LibGuides: English: which resources do I use?: Audio-visual resources

A wide range of sound, video and audio resources are available to help bring drama, poetry and prose to life. Use the links below to access; hover over the for more information about each resource.

Sound

British Library Sounds This link opens in a new window Sound recordings from the British Library collections. Recordings include music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds as well as an interactive sound map of regional accents and dialect.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Shakespeare Audio Plays and Poetry Archive Audio on ProQuest One Literature. Go to Shakespeare Audio Plays

L.A. Theatre Works - Audio Plays This link opens in a new window Collection of over 400 audio plays specially recorded by LA Theatre Works. Recordings include plays written in the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.

Poetry audio recordings

We have a selection of recordings of poets reading their own works, on vinyl. Click on the links above to see what is available.

This collection is reference only and can't be borrowed, but we have a listening booth and record player available for you to use at the Old Library on the Streatham campus.

Just let us know if you'd like to arrange to listen to any of the recordings; email library@exeter.ac.uk or use Library chat to get in touch.

Film/theatre

BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new window Audiovisual resource. Play over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets. UK Usage Only
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
BFI Player This link opens in a new window On demand service streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films from across Britain and the world. The collection focuses on British and European independent films, as well as international releases. First time users need to sign up to access all subscription content for free. Returning users need to sign-in. See More.
To sign up
1. Go to https://player.bfi.org.uk/students and create an account OR sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'
2. Select university from the dropdown list
3. Authenticate subscription using your university log-in

Once you've set up your subscription, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year.
BFI Screenonline This link opens in a new window Video, images, interviews and commentary on British film and television
Please note the Screenonline platform was maintained until 2014, but is no longer active. There is no access to any of the video clips, only the editorial text content.

On Campus access only due to licence restrictions..
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window An online service for off-air recording, media streaming and archiving of TV and radio programmes from all scheduled free to air broadcast channels. BoB provides a facility for recording, creating clips and playlists of programmes.
British Council Film Collection This link opens in a new window Short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s, designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.
British Pathe This link opens in a new window Archive of vintage film footage covering 20th century UK domestic and worldwide themes, events and news. Date coverage: 1897-1970
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Filmed productions, documentaries, interviews and criticism.
ERA Video Streaming Platform This link opens in a new window Curated clips from BBC TV and Radio archive. Browse by subject or search for clips across the archive. UK Usage only
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
Globe on Screen (Collection 1 and 2) This link opens in a new window A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe in high definition and surround sound. Use it to access critically acclaimed performances from leading actors, providing performance and production insights into Shakespeare’s works.
ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Poets On Screen on ProQuest One Literature: video clips of poets reading their own and other poets works. Go to Poetry Archive Audio

Stage on Screen This link opens in a new window Four classic plays (Doctor Faustus, The Duchess of Malfi, The school of scandal and Volpone) filmed in front of a live audience and accompanied by cast and crew interviews, images, costume, and set designs.
Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy This link opens in a new window Harriet Walter leads an all-female cast in these three productions of Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison. This collection also features 40 short videos on the plays and stagecraft behind behind each production.
Maxine Peake as Hamlet This link opens in a new window Filmed production of Shakespeare’s most iconic work with gender-blind casting and Maxine Peake as Hamlet.
National Theatre Collection 1 This link opens in a new window Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection makes this rich body of work available to students in schools, universities and libraries around the world.
RSC Live Collection 2 (2018-2019) This link opens in a new window Collection of RSC Live Shakespeare productions performed in 2018 and 2019.
Shakespeare in the Present This link opens in a new window A series of video masterclasses by acclaimed teacher Patsy Rodenburg. Learn performance techniques and exercises in movement, speech, body and vocal warmup.
Shakespeares Heroes & Villains: Steven Berkoff This link opens in a new window Video masterclass on Shakespeare's most notorious villains and unlikely heroes by renowned actor, writer, and director Steven Berkoff.
Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window Filmned performances by the Stratford Festival repertory theatre company (North America).
Victorians on Film This link opens in a new window Includes collections of early films from the British Film Institute (the Victorian Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon collection), plus a selection of films from the Eye Filmmuseum. Also contains contextual essays, video interviews and exhibitions in support of the film resources. Coverage is 1895-1913.

Image

Artstor This link opens in a new window Digital images of arts and architecture. Use it to view artwork images and build and share image collections.
The Artstor website was retired in August 2024. Content has transitioned to the JSTOR platform. All content and functionality is available there.
British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window A national collection of socio-political cartoons from British newspapers and magazines, plus comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines, from 1904 onwards.
BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new window Audiovisual resource. Play over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets. UK Usage Only
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.