Skip to Main Content 
Canadian Newspapers Archives
Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Globe and Mail newspaper archive from 1844-2014.
Vancouver Sun This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Vancouver Sun newspaper archive from 1912-2010.
U.S. Newspapers Archives
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
270 searchable newspapers drawn from over 35 US states. A unique record of African American history, culture and daily life.
Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society, Part 2 This link opens in a new window
Expanding on Part 1, Part 2 of this collection includes newspapers created by amateurs including children and teenagers, from the American Antiquarian Society in the period 1776 to 1912. This collection offers a unique window into grass-roots American journalism.
Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I This link opens in a new window
The Amateur Newspaper collection at the American Antiquarian Society consists of about 50,000 issues, covering the period 1825-1900. There are more than 5,500 titles, from every state except Alaska and Hawaii, as well as issues from fifteen foreign countries.
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, produced in the United States and Canada, from 1828 to 2016.
Burney Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text news and ephemera from the 17th and 18th centuries, from Britain and the colonies. Holdings complement the Nichols Collection.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Full text American newspapers spanning the 18th to 20th centuries.
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Almost 2000 U.S. pamphlets and 8 newspapers from 1840-1865 covering a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the US Communist Historical Newspaper Collection archive from 1917-2013.
Early American Newspapers, 1870-1922 This link opens in a new window
Access to searchable issues of over 300 local newspapers, with titles available from all 50 states and DC. Chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1870-1922.
Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers online from around the world. Some titles are represented by just a few issues, others are more comprehensive
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin American countries in Central and South America. Newspapers contain content in Spanish, English, Portuguese and French.
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Collection of English-language publications spanning 1845-2015 and covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Although most content is from the US, there are also a significant number of UK titles included.
Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text news and ephemera from the 17th and 18th centuries, from Britain and the colonies.
Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters This link opens in a new window
Newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organisations throughout the United States. The collection includes literature covering the years 1947 - 2004, representing a wide range of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience and thought.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles, commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video covering the region. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level. Much coverage is C19 and C20 but some content is earlier including back to the C15. Includes selected U.S. press coverage of Latin American and Caribbean affairs 1800-1899.
American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full text access to the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger newspaper archive from 1857-1922.
American Israelite This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the American Israelite newspaper archive from 1854-2000.
Arizona Republican This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Arizona Republican newspaper archive from 1890-2007.
Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Atlanta Constitution newspaper archive from 1868-1984.
Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Atlanta Daily World newspaper archive from 1931-2003.
Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Baltimore Afro-American newspaper archive from 1893-1988.
Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Baltimore Sun archive from 1837-1992.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Boston Globe newspaper archive from 1872-1986.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Chicago Defender newspaper archive from 1909-1975.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full text searchable archive of The Chicago Tribune from 1849 - 1994.
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Christian Science Monitor newspaper archive from 1908-2004.
Cincinnati Enquirer This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Cincinnati Enquirer newspaper archive from 1841-2009.
Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Cleveland Call and Post newspaper archive from 1934-1991.
Dayton Daily News This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Dayton Daily News archive from 1898-1922.
Detroit Free Press This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Detroit Free Press archive from 1831 - 1999.
Hartford Courant This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Hartford Courant newspaper archive from 1764-1992.
Indianapolis Star This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Indianapolis Star newspaper archive from 1903 -2004.
Jewish Advocate This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Jewish Advocate newspaper archive from 1905 - 1990.
Jewish Exponent This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Jewish Exponent newspaper archive from 1887-1990.
LA Times This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the LA Times archive from 1881-1994. Provides first-hand accounts, reporting and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Los Angeles Sentinel archive from 1934-2005. Provides first-hand accounts, reporting and unparalleled coverage of the politics and society from one of America's most prominent African American newspapers.
Louisville Courier Journal This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Louisville Courier Journal newspaper archive from 1830-2000.
Michigan Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Michigan Chronicle newspaper archive from 1939-2010.
Minneapolis Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Minneapolis Star Tribune newspaper archive from 1867-2001.
Nashville Tennessean This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Nashville Tennessean newspaper archive from 1812-2002.
Newsday This link opens in a new window
Archive of U.S, publication Newsday archive from 1940-1989.
New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the New York Amsterdam News archive 1922 - 1993.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of The New York Times from 1851 – 2013.
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1841 - 1962.
Norfolk Journal and Guide This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the newspaper archive. Coverage: 1916 - 2003.
Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1860 - 2001.
Philadelphia Tribune This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1912 - 2001.
Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1911 - 2002.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1786 - 2003.
San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1865 - 1922.
St. Louis Post Dispatch This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1874 - 1922
St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper archive. Coverage: 1886 - 2009.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the Washington Post archive from 1877-2001. Provides first-hand accounts, reporting and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time, as well as some of the most pivotal events in American history.
Coverage: 1877 - 2001
Contact Us or Give Feedback
