LibGuides: Primary Sources: Americas

USA

American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window This collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, and contains correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps.
American Urban Life and Health (1883-1914) This link opens in a new window Reports of the Charity Organization Society of New York (1883 -1914) detailing living conditions and investigations of health, industry, delinquency, insanity and crime.
American West This link opens in a new window Explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Browse printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window Full text American newspapers spanning the 18th to 20th centuries. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1770-1963
Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window Covers American history from 1870-1920. Drawn from a number of US libraries, collections include papers of key industrial corporations, charities, influential families and cultural institutions, as well as images of political cartoons, photographs and ephemera.
Goldey-Beacom College Historical Archives This link opens in a new window This collection includes photographs, ledgers, papers, and ephemera related to the history of Goldey-Beacom College (1886 - 2017).
History Vault This link opens in a new window Collection of unique historical U.S. manuscript and archival materials, including organizational records, declassified government documents, newspaper articles, diary entries, official correspondence, personal letters, business ledgers etc. These materials reveal overlooked perspectives and little-known or forgotten activities and events in U.S. history. The archive includes materials on civil rights, slavery and the Civil War, women's studies, labour and workers, American Indians, politics and society, international relations and military conflicts, the colonial era and early America. Date coverage: 1775-1980
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 This link opens in a new window Covers the investigations made in the U.S. during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. Also covers the Immigration and Naturalization Service's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and suppression of radical aliens. Most files are INS correspondence with some oral histories from immigrants themselves.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia This link opens in a new window This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. These documents provide a view of the of the vast region Appalachia over 350 years.
National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985 This link opens in a new window This U.S. collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes and materials relating to farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike in the U.S.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Includes 2,162 authors giving a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Contains contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives. Also includes some audio files with the voices of the immigrants.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window This collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Coverage is broadly C18 to C20 with collections focusing on travel, pioneering and daily life for girls as well as covering women's views on family, marriage, travel, religion, disease, and death.
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 This link opens in a new window Contains a wide variety of material detailing the experiences of settlers in the American West, including many records from men and women making the westward journey and recording their experiences. Comprised of over 290 documents sourced from microfilm collections and based on bibliographies of Western history.
Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records (1853-1999) This link opens in a new window Contains the records of Pinkerton's National Detective Agency from the holdings of the Library of Congress. Includes the history of the U.S. agency as well as extensive criminal case files, which consist of correspondence regarding the cases, reports from operatives, mug shots, reward notices, and wanted posters. Some include histories of the cases written by employees.
Reports of the Immigrant Commission, 1907-1910 This link opens in a new window This collection reproduces 41 bound volumes of reports by the U.S. Immigration Commission, analyzing the heavy waves of immigration to America early in this century and their effects on the country. 
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500 - 1926 This link opens in a new window Archive of sources used to create Sabin's bibliography on American history and culture. It covers North American political and religious life, the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, early Republic/Jacksonian/antebellum periods, Civil War/post Civil War, the settlement of the West and later eras. This archive includes published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and more.
Social History Archive This link opens in a new window Largest single online collection of mainly British & Irish historical primary source material although some U.S and European records are included. Includes birth, marriage and death records, local, regional, and national UK newspapers, electoral records and census returns, army and war records, crime reports and migration records.(Content, when fully migrated, will be the same as content in Find My Past)
Transatlantic Civil Society in Periodicals, 1768-1925 This link opens in a new window Contains a series of American journals, magazines, and trade papers published in the United Kingdom and continental Europe from 1768 to 1925. Subject matter covered includes art, literature, trade and commerce, leisure, tourism, émigré society gossip, politics, and white supremacy.

See American Indian studies

American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ This link opens in a new window Fully searchable full text access to the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ newspaper archive from 1857-1922.
American Israelite‎ This link opens in a new window Fully searchable archive of the American Israelite newspaper, an English language Jewish weekly newspaper published in Cincinnati, Ohio (U.S.). Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1854-2000
Jewish Advocate‎ This link opens in a new window Fully searchable archive of the Jewish Advocate, a weekly newspaper published in Boston, Massachusetts‎ (U.S.)and one of the oldest Jewish newspapers in America. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1905-1990
Jewish Exponent‎ This link opens in a new window Fully searchable archive of the Jewish Exponent‎, a weekly community newspaper published in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1887-1990
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window Jewish Life in America will enable you to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. The collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity, culture and Jewish involvement in the political life of American society.
Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection This link opens in a new window Original documents collected by the Jewish Communist and WW2 underground resistance member David Diaman dealing with Jewish, Polish and Communist groups in the French underground resistance. Mainly French language with some Yiddish language documents.

African American Poetry This link opens in a new window African American poetry from 18th & 19th centuries.
American Art-Union, 1839-1851: The Rise of American Art Literacy This link opens in a new window Meeting minutes, register of works of art, letters, letterpress books and newspaper clippings from the American Art-Union, a subscription based organisation in the U.S. whose ostensible role was to democratise and promote fine art to the American general public.
American Drama, 1714-1915 This link opens in a new window American dramatic works from 1714-1915.
Black Drama, 3rd ed This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40% of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project This link opens in a new window U.S. Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) publications from 1933 to 1943. The project was government initiative set up to help unemployed Academics, post-graduate students, journalists, playwrights and novelists during the Depression era. The creative output of this project provides insights into the social and cultural history of America during this time period.
Robert Winslow Gordon and American Folk Music This link opens in a new window Covers 1909-1932, but primarily 1922-32, giving access to Gordon's manuscripts, including correspondence and collections of folk songs.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window Full text database of modern and contemporary African American poetry.

See Black History: African American Studies

City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Alabama's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Arkansas, 1871-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Arkansas' cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Florida, 1882-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Florida's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Louisiana's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Maryland, 1752-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Maryland's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Mississippi, 1860-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Mississippi's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: North Carolina, 1886-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of North Carolina's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Tennessee, 1849-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Tennessee's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: Virginia, 1801-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of Virginia's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.
City and Business Directories: West Virginia, 1839-1929 This link opens in a new window The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of West Virginia's cities, and information about their civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories focus on ordinary people and the common-place event, useful for the study of American history and culture.

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy This link opens in a new window Includes documents on the promulgation and implementation of the U.S.'s Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands.
International Climatic Changes and Global Warming This link opens in a new window This collection documents the U.S. response to the threat posed by climatic change and global warming. Documents include studies, reports, and analysis of climatic change.

A full list of the US newspaper titles available can be found here.

Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window This collection consists of more than 5,500 American titles (1825 – 1900) from every state except Alaska and Hawaii. 
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window Full text American newspapers spanning the 18th to 20th centuries. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1770-1963
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama This link opens in a new window This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
Early American Newspapers, 1870-1922 This link opens in a new window Access to searchable issues of over 300 local U.S. newspapers, with titles available from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. This collection chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1870-1922
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window 200 years of digitised idigenous print journalsism from the United States and Canada. Content includes English, bi-lingual and Indigenous.-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1828-2016
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window Japanese relocation camp newspapers offering insight into the concerns and day-to-day life of interned Japanese-Americans in the U.S. during World War II. Papers are predominantly written in English or duel English & Japanese languages.
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window Archive of over 153 newspapers and periodicals focusing on Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Mainly U.S. content as well as a significant number of UK titles. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1845-2015

See Politics, Security and International relations > USA

See Popular Culture > USA

Roper Center This link opens in a new window Access to the world’s premier public opinion archive from the Roper Center, covering the 1930's to date. Analyze evolving public opinion across a wide range of topics and use the datasets to examine methodological or question wording effects.

Archives of the Work Projects Administration and Predecessors (1933-1943): Final Reports of the State Program (1943) This link opens in a new window The Final State Reports were produced by the State Administration to record the achievements of the specific state projects and to provide recommendations and cautionary tales for any future organization faced with similar problems. The reports summarize the full range of activities that took place in each state, the problems faced, administrative, financial and organizational aspects of the state projects, and factual data on persons employed, and results achieved.
Archives of the Work Projects Administration and Predecessors (1933-1943): Final State Reports: Federal Music, Art, Theatre and Writers Projects, and Museum Extension Project This link opens in a new window The Final State Reports were produced by the State Administration to record the achievements of the specific state projects under the New Deal (1933-1943). This collection focuses on the arts, creative and socially oriented programs.  
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1867-1910) relating to eight cities and regions in California. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Illinois This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1852-1921) relating to fifteen cities and regions in Illinois. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Indiana This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1857-1922) relating to thirteen cities and regions in Indiana. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Michigan This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1854-1973) relating to three cities and regions in Michigan. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1804-1966) relating to 28 cities, regions and counties in New York. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Ohio This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1852-1920) relating to 21 cities and regions in Ohio. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1839-1971) relating to fifteen cities and regions in Pennsylvania. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Wisconsin This link opens in a new window Collection of documents (1857-1909) relating to twelve cities, regions and counties in Wisconsin. The collection includes tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and early town and city plans.
Kansas History: Territorial through Civil War, 1854-1865 This link opens in a new window Personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books related to Kansas History.
Roper Center This link opens in a new window Access to the world’s premier public opinion archive from the Roper Center, covering the 1930's to date. Analyze evolving public opinion across a wide range of topics and use the datasets to examine methodological or question wording effects.
War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity: Administration of Antipoverty Programs and Civil Rights, 1964-1967 This link opens in a new window Contains a series of Office of Economic Opportunity collections that highlight efforts to meld the issue of civil rights and antipoverty initiatives. Includes correspondence, reports, guidelines, antipoverty program analyses, minutes of meetings, transcripts of testimonies, and other material.
War on Poverty Community Profiles: Midwestern States This link opens in a new window Includes Community Profiles from 1960-1968 giving an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an inventory of historical data at a local level. Covers Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
War on Poverty Community Profiles: Northeastern States This link opens in a new window Includes Community Profiles from 1960-1968 giving an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an inventory of historical data at a local level. Covers Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
War on Poverty Community Profiles: Southern States This link opens in a new window Includes Community Profiles from 1960-1968 giving an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an inventory of historical data at a local level. Covers Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
War on Poverty Community Profiles: Texas This link opens in a new window Includes Community Profiles from 1960-1968 giving an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an inventory of historical data at a local level. Covers Texas and details general poverty indicators, size and composition of the poor population, and selected aspects of geography, demography, economy, and social resources.
War on Poverty Community Profiles: Western States This link opens in a new window Includes Community Profiles from 1960-1968 giving an in-depth analysis of poverty in America with an inventory of historical data at a local level. Covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

See Religion and Philosophy

Administrative Histories of U.S. Civilian Agencies: Korean War This link opens in a new window This collection consists of 178 titles from 21 agencies involved in administering the mobilization and managing the economy during the Korean War (1950 – 1953), established under the Federal Defense History Program. 
America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War organizations--Vietnam Veterans Against the War This link opens in a new window FBI reports, newsletters and position papers dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) from 1967-1975. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
America in World War Two : Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new window Uncover the stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War through their oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records.
Civil War Era This link opens in a new window Almost 2000 U.S. pamphlets and 8 U.S. newspapers from 1840-1865 covering a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1840-1865
Civil War in Words and Deeds, The This link opens in a new window First-person accounts from officers and soldiers in the American Civil War, chronicling the highs and lows of army life, from 1861 to 1865.
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals This link opens in a new window Reports of service from various Union generals serving in the American Civil War, covering the period 1864-1887. The reports include sketches of activities associated with battles and other engagements, dates of service and tours of duty, details of personal staff officers, and numerous accounts of battles. A few reports include newspaper clippings, maps, or pamphlets, and some express personal feelings about the war and slavery.
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (1854-1870) This link opens in a new window Consists of Confederate Military Manuscripts sourced from the holdings of various U.S. archives. Collections cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience. Also includes unpublished collections of records of the Union Army.
Introduction to U.S. History: The American Revolution This link opens in a new window This collection documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783.
Introduction to U.S. History: The Civil War This link opens in a new window This collection documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window Japanese relocation camp newspapers offering insight into the concerns and day-to-day life of interned Japanese-Americans in the U.S. during World War II. Papers are predominantly written in English or duel English & Japanese languages.
Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946 This link opens in a new window Documents the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps established to incarcerate Japanese Americans from 1942-1946. The collection is organised by relocation centre. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library This link opens in a new window Records relating to the U.S. internment and relocation of thousands of Japanese Americans, and Italian and German Americans, during the Second World War as a result of Roosevelt’s 1942 Executive Order 9066.
Military and Government: Hein Online This link opens in a new window HeinOnline’s Military and Government allows users to research the functions of the US federal government in administering the armed forces, as well as the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield—from women’s changing role in the military to the development of new weaponry to navigating benefits offered by the Department of Veterans Affairs after service. With funding to the Department of Defense making up the largest portion of the U.S. federal budget, users can also find publications devoted to debating and accounting for appropriations and other funds spent. Includes book and article commentary in addition to official publications.
Minutemen, 1961-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I, The This link opens in a new window FBI archive on the right-wing militia movement, the Minutemen, who were established to fight Communists in the anticipated counter-revolution in the 1960’s.
Papers of Henry Lewis Stimson 1861-1966 This link opens in a new window Correspondence, letter books, speeches, articles, letters to the editor, statements prepared for presentation to Congress and substantial subject files with clippings, printed matter, reports, memoranda and photographs related to Henry Stimson's various public offices.
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981 This link opens in a new window Documents from the Commission's 20 days of hearings and testimonies from more than 750 witnesses between July and December 1981, in cities across the U.S. The Commission investigated the internment, exclusion and removal program in the U.S. started in 1942 upon entering the Second World War. Also includes publications, reports, press releases, photographs and newspaper clippings.
Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877) This link opens in a new window Covers the early Reconstruction period in the American South. Includes correspondence from the U.S. Army's Office of Civil Affairs and also includes letters, petitions, court proceedings and internal documents related to elections, some covering the newly won rights for African Americans voters. Also includes the records of the Freedmen's Hospital and the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company.
Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society This link opens in a new window Contains 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, focusing on the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, and the Early National Period, with some collections extending into the Civil War era. Includes the Pre-Revolutionary Diaries, 1635-1774, which consists of 276 diaries written by 112 people. The collections span a huge date range from 1419-1973 and include a range of papers from families and individual figures.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500 - 1926 This link opens in a new window Archive of sources used to create Sabin's bibliography on American history and culture. It covers North American political and religious life, the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, early Republic/Jacksonian/antebellum periods, Civil War/post Civil War, the settlement of the West and later eras. This archive includes published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and more.
U.S. Army Center of Military History Historical Manuscripts Collection: The Korean War This link opens in a new window Collection of documents from the Military History Section of the Far East Command, relating to U.S. participation in the war, plus U.S. relations with Korea immediately before and after. Hundreds of documents created on the scene or shortly thereafter are included, such as after-action interviews and reports, orders, narratives, analyses, charts, maps, and photographs.

Canada

Bray Schools in Canada, America and the Bahamas, 1645-1900 This link opens in a new window Archives of the Associates of Dr Bray, a philanthropic group whose aims were to provide education for black people and Native Americans in North America.
Canada in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1722-1952 This link opens in a new window Records, letters, charters and reports from the Canadian branch of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG), an Anglican missionary organisation.
Norman Bethune Papers This link opens in a new window Covering 1911-2000, these papers by and about Dr. Norman Bethune detail his life and impact. Celebrated in China particularly, he was a Canadian surgeon and dedicated Communist, helping the Loyalists in the Spanish Civil War and later the Red Army in China. Includes correspondence, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, pamphlets, and other research materials.
Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets from McMaster University, 1818-1929 This link opens in a new window Contains pamphlets on aspects of Canadian history, literature, social and political conditions. Approximately 250 pamphlets date from before 1867. Several of the pamphlets are in the French language.

Latin America & the Caribbean

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window Contains academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles, commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video covering the region. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level. Much coverage is C19 and C20 but some content is earlier including back to the C15. Includes selected U.S. press coverage of Latin American and Caribbean affairs 1800-1899.
Coleccin Revolucin, 1910-1921 This link opens in a new window Spanish language documents relating to the Mexican Revolution from various archives. This collection includes the revolutionary activities of the Flores Magon brothers, correspondence, military activities and reports on the political situation in some states, land deals, reports of troops and mail operations, circulars, laws, decrees, and manifestos, sessions and meetings of the Supreme Revolutionary Convention held from 1914 to 1915.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969 This link opens in a new window Contains U.S. State Department Central Files, which provide American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments. Resources include reports, interviews, minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, letters, instructions, cables sent and received, as well as reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers. Countries covered are: Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany); Germany (focusing on Berlin); Soviet Union; Cuba; Mexico; Panama; and Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru.
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925 This link opens in a new window Documents relating to the Mexican Revolution of 1910-20. This collection contains transcripts, journals, draft documents, combat reports and correspondence addressed to General Emiliano Zapata, a leading figure in the Mexican Revolution. Topics include promotion and appointment requests, allegations of abuses committed by military personnel, applications for resources, transfer of prisoners, and papers relating to the signing of the Plan de Ayala.
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919 This link opens in a new window Documentation, mainly correspondence, related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata, a leading figure in the Mexican Revolution (1910–1920), and the Liberation Army of the South.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window Documents concerning the foreign relations between Central American and South American countries in the period 1930-1944. The collection focuses on various events, people and political movements, and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence and reports.
Foreign Relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window Documents concerning American foreign relations between the U.S. and Central and South American countries, during a period when these relations changed dramatically (1930-1944). This collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues between the U.S. and Latin America and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence and reports.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin American countries in Central and South America. Newspapers contain content in Spanish, English, Portuguese and French. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1800-1922
Mexico in History This link opens in a new window Mexico in History explores the evolution of Mexico from c.1500 to 1929, from Spanish colonisation and the formation of New Spain through the Mexican War of Independence to the Mexican Revolution. The predominantly Spanish-language material is a combination of print, manuscript and photographic collections sourced from The Bancroft Library at the University of California Berkeley.
Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933 This link opens in a new window Records from the U.S. State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of Nicaragua, during U.S. occupation. The records include internal documentation, correspondence with other federal departments and agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations; telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.
Nicaragua: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window The documents in this archive trace developments primarily during the administration of President John F. Kennedy, with a focus on commerce between Nicaragua and the U.S. Also included are documents relating to social welfare,
Panama: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents in this collection are taken from the U.S. National Archives and trace U.S. - Panamanian relations during the Truman, Eisenhower, and Kennedy administrations. Includes coverage of political and economic topics, including shipping and the Panama Canal.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Costa Rica, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Panama, 1950-1959 This link opens in a new window The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential "Banana Republic" This link opens in a new window Covering 1910-1930, this collection covers the fruit trade with Honduras as well as coverage of Honduran political and financial affairs in relation to the US.
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window Covering 1910-1924, this collection comprises U.S. State Department documents related to the Mexican Revolution.
SUR, 1931-1992 This link opens in a new window Complete archives of the Latin American literary magazine SUR. Also includes manuscripts from the first issue and an unpublished set of letters by the founder Victoria Ocampo. Spanish language, with searching available in Spanish or English.

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window Contains academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles, commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video covering the region. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level. Much coverage is C19 and C20 but some content is earlier including back to the C15. Includes selected U.S. press coverage of Latin American and Caribbean affairs 1800-1899.
Argentina: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window This archive of reports and official documents from the U.S. government focuses on Argentina after the era of Juan Perón, and offers insight into various aspects of the Argentine economy.
Bolivia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents from the U.S. government, in the years 1960 to 1963, relating to Bolivia and in particular the rise of the Nationalist Revolutionary Movement (MNR) under President Victor Paz Estenssoro.
Brazil: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents from the U.S. government, in the years 1960 to 1963, relating to Brazil. The collection covers the period following the resignation from the presidency of Janio Quadros in 1961 and the succession of Vice President Joao Goulart, whose years in office were marked by high inflation, economic stagnation, and the increasing influence of radical political elements.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window Pamphlets and monographs documenting Latin American history and Latin American literature, from 1500 to 1930, from the Oliveira Lima library.
Chile: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1963 This link opens in a new window Records from the U.S. government archive relating to Chile, ranging from the era of the Great Depression to the height of the Cold War.
Colombia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents from the U.S. government relating to Colombia, at the height of the Cold War.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969 This link opens in a new window Contains U.S. State Department Central Files, which provide American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments. Resources include reports, interviews, minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, letters, instructions, cables sent and received, as well as reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers. Countries covered are: Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany); Germany (focusing on Berlin); Soviet Union; Cuba; Mexico; Panama; and Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru.
Ecuador: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents from the U.S. government relating to Ecuador, tracing developments primarily during the administration of John F. Kennedy.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window Documents concerning the foreign relations between Central American and South American countries in the period 1930-1944. The collection focuses on various events, people and political movements, and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence and reports.
Foreign Relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window Documents concerning American foreign relations between the U.S. and Central and South American countries, during a period when these relations changed dramatically (1930-1944). This collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues between the U.S. and Latin America and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence and reports.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin American countries in Central and South America. Newspapers contain content in Spanish, English, Portuguese and French. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1800-1922
Peru: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents from the U.S. National Archives covering U.S. - Peruvian relations during the Cold War. Notes on economic, industrial and social affairs are included, mostly in English, with a small number in Spanish.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Chile, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Colombia, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Ecuador, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window The documents found in these files are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Paraguay; 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window These document are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Peru, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window These document are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Uruguay, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window These documents are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials and are often accompanied by enclosures. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Venezuela, 1945-1959 This link opens in a new window These foreign affairs records are predominantly instructions to – and despatches from – diplomatic and consular officials,  for the early Cold War period. Notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomats in the United States, memoranda prepared by State Department officials, and correspondence with officials of other government departments, as well as with private businesses and persons, are also included.
South American Missionaries' Records, 1844-1919 This link opens in a new window Archives of the South American Missionary Society, originally called the Patagonian Mission. Includes minute books, reports from the mission field, articles and photographs on the geography, anthropology, natural history and economic development for the society's magazine, launched in 1867, as well as the journals of its Anglican founder, Captain Allen Gardiner, and two others of its missionaries, Edward Bernau and Adolfo Henriksen.
SUR, 1931-1992 This link opens in a new window Complete archives of the Latin American literary magazine SUR. Also includes manuscripts from the first issue and an unpublished set of letters by the founder Victoria Ocampo. Spanish language, with searching available in Spanish or English.

Caribbean Newspapers This link opens in a new window Over 140 searchable historical newspapers from 22 Caribbean islands. Offers insight into nearly two centuries of colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery and more. English, Spanish, French and Danish language titles are available. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1718-1876
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Crisis in the Dominican Republic: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Files, February 1963-1966 This link opens in a new window This collection includes U.S and Dominican Republic governmental dispatches, instructions and correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueo This link opens in a new window FBI file, including surveillance and informant reports and correspondence, on the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueo (1941-1982), the largest of the Puerto Rican independence parties.
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 This link opens in a new window Mostly Spanish-language documents relating to Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. The collection spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime (1898-1958), and contains memoirs, essays, journals, speeches, radio broadcasts and literary works.
Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 This link opens in a new window Mostly Spanish-language documents relating to Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. The collection spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime (1898-1958), and contains memoirs, essays, journals, speeches, radio broadcasts and literary works.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window Documents concerning the foreign relations between Central American and South American countries in the period 1930-1944. The collection focuses on various events, people and political movements, and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence and reports.
Foreign Relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window Documents concerning American foreign relations between the U.S. and Central and South American countries, during a period when these relations changed dramatically (1930-1944). This collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues between the U.S. and Latin America and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence and reports.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin American countries in Central and South America. Newspapers contain content in Spanish, English, Portuguese and French. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1800-1922
Mafia in Florida and Cuba: FBI Surveillance of Meyer Lansky and Santo Trafficante, Jr. This link opens in a new window Comprises materials on Santo Trafficante, Jr., Meyer Lansky, and Lucky Luciano, including FBI surveillance, informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices and a wealth of other material from 1946-1977.
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project This link opens in a new window This collection contains magazines, newsletters and ephemeral publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project (WRAP). The period covered is the early 1970s to 2014 and covers a transitional period, where the movement has spread across the Afro-Atlantic world and has become more globalized.
Slavery in Jamaica, Records from a Family of slave owners, 1686-1860 This link opens in a new window Records of the Goulburn family’s Jamaican plantations from the 17th to 19th century. The archive provides a comprehensive overview of the operation and eventual abolition of the slave trade in the West Indies.
U.S. and Castro's Cuba, 1950s-1970s: The Paterson Collection This link opens in a new window Declassified records from the U.S. covering the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship between the United States and Cuba in the era of Fidel Castro. The collection was originally built by historian Thomas G. Paterson.
West Indies in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1704-1950 This link opens in a new window Papers from the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel: their missionary work contrasted with the same Society owning slaves in the West Indies. The collection covers both sides of the Society's legacy as it moved from owning slaves to educating the emancipated. Contains reports and correspondence from across the region.
World Communism: Pamphlets from McMaster University This link opens in a new window Contains un-catalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle. The pamphlets are global in scope, although mostly in English and cover 1901-1969. The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window Contains academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles, commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video covering the region. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level. Much coverage is C19 and C20 but some content is earlier including back to the C15. Includes selected U.S. press coverage of Latin American and Caribbean affairs 1800-1899.