The majority of our archive news databases are provided via the Gale, Proquest and UK Press Online database platforms.
This means that it is possible to cross search some of the content to find news from across a range of newspaper and related titles.
Gale Primary Sources is a research environment that integrates digital collections to enable research across a range of primary sources. Users are able to search across a wide array of materials and points in time.
When you are searching, you can use the checkboxes to select one/some/all of the titles to which the University subscribes, as illustrated in the screenshot below.
You can select one/some/all of the subscribed Proquest news databases and cross search for your research topic. We have access to a range of tiles, as illustrated in the screenshot below.
Use the Proquest Historical Newspapers LibGuide for search guidance
UK Press Online newspaper titles - featuring content from
Archives Unbound includes digital collections of primary source documents, including many archival newspaper resources.
You can search across all of the newspapers in the collection by going to the Advanced Search:
Tick the box next to Archives Unbound Newspapers:
The British Newspaper Archive is a partnership between the British Library and Findmypast to digitise the British Library's vast collection of newspapers.
This resource is not available as an institutional subscription, only a personal subscription, and the university library is therefore unable to subscribe to it. Your public library may provide free access to it. If you register you can view a limited number of pages for free.
Although, the University does not have access to this service, it does have access to many of the historical newspapers that feature on this service. Take a look at the range of historical newspapers available to you via the University. This includes the full British Library Newspapers Collection.