Archives of Sexuality and GenderThis link opens in a new windowFull text archive including material on LGBTQ experiences in the 20th century, as well as rare book content focused on all sexualities. The LGBTQ collections are drawn from hundreds of international institutions and organizations, including individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions & political orientations. The books cover content from the 16th to 20th centuries and are drawn from previously restricted collections and cover sex, sexuality and gender issues.
New content added: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Defining GenderThis link opens in a new windowUK primary source materials from 1450 to 1910 relating to the study of history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets & periodicals, education documents, books, personal writings, business records, government papers, ballads and literature.
Gender: Identity and Social ChangeThis link opens in a new windowPrimary sources from the U.S., Canada, the U.K. and Australia.documenting women's lived experiences of suffrage, gender roles, the feminist movement, the mens movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Date coverage is from the 19th century to early 21st century.
Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976This link opens in a new windowPrimarily covering 1953-1969, this collection documents the activist and professional activities of Donald S. Lucas. Mostly covering the early homosexual civil rights movement in the U.S. (the homophile movement) and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. Includes: correspondence, meeting minutes, newsletters, manuscripts, financial documents, reports, statistics, legal decisions, surveys and much more.
Independent VoicesThis link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBT Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowArchival runs of more than 40 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.
LGBT Thought and CultureThis link opens in a new windowBooks, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of BilitisThis link opens in a new windowDrawn from the archives of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in the U.S., this archive contains information on the founding and growth of the homophile movement, especially the Daughters of Bilitis and The Ladder magazine, including early meeting minutes, correspondence, chapter records, membership data, and manuscripts unavailable elsewhere. Coverage is 1955-1984.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of BilitisThis link opens in a new windowDrawn from the archives of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in the U.S., this archive documents Lyon and Martin's work in the LGBT and women's rights movements. Coverage is 1966-1984 and documents include minutes, correspondence, notes related to their work with various organisations and materials related to their book 'Battered Wives'.
Queer PastsThis link opens in a new windowQueer Pasts is a collection of curated primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses queer in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT. Each of the document collections include a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources in historical terms and in relationship to previous scholarship.
Sex & SexualityThis link opens in a new windowAccess to collections from prominent sex researchers and sexologists. Papers from Dr. John Money and Dr. Harry Benjamin document advances in areas such as diverse as biology, health and medicine, sociology, anthropology, and psychology, whilst collected research from Alice Withrow Field and James W. Edwards offer important investigations into criminology and global attitudes towards sex. Covering early 19th to the early 21st centuries.
