Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: which resources do I use?: Newspapers

Unsure which resources to use for your English module or piece of research? This guide will point you in the right direction.

Finding newspaper articles

A wide range of current and archival news sources are available at the University.   

Choose the News type in the A-Z Database List to view all resources.

Current news sources

Visit the News Sources: current news databases guide to find recent articles from a wide range of news publications.

Archival news sources

 

Newspaper articles can provide useful historical context.

Visit the News Sources: archival news sources guide to find archive newspapers and magazines.

Search across multiple archival news sources

The majority of our archive news databases are provided via the Gale, Proquest and UK Press Online database platforms.

This means that it is possible to cross search some of the content to find news from across a range of newspaper and related titles.

  • All Proquest hosted news sources can be searched individually, or in combination via the Proquest News & Newspapers collection.
  • Gale news sources can also be searched individually or in combination via the Gale Primary Resources service.
  • UK Press Online titles can be searched individually, or in combination via the UK Press Online Search system.

 All are accessible via the News sections of the A-Z Databases List. 

Gale Primary Sources is a research environment that integrates digital collections to enable research across a range of primary sources. Users are able to search across a wide array of materials and points in time.  

When you are searching, you can use the checkboxes to select one/some/all of the titles to which the University subscribes, as illustrated in the screenshot below.


 

Gale screenshot - cross searching

 

You can select one/some/all of the subscribed Proquest news databases and cross search for your research topic.  We have access to a range of tiles, as illustrated in the screenshot below.

Use the Proquest Historical Newspapers LibGuide for search guidance

 

Choose which of the UK Press Online newspaper titles you would like to search - you can search across one or more in combination

Archives Unbound includes digital collections of primary source documents, including many archival newspaper resources.

 

You can search across all of the newspapers in the collection by going to the Advanced Search:

 

Tick the box next to Archives Unbound Newspapers:

Contact Us or Give Feedback