African American Newspapers 1827-1998This link opens in a new window270 searchable newspapers drawn from over 35 U.S. states. A unique record of African American history, culture and daily life. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1828-1998
Independent VoicesThis link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives ProjectThis link opens in a new windowThis collection contains magazines, newsletters and ephemeral publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project (WRAP). The period covered is the early 1970s to 2014 and covers a transitional period, where the movement has spread across the Afro-Atlantic world and has become more globalized.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998This link opens in a new window270 searchable newspapers drawn from over 35 U.S. states. A unique record of African American history, culture and daily life. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1828-1998
Atlanta Daily WorldThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Atlanta Daily World, a daily newspaper published in Atlanta, Georgia (U.S.) and one of the oldest African-American newspapers. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1932-2010
Baltimore Afro-AmericanThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Baltimore Afro-American, an African American weekly newspaper published in Baltimore, Maryland (U.S). Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1893-1988
Black Studies CenterThis link opens in a new windowConsists of scholarly journals, commissioned essays and historic indexes on US focused black studies and culture as well as black literature, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. A major component is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. The other black newspapers we subscribe to and the Black Abolitionist Papers are cross-searchable in this resource.
Chicago DefenderThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of Chicago Defender, a daily African-American newspaper published in Chicago, Illinois (U.S.) known for its civil- and equal-rights advocacy. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1909-1975
Cleveland Call and PostThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Cleveland Call and Post, a weekly leading African-American newspaper published in Cleveland, Ohio (U.S.) Older material is available a digitised article and full page scans, newer material is available as OCR text. Date coverage: 1934-1991.
Los Angeles SentinelThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Los Angeles Sentinel, a weekly newspaper published in Los Angeles, California (U.S.). The newspaper provides first-hand accounts, reporting and unparalleled coverage of the politics and society from one of America's most prominent African American newspapers. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1934-2005
Michigan ChronicleThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Michigan Chronicle, an African-American weekly newspaper published in Michigan, Detroit (U.S.). Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1939-2010
New York Amsterdam NewsThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the New York Amsterdam News, a weekly African American newspaper published in New York (U.S.). Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1922-1993
New Journal and GuideThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the New Journal and Guide, a weekly newspaper published in Norfolk, Virginia (U.S) focusing on local and national African-American news, sports, and issues. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1916 - 2010
Philadelphia TribuneThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Philadelphia Tribune, an African American daily newspaper published in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (U.S.). Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1912-2001
Pittsburgh CourierThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable archive of the Pittsburgh Courier, a weekly Africa American newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (U.S.) and one of the leading Black newspapers in America in the 1930s. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1911-2002
