British Union of Fascists: newspapers and secret files, 1933-1951This link opens in a new windowThese papers cover the growth of the British Union of Fascists and the impact of World War 2 upon them. The documents include both their official publications and the imprisonment of their leader Oswald Mosley. The pre-war fascist newspapers include Fascist week, The Blackshirt and The East London Pioneer. Action was published from February 1936 until June 1940, by which point a growing number of the BUF were interned. Sir Oswald and Lady Diane Mosley’s imprisonment caused much debate. These papers include government records of why they were arrested and Oswald Mosley’s time in prison. Other items include official intelligence reports upon both Mosleys.
Illustrated War News, 1914-1918 & 1939This link opens in a new windowThis newspaper was an offshoot of the Illustrated London News, first published weekly in 1914. Coverage was very patriotic, focusing on the armed forces and national defence and included reports on air, land and sea fronts in key theatres of war. Includes many full page (often graphic) illustrations and photos. Also includes the work of many well-known war artists.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day LifeThis link opens in a new windowJapanese relocation camp newspapers offering insight into the concerns and day-to-day life of interned Japanese-Americans in the U.S. during World War II. Papers are predominantly written in English or duel English & Japanese languages.
Patriotes aux Armes! (Patriots to Arms!): The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945This link opens in a new windowNewspapers and periodicals, broadsides, leaflets, books and pamphlets and other ephemera produced by or relating to the underground resistance in Belgium, France, Italy, and The Netherlands during the Second World War. French language content mainly as well as some European language content. Digitised page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1939-1945
Service Newspapers of World War TwoThis link opens in a new windowFully searchable collection of over 300 newspaper titles from European countries and their allies. This worldwide collection reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Content is mainly English but also includes some European and African languages. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1939-1948
Civil War EraThis link opens in a new windowAlmost 2000 U.S. pamphlets and 8 U.S. newspapers from 1840-1865 covering a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1840-1865
Early American Newspapers, 1870-1922This link opens in a new windowAccess to searchable issues of over 300 local U.S. newspapers, with titles available from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. This collection chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1870-1922
African American Newspapers 1827-1998This link opens in a new window270 searchable newspapers drawn from over 35 U.S. states. A unique record of African American history, culture and daily life. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1828-1998
Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973This link opens in a new windowArchive of the Observer, a weekly official newspaper published by the Military Assistance Command Information Division of the U.S. Military. It carried news about and for American troops in Vietnam. Digitised page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1962-1973
