LibGuides: English: which resources do I use?: 20-21st Century

Resources

To find material from 1900 onwards, try searching the resources below:

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window Full text archive including material on LGBTQ experiences in the 20th century, as well as rare book content focused on all sexualities. The LGBTQ collections are drawn from hundreds of international institutions and organizations, including individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions & political orientations. The books cover content from the 16th to 20th centuries and are drawn from previously restricted collections and cover sex, sexuality and gender issues.
New content added: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
British Periodicals I, II, III and IV. This link opens in a new window Searchable facsimile reproductions of British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.
Complete prose of T.S. Eliot This link opens in a new window
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window UK primary source materials from 1450 to 1910 relating to the study of history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets & periodicals, education documents, books, personal writings, business records, government papers, ballads and literature.
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window Collection of poetry from influential poets of the 20th Century including Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.
Samuel Beckett Manuscript Digital Project This link opens in a new window The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett's works in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War This link opens in a new window Digital archive of rare magazine by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window Full text database of modern and contemporary English poetry.
Underground and Independent Comics: Volumes I, II and III This link opens in a new window The first database containing both scholarly and primary-source materials focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Discover the works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles. Time coverage: 20th century onwards.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window Archive of the magazine American Vogue. Includes all editions from 1892 to the present. The collection provides an insight into US fashion, culture and society.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Archive of leading women’s interest consumer magazines from the late-19th century to 2005. Mainly US titles, but now expanded to include major UK titles as well. Subject coverage includes gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Collections I, II and III available.

Bibliographies

A bibliography is an organised list or digital database containing a collection of references to published literature, including books, journal and newspaper articles, conference proceedings, reports, etc.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- This link opens in a new window A list of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays. Use for research into English language and literature publications.

Modernism timeline

Modernism timeline
A timeline of key writers and events to help put literature from this period in historical context.

Twentieth-Century English Poetry and Faber Poetry Library

We have access to a range of poetry collections from Chadwyck Healey now available on the ProQuest platform. The search functionality is the same in each collection: for example, you can search by keyword, title or first line of the poem, poet, or browse the complete contents of the database.

Starting from the home screen select the Advanced Search option.

For example, if you were searching the English Poetry collection, you could enter sonnets OR sonnet* in the Publication Title search box.

Click search to retrieve the results and find the sonnet required.

Alternatively you can search for the first line or the title of a poem.

Enter the details in the first line / title search box. e.g. “Shall I compare thee to a summers day?”

Click search to retrieve the results.

To view the full item click on the link.

You can use the author lookup to find an author or you can also enter the name in the search box e.g. Shakespeare.

In the Additional Author details section, you can add nationality to your search.

To browse everything in the collection, click on the Publications tab:

ProQuest One Literature: search by literary period

ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

When searching ProQuest One Literature, you can refine your search by literary period.

Click on Advanced Search and choose Primary Texts on the left side of the page.

Click on Look up Literary Periods.

Either search for Twentieth Century and Twenty-First Century or browse alphabetically and select Twentieth Century, 1900-1999 and Twenty-First Century, 2000- and add to search.

You can add additional keywords and author details if you like, or just click Search to see everything under this category in the database.

Alternatively you could search by literary movement, if applicable, e.g. Modernism, Postmodernism, Feminist Writers, etc. Click on Look up literary movement to select from a list.