LibGuides: Primary Sources: Africa

Africa

Indigenous Cultures and Christian Conversion in Ghana and Sierra Leone, 1700-1850 This link opens in a new window This resource comprises selected documents from a number of different microfilm collections, including: early Gold Coast records from the archives of the USPG; the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first Governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone
Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885 This link opens in a new window Archive of the American consulate in Tripoli. Records of the Tripolitan War, 1801-1805, between the United States and the piratical North African Barbary States are included as well as documents relating to the opening of the port of New Orleans in 1862, and exchanges from Secretary of State James G. Blaine, in the Garfield Administration.
Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929 This link opens in a new window U.S. Department of State archive of over 100 years of U.S.-Morocco relations. It includes correspondences from U.S. ministers in Tangier and Tetuan.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window Bringing together documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, spanning from 1490 to 2007, this resource allows to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Includes original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps.

Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914 This link opens in a new window Covers the history of European colonisation across Africa from the late C19 to the early C20, including rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage. Also includes guides to the material and contextual essays. Material is sourced from a variety of European and US archives
African Newspapers: British Library Collection This link opens in a new window 19th century African newspapers collection offering eyewitness reports, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports. The collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa. Digitised article and page scans. Date coverage: 1821-1899
African Newspapers I and II This link opens in a new window Over 100 African newspaper titles from the 19th and early 20th century. The collection includes newspapers from Algeria, Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco , Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Content is mainly in English, Afrikaans and other African languages. Digitised article and page scans. Date coverage: 1800-1922
Colonial Africa in official statistics, 1821-1953 This link opens in a new window Statistics covering the history of thirteen colonies across Africa. The statistics captured how the British Empire was performing as a business.
Colonial Law in Africa 1808-1919 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the first part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. This resource covers the Napoleonic Wars, the Boer War and the First World War. It also covers the abolition of the legal status of slavery. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Confidential Print: Africa 1834-1966 This link opens in a new window Access to the UKs Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. Official records, letters, telegrams, dispatches, investigative reports and treaties document the imperial expansion into and subsequent withdrawal from the continent.
Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture - Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Full text manuscript collections, including newspapers, UK, US and German diplomatic and colonial records, publications from missionary organisations, and correspondence and personal papers from individuals. This archive provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century.
Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 This link opens in a new window Records from the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the American Presbyterian church, in Africa, documenting the BFM's evangelistic, educational and medical work. Mainly correspondence, with some diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale and accounts from missionaries in the field.
Gambia Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1881-1966 This link opens in a new window Includes the annual reports compiled by the colonial government of Gambia, covering the period from the creation of the British administered Gambia Colony and Protectorate to independence. The documents are divided into nine sections: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, and Miscellaneous.
Ghana and Togo under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1843-1957 This link opens in a new window Colonial government annual and departmental reports and statistical data relating to the Gold Coast and Togoland, 1843-1957. Supports comparative, social, political and economic history research on imperialism and colonialism across British Africa.
Ghana in Records from colonial missionaries, 1886-1951 This link opens in a new window A collection of six volumes of records highlighting the role and influence of colonial missionaries in Ghanaian society between 1886-1951. Records include letters sent and received, missionary reports and additional correspondence.
Indigenous Cultures and Christian Conversion in Ghana and Sierra Leone, 1700-1850 This link opens in a new window This resource comprises selected documents from a number of different microfilm collections, including: early Gold Coast records from the archives of the USPG; the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first Governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918 This link opens in a new window This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. Records cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.
Libya: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1796-1885 This link opens in a new window Archive of the American consulate in Tripoli. Records of the Tripolitan War, 1801-1805, between the United States and the piratical North African Barbary States are included as well as documents relating to the opening of the port of New Orleans in 1862, and exchanges from Secretary of State James G. Blaine, in the Garfield Administration.
Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929 This link opens in a new window U.S. Department of State archive of over 100 years of U.S.-Morocco relations. It includes correspondences from U.S. ministers in Tangier and Tetuan.
Nigeria and Cameroon under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1887-1962 This link opens in a new window These Annual Departmental Reports relating to Nigeria and British Cameroons are organised into 10 groupings: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, Miscellaneous, and reports relating to the British Cameroons.
Sierra Leone under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1893-1961 This link opens in a new window Includes nine searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Sierra Leone's colonial government between 1893-1961. Volumes include records on the justice system, finance, social services, transport and more.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window Bringing together documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, spanning from 1490 to 2007, this resource allows to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Includes original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps.
South Africa in records from colonial missionaries, 1819-1900 This link opens in a new window Includes letters and supplementary material compiled by the South African branch of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (now the United Society Partners in Gospel) during the period 1820-1900.
Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965 This link opens in a new window Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965 Containing 54,550 pages belonging to 121 documents housed in 5 volumes.
Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980 This link opens in a new window Includes twelve searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Zimbabwe's colonial government between 1897-1980. Volumes include reports of the Auditor General, as well as records on the justice system, social services, transport and more.

Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914 This link opens in a new window Covers the history of European colonisation across Africa from the late C19 to the early C20, including rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage. Also includes guides to the material and contextual essays. Material is sourced from a variety of European and US archives
Africa Commons: History & Culture This link opens in a new window Curated collection of African historical and cultural materials held by organisations around the world, with links to repositories where the materials are accessible. It includes a variety of cultural artefacts such as books, magazines, comics, photographs, music ,maps, speeches, letters and diaries. Modules include: Black South African Magazines, East African Magazines, Newspapers and Films: The Hilary Ng'weno Archive, History and Culture, and Southern African Film and documentaries.
African Newspapers: British Library Collection This link opens in a new window 19th century African newspapers collection offering eyewitness reports, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports. The collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa. Digitised article and page scans. Date coverage: 1821-1899
African Newspapers I and II This link opens in a new window Over 100 African newspaper titles from the 19th and early 20th century. The collection includes newspapers from Algeria, Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco , Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Content is mainly in English, Afrikaans and other African languages. Digitised article and page scans. Date coverage: 1800-1922
Aluka: Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window An archive of objects, documents and images relating to 20th Century Southern Africa’s fight for independence. Materials include periodicals, pamphlets, speeches, interviews, personal papers, letters and official documents from this time with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980 This link opens in a new window This is an essential resource for the study of the apartheid era in Southern Africa, sourced exclusively from The National Archives UK. It provides unparalleled analysis of South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian dilemmas.
Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties, 1948-1994 This link opens in a new window Contains various materials published by political parties on both sides of the racial and ideological divide. Most documents are from the archives of the main opposition movement, the African National Congress (ANC). The main party of government, the National Party, is also well represented, as are several minor parties and independent candidates.
Colonial Africa in official statistics, 1821-1953 This link opens in a new window Statistics covering the history of thirteen colonies across Africa. The statistics captured how the British Empire was performing as a business.
Colonial Law in Africa 1808-1919 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the first part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. This resource covers the Napoleonic Wars, the Boer War and the First World War. It also covers the abolition of the legal status of slavery. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Colonial Law in Africa 1920-1945 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for Kenya, Nigeria, Malawi, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Gambia, Ghana and Uganda between 1920-1945. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices.
Colonial Law in Africa 1946-1966 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for Kenya, Nigeria, Malawi, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Gambia, Ghana, Uganda, Lesotho and Zimbabwe between 1946-1966. Their contents include tenders of property, probate records and insolvency notices.
Confidential Print: Africa 1834-1966 This link opens in a new window Access to the UKs Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. Official records, letters, telegrams, dispatches, investigative reports and treaties document the imperial expansion into and subsequent withdrawal from the continent.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and the Middle East, 1960-1969 This link opens in a new window Contains U.S. State Department Central Files, which provide American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments. Resources include reports, interviews, minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, letters, instructions, cables sent and received, as well as reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers. Countries covered are: Biafra/Nigeria; Congo; Egypt; Ghana; South Africa; Iran; Iraq; Israel; Lebanon; Palestine; Saudi Arabia; the Persian Gulf States (Aden, Bahrain, Kuwait, Muscat & Oman, Qatar, Trucial States); and Yemen.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories This link opens in a new window First-hand primary sources from over 70 former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, plus some former French and Portuguese territories. Focusing specifically on 20th century political movements within individual countries, the content includes the African Trade Union Papers, Marjorie Nicholson papers and the Political Pamphlets from the Institute of Commonwealth.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
Gambia Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1881-1966 This link opens in a new window Includes the annual reports compiled by the colonial government of Gambia, covering the period from the creation of the British administered Gambia Colony and Protectorate to independence. The documents are divided into nine sections: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, and Miscellaneous.
Ghana and Togo under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1843-1957 This link opens in a new window Colonial government annual and departmental reports and statistical data relating to the Gold Coast and Togoland, 1843-1957. Supports comparative, social, political and economic history research on imperialism and colonialism across British Africa.
Ghana in Records from colonial missionaries, 1886-1951 This link opens in a new window A collection of six volumes of records highlighting the role and influence of colonial missionaries in Ghanaian society between 1886-1951. Records include letters sent and received, missionary reports and additional correspondence.
King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959: US State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Morocco This link opens in a new window This collection contains records from the US on internal affairs in Morocco, including coverage of the move to independence in 1956 and subsequent economic and political liberalisation. Also covered is the proposals to create a constitutional monarchy and drafting of a new constitution.
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America This link opens in a new window FBI surveillance files (1970 to 1985) on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party .; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for African Americans.
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918 This link opens in a new window This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. Records cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935 This link opens in a new window This archive consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by American diplomats, as well as records of American citizens and companies with relations to Liberia. It carries the story from the end of First World War into the interwar period.
Malawi under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1967 This link opens in a new window Annual governmental reports commencing at the fracturing of the British Central Africa Protectorate which led to the official formation of the Nyasaland Protectorate. Most records conclude after Nyasaland gained independence in 1964, as Malawi. Documents are categorised as: Administration, Finance, Judicial & Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, plus a miscellaneous category.
Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1958-1994 This link opens in a new window Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions
Morocco: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1797-1929 This link opens in a new window U.S. Department of State archive of over 100 years of U.S.-Morocco relations. It includes correspondences from U.S. ministers in Tangier and Tetuan.
Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933 This link opens in a new window Records from the U.S. State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of Nicaragua, during U.S. occupation. The records include internal documentation, correspondence with other federal departments and agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations; telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.
Nicaragua: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window The documents in this archive trace developments primarily during the administration of President John F. Kennedy, with a focus on commerce between Nicaragua and the U.S. Also included are documents relating to social welfare,
Nigeria and Cameroon under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1887-1962 This link opens in a new window These Annual Departmental Reports relating to Nigeria and British Cameroons are organised into 10 groupings: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, Miscellaneous, and reports relating to the British Cameroons.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Ethiopia, 1945-1963 This link opens in a new window Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs, containing a wide range of materials including  translations of high-level foreign government documents,  speeches, memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.
Records of the U.S. State Department: Congo, Political and Governmental Affairs, February 1963-1966 This link opens in a new window Political and governmental documents covering the period following Congo indeoendence in 1960.
Records of the U.S. State Department: Ghana, Political Relations and Governmental Affairs, February 1963-1966 This link opens in a new window
Collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to Ghana internal affairs.
Records of the U.S. State Department: Nigeria, Political and Governmental Affairs, February 1963-1966 This link opens in a new window Documents covering political and economic development of Nigeria through the years following full independence in 1960.
Records of the U.S. State Department: The French Colonies in Sub-Saharan Africa, 1945-1963: Internal and Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new window American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments in French Africa.  Includes special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; full texts of letters, instructions, and cables sent and received; reports and translations from foreign newspapers; and high-level foreign government documents.
Reporting on Africa: From Apartheid to Pan-Africanism, 1949-1995 This link opens in a new window Archival material relating to the modern development of South Africa, with particular reference to the anti-apartheid movement. The material, including cuttings, reports, memoranda and speeches, is derived from the work of South African journalist and activist Colin Legum between 1949-1995.
Sierra Leone under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1893-1961 This link opens in a new window Includes nine searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Sierra Leone's colonial government between 1893-1961. Volumes include records on the justice system, finance, social services, transport and more.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window Bringing together documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, spanning from 1490 to 2007, this resource allows to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Includes original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps.
Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965 This link opens in a new window Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965 Containing 54,550 pages belonging to 121 documents housed in 5 volumes.
Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980 This link opens in a new window Includes twelve searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Zimbabwe's colonial government between 1897-1980. Volumes include reports of the Auditor General, as well as records on the justice system, social services, transport and more.