and using the PDF Reader's zoom functionality when reading e-books in PDF and EPUB format.
Text Reflow? Yes E-books in HTML and EPUB format are reflowable. When full text is presented in PDF, the text is not reflowable. The SpringerLink site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type or size when reading e-books in HTML format unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page. The font size can be changed within the reader when reading e-books in EPUB format.
Page and Background? No Most text and images of text have a contrast ratio of at least 4.5:1. However, it is not possible to change the page or background colour within the e-book unless your web browser is equipped with special functionality or plugins that could make such changes to any other web page.
Alt Text? Yes Most in-line images supplied in article content provide alternative text, or descriptions, or figure captions. However, some images, such as icons on user interface elements, may have inadequate or missing text alternatives.
Screen Reader? Yes It is possible to navigate SpringerLink e-books using a screen reader, however some elements need further work, including citations and anchor links. 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes It is possible to navigate the majority of components in the SpringerLink website using only a keyboard. Skip links are provided for bypassing repetitive navigation elements. However, content contained inside tab interfaces (e.g. tables of contents in Books) cannot be operated by keyboard alone.
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs or EPUB files
Accessibility Statement? Yes SpringerLink Accessibility Statement

Taylor & Francis

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Usually available through an online reader provided via Kortext. See the Kortext tab for more information. Occasionally some titles may only be read online as an embedded PDF

Full Text Search?  Yes
You can search within the content of a Kortext e-book by clicking the magnifying glass icon in the left-hand side column and typing in a keyword or phrase. The results will appear in a list below the search box. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No The Kortext e-reader does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function 
Magnification? Yes The Kortext e-reader contains a built-in zoom function allowing users to zoom content up to 200% without loss of content or functionality.
Text Reflow? No All EPUB content is reflowable. However, PDF content does not reflow. The e-reader is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type or size in the e-reader
Page and Background? No The foreground is separated from background with the use of appropriate colour and contrast and text and images of text have a contrast ratio of at least 4:5:1. However, it is not possible to change the page or background colour in the e-reader. 
Alt Text? Yes Most non-text elements outside of eBooks content are provided with alternative text.
Screen Reader? Yes Taylor & Francis e-books are fully supportive of eReader software and plug-ins 
Keyboard Navigation? Yes

Content is navigable via the keyboard, without needing to use a mouse

Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs. Within the Kortext reader, users are only permitted to print 10% of the text in ten-page ranges at any one time
Accessibility Statement? Yes Accessibility at Taylor & Francis

University Press Scholarship Online

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs. Whole-book downloads unavailable

Full Text Search?  Yes You can search within the content of an University Press Scholarship e-book using the "Search within book" box on the right-hand side of the page. A results page will then appear. 
Read Aloud?
Narration?
No University Press Scholarship does not provide an inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration function
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser for HTML content or through the PDF reader if downloading a chapter
Text Reflow? No University Press Scholarship e-books are provided in either PDF or HTML format and are not reflowable. The University Press Scholarship site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the text font or size within University Press Scholarship e-books but can be changed within browser settings or via the PDF reader
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page tone or colour within University Press Scholarship e-books. Throughout the site there are combinations of colours that fall below the minimum contrast levels.
Alt Text? No There is some provision of alt text within the University Press Scholarship site, however this is an area currently identified for improvement.
Screen Reader? No It is somewhat possible to navigate the University Press Scholarship site and e-books using a screen reader, however there are some issues including a lack of captions to some tables and the structure/organisation e-book PDFs.
Keyboard Navigation? Yes Most of the University Press Scholarship site is possible to navigate using only a keyboard. However, keyboard operability has been identified as an area for improvement. 
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing from chapters simply by selecting the desired text online. Unlimited printing of downloaded chapter PDFs
Accessibility Statement? Yes University Press Scholarship Accessibility 

Wiley Online Library

E-book Feature Yes/No Description
Full Text Download? Yes

Whole Book – Unlimited whole-book downloads as PDFs or EPUB files
Chapters – Unlimited chapter downloads as PDFs

Full Text Search? No  
Read Aloud?
Narration?
Yes Wiley Online Library does not provide inbuilt Read Aloud or Narration functions, however many Wiley e-books support free Text-to-Speech functionality.
Magnification? No Magnification is only possible through a user's web browser or within the PDF reader
Text Reflow? No EPUB files are reflowable whereas PDF files are not. The Wiley Online Library site is HTML5 compliant, allowing for reflow on mobile devices
Text Font and Size? No It is not possible to change the font type. The font size can be increased through magnification in the PDF reader
Page and Background? No It is not possible to change the page background colour or tone for Wiley Online Library e-books
Alt Text? Yes Since 2015, Wiley has been including alt text in many e-books.
Screen Reader? No  
Keyboard Navigation? No  
Unlimited Printing? Yes Unlimited printing of downloaded whole-book and chapter PDFs or EPUB files. Unavailable online
Accessibility Statement? Yes Wiley Online Library Accessibility

Contact Us or Give Feedback