LibGuides: English: which resources do I use?: Drama

Resources

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Filmed productions, documentaries, interviews and criticism.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window Full text plays, filmed live performance, interviews, study guides, theatre craft and performance context and criticism. The Core Collection includes Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden collection of full text plays and associated commentaries. The National Theatre Collection, Screen Online and LA Works collections can be accessed from here.
English Drama This link opens in a new window Collection of verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Globe on Screen (Collection 1 and 2) This link opens in a new window A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe in high definition and surround sound. Use it to access critically acclaimed performances from leading actors, providing performance and production insights into Shakespeare’s works.
London Stage: 1660-1800 This link opens in a new window The London Stage is a key reference work documenting theatrical performances in eighteenth-century London. This information has been compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.
Critical Studies and Performance Practice This link opens in a new window Academic e-book collection from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. Additionally, this collection also includes a suite of actor training videos.
L.A. Theatre Works - Audio Plays This link opens in a new window Collection of over 400 audio plays specially recorded by LA Theatre Works. Recordings include plays written in the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.
National Theatre Collection 1 This link opens in a new window Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection makes this rich body of work available to students in schools, universities and libraries around the world.
Stage on Screen This link opens in a new window Four classic plays (Doctor Faustus, The Duchess of Malfi, The school of scandal and Volpone) filmed in front of a live audience and accompanied by cast and crew interviews, images, costume, and set designs.
Royal Shakespeare Company Archives: From Playwrights to Performance 1889-2013 This link opens in a new window Archives of the RSC, covering the history of performance, the RSC and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Includes records of performances, staging, costuming and the introduction of new technologies. It also includes photographs, prompt books, production records and many other visual records.