Black Women WritersThis link opens in a new windowBlack Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Coverage begins in the 18th century with narratives depicting slavery, moves through and beyond the Harlem Renaissance, and includes writers from the movements of the 1960s, covering womanism, black feminism, and related topics.
British and Irish Womens Letters and DiariesThis link opens in a new windowBritish and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 90,000 pages of diaries and letters, spanning from the 1550s to the 1950s. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Defining GenderThis link opens in a new windowUK primary source materials from 1450 to 1910 relating to the study of history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets & periodicals, education documents, books, personal writings, business records, government papers, ballads and literature.
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958This link opens in a new windowMostly Spanish-language documents relating to Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. The collection spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime (1898-1958), and contains memoirs, essays, journals, speeches, radio broadcasts and literary works.
Perdita ManuscriptsThis link opens in a new windowThe Perdita Project was set up to find and digitise early modern women authors who were lost because their writing existed only in manuscript form. The digitised manuscripts in this collection were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries. Content includes accounts and receipt books, diaries, biographies, prose, poetry, psalms, travel writing, historical writing and more.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World HistoryThis link opens in a new windowHundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early nineteenth century to the late twentieth century. Includes unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource also includes a gallery with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs.
Women's Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowArchive of leading women’s interest consumer magazines from the late-19th century to 2005. Mainly US titles, but now expanded to include major UK titles as well. Subject coverage includes gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Collections I, II and III available.
Women's StudiesThis link opens in a new windowPrinted and manuscript sources over four centuries, providing a multitude of perspectives on the changing roles of women in history. This collection offers access to the works and legacy of many notable and influential women, but also a chance to hear the voices of forgotten and ordinary women. Covering mainly 18th to early 20th century.
LGBTQ+, gender and sexuality
Archives of Sexuality and GenderThis link opens in a new windowFull text archive including material on LGBTQ experiences in the 20th century, as well as rare book content focused on all sexualities. The LGBTQ collections are drawn from hundreds of international institutions and organizations, including individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions & political orientations. The books cover content from the 16th to 20th centuries and are drawn from previously restricted collections and cover sex, sexuality and gender issues.
New content added: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
LGBT Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowArchival runs of more than 40 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.
LGBT Thought and CultureThis link opens in a new windowBooks, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Sex & SexualityThis link opens in a new windowAccess to collections from prominent sex researchers and sexologists. Papers from Dr. John Money and Dr. Harry Benjamin document advances in areas such as diverse as biology, health and medicine, sociology, anthropology, and psychology, whilst collected research from Alice Withrow Field and James W. Edwards offer important investigations into criminology and global attitudes towards sex. Covering early 19th to the early 21st centuries.
Defining GenderThis link opens in a new windowUK primary source materials from 1450 to 1910 relating to the study of history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets & periodicals, education documents, books, personal writings, business records, government papers, ballads and literature.
Gender: Identity and Social ChangeThis link opens in a new windowPrimary sources from the U.S., Canada, the U.K. and Australia.documenting women's lived experiences of suffrage, gender roles, the feminist movement, the mens movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Date coverage is from the 19th century to early 21st century.
Independent VoicesThis link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Tick the LGBTQ+ filter box to find results for people within the LGBTQ+ community, people who were gender nonconforming, or people of historical significance to this community.
