Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: which resources do I use?: American

Unsure which resources to use for your English module or piece of research? This guide will point you in the right direction.

                                        

Newspapers

Click here for a list of US Newspaper collections.

Oxford handbooks

You may find some of these books useful. See your reading list for the required and recommended reading for your module.

Bibliographies

A bibliography is an organised list or digital database containing a collection of references to published literature, including books, journal and newspaper articles, conference proceedings, reports, etc.

Cambridge companions

You may find some of these books useful. See your reading list for the required and recommended reading for your module.

 

To find literature written by American authors, try searching the resources below:

For help using these resources, see the guides on this page.

American timeline

ProQuest One Literature: Searching for American authors and texts

Refine your search on ProQuest One Literature to American authors and/or American literary periods.

Go to Advanced Search, select Primary Texts on the left side of the page.

Click on the  to see the Scope notes about searching by Nationality and/or literary period.

Use the Look up link to choose from a list, and add this to your search, e.g. choose North American.

Use the Look up tool next to Literary period to look up the American equivalents to British literary periods.

For example, to search for American authors from the late nineteenth century, choose the American Realistic Period 1865-1900, rather than the Late Victorian Period 1880-1901.

 

American Drama and Early American Fiction (Chadwyck Healey collections)

We have access to a range of drama and prose collections from ProQuest. The search functionality is the same in each collection (with some minor differences between searching drama and prose); for example, you can search by keyword, playwright/author, or browse the complete contents of the database.

From the home page, click on Advanced Search

Search by keyword in play/work, title, or playwright/author.

Refine your search by searching additional details as shown below, e.g. such as stage directions, dedications and speech.

You can also search for a particular speaker's lines by entering a name.

 

There are additional options to filter the search by date, genre, nationality or ethnicity of the playwright.

 

 

To browse everything in the collection, click on the Publications tab:

Twentieth Century American poetry, African American Poetry, Twentieth-Century African American Poetry (Chadwyck Healey collections)

We have access to a range of poetry collections from Chadwyck Healey now available on the ProQuest platform. The search functionality is the same in each collection: for example, you can search by keyword, title or first line of the poem, poet, or browse the complete contents of the database.

Starting from the home screen select the Advanced Search option.

 

 

For example, if you were searching the English Poetry collection, you could enter sonnets OR sonnet* in the Publication Title search box.

Click search to retrieve the results and find the sonnet required.  

Alternatively you can search for the first line or the title of a poem. 

Enter the details in the first line / title search box.  e.g. “Shall I compare thee to a summers day?”

 

Click search to retrieve the results.

To view the full item click on the link.

You can use the author lookup to find an author or you can also enter the name in the search box e.g. Shakespeare.

In the Additional Author details section, you can add nationality to your search.

To browse everything in the collection, click on the Publications tab:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us