Skip to Main Content
African Newspaper Archives
African Newspapers: British Library Collection This link opens in a new window
19th century African newspapers collection offering eyewitness reports, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports. The collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep new coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa.
Aluka: Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
An archive of objects, documents and images relating to 20th Century Southern Africa’s fight for independence. Materials include periodicals, pamphlets, speeches, interviews, personal papers, letters and official documents from this time with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Archive of transcripts of foreign (to the United States) broadcasts and news covering 1941-1996. Includes daily reports from Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Caribbean, Europe, Middle & Near East, North and South America, covering 1974-1996, as well as the full global reports from 1941-1974.
Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers online from around the world. Some titles are represented by just a few issues, others are more comprehensive
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (Open Access)
This collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the mid-twentieth century.
Sabinet This link opens in a new window
SA Media is a news research and press clipping service that retrospectively covers mainstream publications in South Africa, from 1978 to present day.
African Newspapers I and II This link opens in a new window
Over 100 African newspaper titles from the19th and early 20th century. The collection includes newspapers from Algeria, Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco , Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Contact Us or Give Feedback