Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Books: Kortext E-Textbooks

Kortext is a new e-textbook provider the Library is trialling. It provides electronic access to thousands of titles previously only available as bulky, expensive print textbooks. Although it features the same printing, copying, highlighting, and citation functions as other e-book providers, Kortext also allows you to download e-textbooks for offline use via the Kortext App as well as create and share notes on the text with other students. Kortext is designed to encourage thorough engagement with electronic texts and better learning outcomes.

You can discover and access Kortext content via any the following three routes:

  • Electronic reading lists – Kortext e-textbooks look like any other e-books on your reading list
  • Library catalogue – catalogue records for Kortext e-textbooks appear on here just like any other e-books.
    Type Kortext into the catalogue search box to see a full list of the Kortext content to which we currently have access.
  • ELE – if your tutor is collaborating with the Library on Kortext, we'll also include a Kortext link in the Access your Library box:

You must click this link as soon as you begin your module, though you needn't use it to access Kortext ever again.
You need to click this link on the ELE page of each and every module where it appears, not just the one time.

If this is the first time you've tried to access Kortext, you may be asked to create an account. Simply enter your Exeter email address and a unique password if asked. If you have previously accessed Kortext content via a reading list or the library catalogue, an account will already have been created for you. You will not see this sign in screen and you won't need to re-enter your details:

Once you have signed in or created an account, you will be taken to your Kortext Bookshelf. Don't worry if your bookshelf is empty the first time you access it – this just means that there aren't any readings for your module provided by Kortext right now. Readings may be added later in the academic year, so check your bookshelf to see whether anything has appeared there! Any Kortext content that you access from a reading list or the library catalogue will also appear on your bookshelf the next time you open the app.

If you open an e-textbook that you have never read before from the catalogue or your reading list, Kortext will first direct you to your bookshelf. When you open an e-textbook you have read on a previous occasion, Kortext Reader will open straight into the full text on the page you were reading when you ended the previous session.

Kortext is a new e-textbook provider the Library is trialling. It provides electronic access to thousands of titles previously only available as bulky, expensive print textbooks. Although it features the same printing, copying, highlighting, and citation functions as other e-book providers, Kortext also allows you to create and share notes on the text with other students. Kortext is designed to encourage thorough engagement with electronic texts and better learning outcomes. However, due to system limitations regarding publisher content, the MacBook app currently does not offer the same download and read offline functionality that all other versions of the Kortext app do.

You can discover and access Kortext content via any the following three routes:

  • Electronic reading lists – Kortext e-textbooks look like any other e-books on your reading list
  • Library catalogue – catalogue records for Kortext e-textbooks appear on here just like any other e-books.
    Type Kortext into the catalogue search box to see a full list of the Kortext content to which we currently have access.
  • ELE – if your tutor is collaborating with the Library on Kortext, we'll also include a Kortext link in the Access your Library box:

You must click this link as soon as you begin your module, though you needn't use it to access Kortext ever again.
You need to click this link on the ELE page of each and every module where it appears, not just the one time.

The first time you open the Kortext app you will see a Sign in to my account screen. Sign in with your university account by typing University of Exeter in Sign in to browse your institutional library. If this does not work, tap Forgotten password? because another account may have already been created for you. Enter your Exeter email address and a unique password when prompted:

Once you have signed in or created an account, you will be taken to your Kortext Bookshelf. Don't worry if your bookshelf is empty the first time you access it – this just means that there aren't any readings for your module provided by Kortext right now. Readings may be added later in the academic year, so check your bookshelf to see whether anything has appeared there! Any Kortext content that you access from a reading list or the library catalogue will also appear on your bookshelf the next time you open the app.

If you open an e-textbook that you have never read before from the catalogue or your reading list, Kortext will first direct you to your bookshelf. When you open an e-textbook you have read on a previous occasion, Kortext Reader will open straight into the full text on the page you were reading when you ended the previous session.

Kortext is a new e-textbook provider the Library is trialling. It provides electronic access to thousands of titles previously only available as bulky, expensive print textbooks. Although it features the same printing, copying, highlighting, and citation functions as other e-book providers, Kortext also allows you to download e-textbooks for offline use via the Kortext App as well as create and share notes on the text with other students. Kortext is designed to encourage thorough engagement with electronic texts and better learning outcomes.

You can discover and access Kortext content via any the following three routes:

  • Electronic reading lists – Kortext e-textbooks look like any other e-books on your reading list
  • Library catalogue – catalogue records for Kortext e-textbooks appear on here just like any other e-books.
    Type Kortext into the catalogue search box to see a full list of the Kortext content to which we currently have access.
  • ELE – if your tutor is collaborating with the Library on Kortext, we'll also include a Kortext link in the Access your Library box:

You must click this link as soon as you begin your module, though you needn't use it to access Kortext ever again.
You need to click this link on the ELE page of each and every module where it appears, not just the one time.

The first time you open the Kortext app you will see a Sign in to my account screen. You must create an account the first time you sign in, regardless of whether you have already accessed Kortext online or this is the very first time. Create an account by clicking the button at the bottom of the screen. Simply enter your Exeter email address and a unique password:

Once you have signed in or created an account, you will be taken to your Kortext Bookshelf. Don't worry if your bookshelf is empty the first time you access it – this just means that there aren't any readings for your module provided by Kortext right now. Readings may be added later in the academic year, so check your bookshelf to see whether anything has appeared there! Any Kortext content that you access from a reading list or the library catalogue will also appear on your bookshelf the next time you open the app.

If you open an e-textbook that you have never read before from the catalogue or your reading list, Kortext will first direct you to your bookshelf. When you open an e-textbook you have read on a previous occasion, Kortext Reader will open straight into the full text on the page you were reading when you ended the previous session.

Kortext is a new e-textbook provider the Library is trialling. It provides electronic access to thousands of titles previously only available as bulky, expensive print textbooks. Although it features the same printing, copying, highlighting, and citation functions as other e-book providers, Kortext also allows you to download e-textbooks for offline use via the Kortext App as well as create and share notes on the text with other students. Kortext is designed to encourage thorough engagement with electronic texts and better learning outcomes.

You can discover and access Kortext content via any the following three routes:

  • Electronic reading lists – Kortext e-textbooks look like any other e-books on your reading list
  • Library catalogue – catalogue records for Kortext e-textbooks appear on here just like any other e-books.
    Type Kortext into the catalogue search box to see a full list of the Kortext content to which we currently have access.
  • ELE – if your tutor is collaborating with the Library on Kortext, we'll also include a Kortext link in the Access your Library box:

You must click this link as soon as you begin your module, though you needn't use it to access Kortext ever again.
You need to click this link on the ELE page of each and every module where it appears, not just the one time.

The first time you open the Kortext app you will see a Sign in to my account screen. You must create an account the first time you sign in, regardless of whether you have already accessed Kortext online or this is the very first time. Create an account by clicking the button at the bottom of the screen. Simply enter your Exeter email address and a unique password:

Once you have signed in or created an account, you will be taken to your Kortext Bookshelf. Don't worry if your bookshelf is empty the first time you access it – this just means that there aren't any readings for your module provided by Kortext right now. Readings may be added later in the academic year, so check your bookshelf to see whether anything has appeared there! Any Kortext content that you access from a reading list or the library catalogue will also appear on your bookshelf the next time you open the app.

Kortext is a new e-textbook provider the Library is trialling. It provides electronic access to thousands of titles previously only available as bulky, expensive print textbooks. Although it features the same printing, copying, highlighting, and citation functions as other e-book providers, Kortext also allows you to download e-textbooks for offline use via the Kortext App as well as create and share notes on the text with other students. Kortext is designed to encourage thorough engagement with electronic texts and better learning outcomes.

You can discover and access Kortext content via any the following three routes:

  • Electronic reading lists – Kortext e-textbooks look like any other e-books on your reading list
  • Library catalogue – catalogue records for Kortext e-textbooks appear on here just like any other e-books.
    Type Kortext into the catalogue search box to see a full list of the Kortext content to which we currently have access.
  • ELE – if your tutor is collaborating with the Library on Kortext, we'll also include a Kortext link in the Access your Library box:

You must click this link as soon as you begin your module, though you needn't use it to access Kortext ever again.
You need to click this link on the ELE page of each and every module where it appears, not just the one time.

The first time you open the Kortext app you will see a Sign in to my account screen. You must create an account the first time you sign in, regardless of whether you have already accessed Kortext online or this is the very first time. Create an account by clicking the button at the bottom of the screen. Simply enter your Exeter email address and a unique password:

Once you have signed in or created an account, you will be taken to your Kortext Bookshelf. Don't worry if your bookshelf is empty the first time you access it – this just means that there aren't any readings for your module provided by Kortext right now. Readings may be added later in the academic year, so check your bookshelf to see whether anything has appeared there! Any Kortext content that you access from a reading list or the library catalogue will also appear on your bookshelf the next time you open the app.

Kortext App

If you use a mobile device or tablet for studying, why not download the Kortext App? This is a great way to study on-the-go or offline. The app works as your travelling Kortext Bookshelf and you can download e-textbooks there.

Another key advantage of the Kortext App is that any notes, highlighting, or bookmarks you create automatically sync across all your devices and PCs.

Click the Kortext logo to download the app to your device today.

Need to know more?

If you'd like to learn how to use the Kortext Reader's advanced features, click the pictures above and below to access full user guides. Ever wondered what each of the buttons does? Want to create, save, and share your own notes in an e-textbook or highlight the full text? Find out how today!

Kortext Support

There's so much more guidance and support available from Kortext's own website. Click the logo to access Kortext Support and FAQs.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us