LibGuides: News Archives: Russia

Russian Newspaper Archives

Current Digest of the Russian Press (DA-CDRP) This link opens in a new window English translations of selected Russian-language newspaper content from the most authoritative Soviet and Russian newspapers, since 1949.
Izvestiia Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Izvestiia was the official daily newspaper of the Soviet government from 1917 until the dissolution of the USSR in 1991, when Izvestiia became an independent publication. The archive covers content from 1917-2017. A Cyrillic virtual keyboard, supports the ability to search in transliteration.
Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Long-standing USSR satirical journal published between 1922 - 2008. Featuring a wide range of political opinions and commentary on Soviet bureaucracy and excessive centralized control, religion, US foreign and domestic policy, Western political leaders and events, and more.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Contains all obtainable published issues of the English-language Moscow News (1930-2014), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). Note: Moscow News was shut down by the Politburo in 1949 and did not resume publishing until 1956.
Pravda Archive This link opens in a new window Full text archive of Pravda, the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party from 1918 - 1991. Russian language.