LibGuides: Primary Sources: War

War

American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1763-1783 This link opens in a new window Contains pamphlets authored on both sides of the Atlantic in the eighteenth century. The material covers a wide range of subject matter, shedding light on colonial governance, taxation, religion, and the debate over territory. Pamphlets discuss key events, such as the Boston Massacre of 1770, the 1773 Tea Act, and the 1775 Stamp Act.
British Army Lists of Officers, 1740-1784 This link opens in a new window These lists reveal where the British army regiments fought from the Seven Years War to the American Revolution. These soldiers' tours of duty include America, Antigua and Ireland, among other countries. The classes of soldier listed include officers, chaplains, adjutants, quartermasters, and surgeons. These Army lists are copies of the originals held at the Royal Artillery Institution in London.
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Departments Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 This link opens in a new window Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs covering 1945-1955. Covers domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period.
Colonial Law in Africa 1808-1919 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the first part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. This resource covers the Napoleonic Wars, the Boer War and the First World War. It also covers the abolition of the legal status of slavery. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Cyprus Crisis in 1967 This link opens in a new window Created by the U.S. State Department's Executive Secretariat, these records were collected and collated from a variety of U.S. State Department sources and represent an administrative history of the crisis from the perspective of the U.S. government and its foreign policy.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 This link opens in a new window The collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by the United States and Russia.
Global War on Terrorism This link opens in a new window Contains research studies from U.S. government agencies and private organisations from 2001-2009, analysing the goals and strategies of global terrorism. Specific terrorist events are examined, including coverage of the psychology of terrorism, origins and development of terrorist movements, and counterterrorist measures.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Includes primary and secondary materials and can be searched as a whole or browsed by theme and event.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966 This link opens in a new window U.S. State Department files on India and Pakistan and their political relationship with one another.
Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920 This link opens in a new window Collection of documents from the British Library, covering skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan. Includes a variety of military records from the period from the British and Indian Armies.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window Archive of the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR), an international organisation focusing on the issue of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe. Contents date from 1938-1947.
Middle East Online Series I: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970, The This link opens in a new window Original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Middle East Online series II: Iraq, 1914-1974, The This link opens in a new window Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
Military and Government: Hein Online This link opens in a new window HeinOnline’s Military and Government allows users to research the functions of the US federal government in administering the armed forces, as well as the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield—from women’s changing role in the military to the development of new weaponry to navigating benefits offered by the Department of Veterans Affairs after service. With funding to the Department of Defense making up the largest portion of the U.S. federal budget, users can also find publications devoted to debating and accounting for appropriations and other funds spent. Includes book and article commentary in addition to official publications.
Military Tactics and the Rise of Modern Warfare, 1881-1935 This link opens in a new window Contains the personal papers of Professor Henry Spensor Wilkinson (1853-1937) and traces the rise of modern warfare tactics through correspondence with some of Britain’s most decorated military figures, including Prime Minister Herbert Asquith, Lord Kitchener, General Ian Hamilton, and Field Marshal William Robertson. Wilkinson discusses military strategy and events in the First World War, the Boer War in South Africa, as well as conflicts in the Balkans.
Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933 This link opens in a new window Records from the U.S. State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of Nicaragua, during U.S. occupation. The records include internal documentation, correspondence with other federal departments and agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations; telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.
Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration This link opens in a new window Contains a complete digital facsimile of the Cabinet Conclusion files of the Northern Ireland Government, filed as CAB/4 at the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland. Offers a full record of every debate and transaction for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland during this period.
Pacifism, Disarmament and International Relations - Archives of the Fellowship of Reconciliation: Minute Books and Committee Papers, 1915-1960 This link opens in a new window Minute books and early papers of the Christian pacifist Fellowship of Reconciliation group. Comprised mainly of non-conformists and Quakers, it was formed in the UK in 1914. This collection documents the formation of the group and gives a detailed record of its role during the First World War including its views on issues as conscription, appeasement and disarmament.
Pacifism, Disarmament and International Relations - Archives of War Resisters' International: Minutes, Reports, and Publications, 1921-1974 This link opens in a new window Contains the archive of War Resisters' International, detailing the development of the World Peace Movement. Includes minutes, pamphlets, bulletins, newsletters, the secretary's report, press releases and the organisation's major journal 'War Resister'.
Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window Records from the U.S. covering political relations between China and Japan for the period 1930 -1939. Includes mainly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials. Also contains other diplomatic notes and memoranda.
Prison Ship Records from the War of 1812 This link opens in a new window Contains records from the British administered prisoner of war ships from this conflict. Records are from the ships and their corresponding ports, ranging from Plymouth to Barbados. Information provided includes the place of birth of prisoners, their health, and the port that their respective prison ships docked at.
Prize Papers Online 3 This link opens in a new window Interrogations of members of the crew of ships taken during the First, Second and Third Anglo-Dutch Wars (ca. 1652-1674) and the War of the Spanish Succession (ca. 1701-1733).
Records of the Persian Gulf War This link opens in a new window This collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990. Materials cover 1990-1991.
Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950 This link opens in a new window Covering the end of the Civil War period in China, this collection contains US Information Service reports on the Chinese press.
Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of political processes through the lens of revolutions, protests, resistance and social movements. Organised around specific events and themes, the collection predominantly consists of government documents, but also contains ephemera and video content. Coverage is global and mainly C20, though there are also some older events covered.
Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society This link opens in a new window Contains 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, focusing on the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, and the Early National Period, with some collections extending into the Civil War era. Includes the Pre-Revolutionary Diaries, 1635-1774, which consists of 276 diaries written by 112 people. The collections span a huge date range from 1419-1973 and include a range of papers from families and individual figures.
Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential "Banana Republic" This link opens in a new window Covering 1910-1930, this collection covers the fruit trade with Honduras as well as coverage of Honduran political and financial affairs in relation to the US.
Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 This link opens in a new window Includes letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20.
Security Issues Online This link opens in a new window Security Issues Online covers conflicts, policies and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. Organized around 40+ events and areas, including themes of terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats.
U.S. Army Center of Military History Historical Manuscripts Collection: The Korean War This link opens in a new window Collection of documents from the Military History Section of the Far East Command, relating to U.S. participation in the war, plus U.S. relations with Korea immediately before and after. Hundreds of documents created on the scene or shortly thereafter are included, such as after-action interviews and reports, orders, narratives, analyses, charts, maps, and photographs.
United States and the Russian Civil War: The Betty Miller Unterberger Collection of Documents This link opens in a new window Date Range 1917-1923.  Manuscripts pulled from repositories around the world relating to United States diplomatic history, Russian history, military history (especially World War I), and European history. Compiled by historian Betty Miller Unterberger, professor of American diplomacy and international history at Texas A&M University and former president of the Society for the History of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR).
War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas This link opens in a new window During the war between the U.S. and the Great Britain in 1812, the U.S. Department of State issued letters of marque and reprisal to private armed vessels permitting them to cruise against enemies. This collection covers the documentation used by applicants and the State Department. Also includes documentation on enemy aliens, passports and secret agent activity.
Weapons of Mass Destruction and Nonproliferation This link opens in a new window This collection assembles research studies that analyse the weapons, efforts to control, and proliferation. Includes theses, reports, and analyses conducted by governmental agencies, and private organisations under contract with the Federal government in the U.S. covering 2003-2009.

Civil War Era This link opens in a new window Almost 2000 U.S. pamphlets and 8 U.S. newspapers from 1840-1865 covering a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1840-1865
Civil War in Words and Deeds, The This link opens in a new window First-person accounts from officers and soldiers in the American Civil War, chronicling the highs and lows of army life, from 1861 to 1865.
Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals This link opens in a new window Reports of service from various Union generals serving in the American Civil War, covering the period 1864-1887. The reports include sketches of activities associated with battles and other engagements, dates of service and tours of duty, details of personal staff officers, and numerous accounts of battles. A few reports include newspaper clippings, maps, or pamphlets, and some express personal feelings about the war and slavery.
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army (1854-1870) This link opens in a new window Consists of Confederate Military Manuscripts sourced from the holdings of various U.S. archives. Collections cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience. Also includes unpublished collections of records of the Union Army.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama This link opens in a new window This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
Introduction to U.S. History: The American Revolution This link opens in a new window This collection documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783.
Introduction to U.S. History: The Civil War This link opens in a new window This collection documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom.
Kansas History: Territorial through Civil War, 1854-1865 This link opens in a new window Personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books related to Kansas History.
Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877) This link opens in a new window Covers the early Reconstruction period in the American South. Includes correspondence from the U.S. Army's Office of Civil Affairs and also includes letters, petitions, court proceedings and internal documents related to elections, some covering the newly won rights for African Americans voters. Also includes the records of the Freedmen's Hospital and the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company.

American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window This collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, and contains correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps.
American Occupation in Germany, 1918-1923 This link opens in a new window Two sets of reports that give a complete account of the American military government in occupied Germany during the five years following World War I. Prepared by Headquarters, American Forces in Germany.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Army Quarterly and Defence Journal (1920-1983) This link opens in a new window British defence journal.
British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918 This link opens in a new window Telegrams, correspondence, minutes, memoranda and confidential prints relating to the Mesopotamian military campaign, 1914-1918.
Churchill Archive: a window on history This link opens in a new window Full text documents amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his lifetime, providing insights into his career and the wider social and political history of the time. Complementary commentary and pedagogical materials are also included.
Conscientious Objection During World War 1 This link opens in a new window Includes complete files of key anti-war publications and rare reports from the Conscientious Objector Information Bureau. Internal papers include minutes from the Union of Democratic Control and letters from the No-Conscription Fellowship. Local branches are also covered. The Conscientious Objector, Thomas Henry Ellison's scrapbook covering both his experiences is also included.
First World War This link opens in a new window Comprehensive archive of primary and secondary source material relating to the First World War, containing the following collections: Personal experience, propaganda & recruitment, and visual perspectives & narratives.
German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 This link opens in a new window German-language anti-Semitic books and pamphlets covering history, pseudo-history, and fiction mainly produced by Nazi groups. The collection also includes propaganda writings on Jehovah's Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons.
Great War Theatre This link opens in a new window Explore the history of theatre during the First World War. Discover long-forgotten plays and download playscripts using this freely available database.
Illustrated War News, 1914-1918 & 1939 This link opens in a new window This newspaper was an offshoot of the Illustrated London News, first published weekly in 1914. Coverage was very patriotic, focusing on the armed forces and national defence and included reports on air, land and sea fronts in key theatres of war. Includes many full page (often graphic) illustrations and photos. Also includes the work of many well-known war artists.
Life on the Front Line: Diaries, News, and Letters from the First World War, 1914-1919 This link opens in a new window Contains an assortment of letters, news bulletins and journals from British soldiers and military men during the First World War. The files cover the battles of the Somme and Ypres, as well as the battles of Loos, Arras, Vimy Ridge, and Bethune. The volumes are divided into military rank from Privates to General-Brigadiers. Prisoner of war diaries are included as are the diaries of two French civilians living near the front line.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover how war shaped medical practice across the centuries. Date range: 1850 to 1949
Military Leaders of World War I: Official and Private Papers of Generaloberst Hans von Seeckt This link opens in a new window Letters and other papers of Generaloberst Hans von Seeckt, prominent German military strategist of World War I, military head of the Reichswehr and "father" of the army of the German Republic.
Military Tactics and the Rise of Modern Warfare, 1881-1935 This link opens in a new window Contains the personal papers of Professor Henry Spensor Wilkinson (1853-1937) and traces the rise of modern warfare tactics through correspondence with some of Britain’s most decorated military figures, including Prime Minister Herbert Asquith, Lord Kitchener, General Ian Hamilton, and Field Marshal William Robertson. Wilkinson discusses military strategy and events in the First World War, the Boer War in South Africa, as well as conflicts in the Balkans.
Thou Shalt Not Kill: Missionaries in Asia during the World Wars, 1914-1946 This link opens in a new window Contains first hand accounts by missionaries attached to The Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) both during peacetime and during the World Wars. Centres mainly on SPG missionaries' experience of Japanese expansionism during the Second World War including punishments they endured. Includes accounts from Japan, Burma (Myanmar), China, Singapore, and Malaysia.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War This link opens in a new window Digital archive of rare magazine by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War.
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918 This link opens in a new window Documents covering the First World War from the Imperial War Museum. Includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations.
World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence (1914-1920) This link opens in a new window Contains the working papers of the British Foreign Office used in the development of British foreign policy, including dispatches, reports and telegrams. The information contained in these documents was often classified and was not made available for study outside of the British government until many years later. Information contained includes the domestic, political, economic, social, and cultural relations of the other countries plus their relations with other nations, as well as British internal political concerns.
World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927) This link opens in a new window Contains American Expeditionary Forces correspondence, cablegrams, operations reports, statistical strength reports and summaries of intelligence detailing troop movements and operations of Allied and enemy forces, mainly covering 1917-1919. Also includes Select Reports of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace and Reparations Papers of the Allied Powers Reparations Commission, Records of the Conference on Limitation of Armament, 1921-1922, and State Department Collection of Intelligence, 1915-1927: Records of the Office of the Counselor, Undersecretary of State, and the Chief Special Agent.
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918 This link opens in a new window This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. Contains correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government, drawn from the UK National Archives.

Administrative Histories of U.S. Civilian Agencies: World War II This link opens in a new window The histories produced by the Committee on Records of War Administration document the measures taken by civilian agencies during World War Two (1939 – 1945).
Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive This link opens in a new window Complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) from 1941 to 1946. The collection includes the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee "Breaking the German Will to Resist.", correspondence, agents’ mission files, and all of the airborne propaganda leaflets dropped over mainland Europe during the war by the British and American air forces.
America in World War Two : Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new window Uncover the stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War through their oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window This collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, and contains correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps.
Atheism and Anti-War Sentiments in the Bradlaugh Family, 1833-1948 This link opens in a new window Full text papers (1833-1948) of Bradlaugh's parliamentary activities and personal life. Documents include his involvement with and views on : secularism & the National Secular Society, the National Reformer publication, Indian Home Rule, birth control, the Fenian Manifesto and Boer War protests. Some of his daughter's papers are also included (Hypatia Bradlaugh Bonner).
British Union of Fascists: newspapers and secret files, 1933-1951 This link opens in a new window These papers cover the growth of the British Union of Fascists and the impact of World War 2 upon them. The documents include both their official publications and the imprisonment of their leader Oswald Mosley. The pre-war fascist newspapers include Fascist week, The Blackshirt and The East London Pioneer. Action was published from February 1936 until June 1940, by which point a growing number of the BUF were interned. Sir Oswald and Lady Diane Mosley’s imprisonment caused much debate. These papers include government records of why they were arrested and Oswald Mosley’s time in prison. Other items include official intelligence reports upon both Mosleys.
Building a New Germany: de-Nazification and political re-education 1944-1948 This link opens in a new window Explore Britain’s efforts to eliminate Nazism and foster democracy among the German people in the wake of the Second World War through Foreign Office documents.
Censorship: policy and practice during the Second World War This link opens in a new window This collection is drawn from Ministry of Defence files and records the work of censorship teams to implement and co-ordinate censorship activity. 
Churchill Archive: a window on history This link opens in a new window Full text documents amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his lifetime, providing insights into his career and the wider social and political history of the time. Complementary commentary and pedagogical materials are also included.
Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 This link opens in a new window Intelligence reports received by the British Foreign Office following the breakdown of normal diplomatic relations during World War II. The collection includes detailed information from the German occupied states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and the Vatican, and the neutral countries Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons This link opens in a new window Items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and other objects, such as Star of David badges.
Current Digest of the Russian Press (DA-CDRP) This link opens in a new window English translations of selected Russian-language newspaper content from the most authoritative Soviet and Russian newspapers, since 1949.
Diary of the Operations Division, War Department General Staff (1942-1946) This link opens in a new window This official division diary comprises summaries of information received from commanding generals and sent by the OPD daily between 29 March 1942 and 31 May 1946.
Economy and War in the Third Reich This link opens in a new window Official statistical source with detailed data on the German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II (1933-1944).
Essays by German Officers and Officials (1939-1945) This link opens in a new window This publication is a combination of essays written after the war and during the war, including transcripts of speeches, personal accounts of wartime experiences, and research and development reports.
FBI File: America First Committee This link opens in a new window FBI documents on the America First Committee (AFC), a group against America's entry into World War II. This file, which covers the group's activity from 1937 to 1941, contains newspaper accounts, America First literature, speeches, letters, reports, and press releases. The group was investigated for possible communist infiltration.
Final Accountability Rosters of Evacuees at Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946 This link opens in a new window Alphabetical lists of American persons of Japanese descent who were interred in relocation centres during World War II. The records contain personal details about the 'evacuees' in the various camps, as well as data on admissions and departures.
German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 This link opens in a new window German-language anti-Semitic books and pamphlets covering history, pseudo-history, and fiction mainly produced by Nazi groups. The collection also includes propaganda writings on Jehovah's Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons.
Great Patriotic War of the Soviet Union (1941-1945) This link opens in a new window The complete official Soviet history of World War II, a monumental work of over 9,000 pages. Originally published as Istoriia Velikoi Otechestvennoi Voiny Sovetskogo Soiuza (История Великой Отечественной войны Советского Союза) 1941-1945, published in Moscow in 1960 in six volumes by the USSR Ministry of Defense. This work was translated by the U.S. Army Center of Military History and the Foreign Technology Division, Air Force Systems Command.
Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes This link opens in a new window Documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp officials and staff. The collection includes correspondence; trial records and transcripts; interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets.
Home Intelligence Reports (1940-1944) This link opens in a new window Between 1940 and 1944, the Ministry of Information in Britain carried out regular and detailed investigations into opinions, morale and feelings of the British people on the home front. The subjects covered include reactions to the presentation of the war by politicians, the press and the British Broadcasting Corporation and opinions about evacuation, housing, rationing and strikes.
Illustrated War News, 1914-1918 & 1939 This link opens in a new window This newspaper was an offshoot of the Illustrated London News, first published weekly in 1914. Coverage was very patriotic, focusing on the armed forces and national defence and included reports on air, land and sea fronts in key theatres of war. Includes many full page (often graphic) illustrations and photos. Also includes the work of many well-known war artists.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers (early 16th century) and photographs and newspapers right up to the end of the 20th century.
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window Archive of the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR), an international organisation focusing on the issue of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe. Contents date from 1938-1947.
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1940-1944 This link opens in a new window This archive traces the outbreak of the U.S. war with Japan in December 1941 through 1944.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files This link opens in a new window U.S documents on the internal affairs of Japan, including Japan's economy, politics, industry and society, from before and during the second world war, and it's subsequent occupation by the allied forces.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window Japanese relocation camp newspapers offering insight into the concerns and day-to-day life of interned Japanese-Americans in the U.S. during World War II. Papers are predominantly written in English or duel English & Japanese languages.
Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946 This link opens in a new window Documents the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps established to incarcerate Japanese Americans from 1942-1946. The collection is organised by relocation centre. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library This link opens in a new window Records relating to the U.S. internment and relocation of thousands of Japanese Americans, and Italian and German Americans, during the Second World War as a result of Roosevelt’s 1942 Executive Order 9066.
Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center This link opens in a new window Comprises documents (mainly in German) from a wide variety of sources seized from Germany after the Second World War, including records from the Gestapo, local police and government offices, Reich ministries, businesses, etc., pertaining to Jewish communities. Covers 1891-1945, but predominantly 1933-1943.
Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection This link opens in a new window Original documents collected by the Jewish Communist and WW2 underground resistance member David Diaman dealing with Jewish, Polish and Communist groups in the French underground resistance. Mainly French language with some Yiddish language documents.
Life under Nazi Rule: Reports by Anti-Fascists in Occupied Europe, 1933-1945 This link opens in a new window Contains two newsletters published by the Internationale Transportarbeiter-Föderation/International Transport Workers' Federation, a pan-European trade union, between 1933 and 1945. Published in several languages, Germany Under the Swastika (Hakenkreuz über Deutschland) and Fascism (Faschismus) originally intended to document the deeds and misdeeds of the Nazi regime in Germany; their scope expanded during the Second World War to include reports about occupied Europe.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover how war shaped medical practice across the centuries. Date range: 1850 to 1949
Military Intelligence Files: Land, Sea & Air, 1938-1974 This link opens in a new window Mostly contains weekly, monthly, and quarterly intelligence summaries produced by the Army, Royal Navy, and Royal Air Force. In addition, two volumes include records from the British Commanders’-in-Chief Mission to the Soviet Forces in Germany (BRIXMIS). Materials are taken from the National Archives.
Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949" This link opens in a new window An archive of U.S investigations into German banks and financial institutions, the financing of the German war effort, and Nazi financiers. Documents include memorandums, letters, cables, reports, exhibits, newspaper clippings, interrogation reports and transcripts, exhibits, and questionnaires.
Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process (1942-1998) This link opens in a new window Covers the efforts to restore looted art during and after the Second World War including papers from fine arts and legal advisors. Also includes records of the Tripartate Commission for the Restitution of Monetary Gold and details on the U.S. led Safehaven Program. Includes claims from victims and negotiations and litigation for return of items to legitimate owners.
Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank This link opens in a new window Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), was the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945. The journal covers all aspects of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Krakw).
New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies (1933-1945) This link opens in a new window Office files from President Roosevelt covering the domestic and foreign concerns of the U.S. President and his administration. Topics covered in the files are the Great Depression, the New Deal, America's involvement in World War II, the internal workings of the Roosevelt administration, and Roosevelt's personal leadership style. Includes other complementary records from the FBI and the Treasury amongst others.
Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality This link opens in a new window This collection consists of index cards listing the name, date and place of birth, occupation and last address of Jews whose German citizenship was revoked in accordance with the "Nuremberg Laws" of 1935, including Jews from Germany, Austria and Czech Bohemia. The cards are generally in alphabetical order. Suffix names "Israel" for men and "Sara" for women were added by law in 1936 to readily identify persons of Jewish descent. Coverage is 1935-1945 and most content is in German.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961 This link opens in a new window U.S. classified reports on Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa. Created during World War II and the early period of the Cold War, these reports were specially commissioned by the OSS and U.S. State Department, and helped shape U.S. foreign policy decisions.
Official Papers of Fleet Admiral Ernest J. King This link opens in a new window Records from 1941-1946. Primarily correspondence and memorandums.
Papers of Neville Chamberlain This link opens in a new window Contains political papers documenting Chamberlain's policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, including his policy of appeasement with Hitler. Coverage is 1869-1940 and documents include journals, diaries, speeches, political papers, articles, correspondence (personal and political) and photographs.
Patriotes aux Armes! (Patriots to Arms!): The Underground Resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy, 1939-1945 This link opens in a new window Newspapers and periodicals, broadsides, leaflets, books and pamphlets and other ephemera produced by or relating to the underground resistance in Belgium, France, Italy, and The Netherlands during the Second World War. French language content mainly as well as some European language content. Digitised page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1939-1945
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981 This link opens in a new window Documents from the Commission's 20 days of hearings and testimonies from more than 750 witnesses between July and December 1981, in cities across the U.S. The Commission investigated the internment, exclusion and removal program in the U.S. started in 1942 upon entering the Second World War. Also includes publications, reports, press releases, photographs and newspaper clippings.
Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 This link opens in a new window Files from the U.S., mainly the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai’s former self-governing International Settlement. The police were tasked with maintaining an orderly environment for Shanghai's foreign trade and commerce. Most records cover 1929-1945 and are organised by topic.
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 This link opens in a new window Covers the politics and administration of the post war refugee crisis in Europe as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. Records are sourced from the UK's National Archives and the Wiener Library in London and contain a vast variety of documents including photographs, correspondence, statistics and other manuscripts.
Prosecuting the Holocaust: British Investigations into Nazi Crimes, 1944-1949 This link opens in a new window Drawn from The National Archives (UK) and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, this includes testimony of and interviews with victims and alleged perpetrators. Evidence covers many aspects of the Holocaust, from the concentration camp system to the mass murder of the “incurably sick” in psychiatric hospitals. Many of the victims of these atrocities testified about their experiences immediately after the war.
Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War. Most items in this collection were printed by the Allies and dropped over German occupied territory. Over 10 languages are represented, with a very small number of leaflets (dropped by the Germans on the Allies) in English.
Records of the Deutsches Ausland-Institut, Stuttgart: Records on Resettlement This link opens in a new window German language Nazi records on resettlement seized from the Axis Powers during and after WWII. Covers the implementation and modification of National Socialist race doctrine and includes negotiations and agreements with the Russians, Romanians and Italians, plus other records covering many other aspects of resettlement in the period 1939-1944.
Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952 This link opens in a new window Records of the multinational Far Eastern Commission, which oversaw the postwar governing and reconstruction of Japan. Contains a variety of material related to the anticipated economic and political reconstruction of Japan.
Records of the Office of the Reich Commissioner for the Strengthening of Germandom This link opens in a new window German language collection from the Reich Commissioner for the Strengthening of Germandom (Reichskommissar fur die Festigung deutschen Volkstums, RKFDV): an office in Nazi Germany responsible for repatriation, and settlement of both German citizens and ethnic Germans who lived abroad, into Nazi Germany and German held territories. Covers 1939-1945.
Reports of the U.S. Military Government for Germany, U.S. Zone, 1945-1953 This link opens in a new window These reports begin with logistical and financial plans for the U.S. occupation and continue through preparations for West German sovereignty in the early 1950s. The monthly reports issued between July 1945 and September 1949 cover the Alied Control Authority for Berlin, cultural and social affairs, de-Nazification, education, religion, and industry.
SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries This link opens in a new window SAFEHAVEN was the code name of a project of the USA's Foreign Economic Administration, aiming to block the flow of German capital across neutral boundaries and to identify and observe all German overseas investments in 1944-45. Records here include reports and letters, cables, and military attach reports.
Science in World War II This link opens in a new window Nine classic works on the efforts of U.S. scientists during World War II. The first eight volumes tell the history of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, while the ninth volume presents a model of relations between the state and science.
Secrecy, Sabotage and Aiding the Resistance: How Anglo-American Cooperation Shaped World War II This link opens in a new window Documents on British SOE and American OSS wartime cooperation arranged by country, then by subject. Areas covered include South East Asia, South and Central America and the Middle East. Includes Cabinet Committee reports, War Office reports and Training Handbooks - the documents are drawn from the National Archives.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window Fully searchable collection of over 300 newspaper titles from European countries and their allies. This worldwide collection reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Content is mainly English but also includes some European and African languages. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1939-1948
Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window Archive of the Wiener Library, containing primary source materials on the Holocaust and anti-Semitic activities of the German Nazi Party from 1889 -1965. Content includes eyewitness accounts, photographs and propaganda materials, bibliographies of major Nazi figures; and Wiener Library publications. 75% of the content is written in German.
Thou Shalt Not Kill: Missionaries in Asia during the World Wars, 1914-1946 This link opens in a new window Contains first hand accounts by missionaries attached to The Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) both during peacetime and during the World Wars. Centres mainly on SPG missionaries' experience of Japanese expansionism during the Second World War including punishments they endured. Includes accounts from Japan, Burma (Myanmar), China, Singapore, and Malaysia.
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 This link opens in a new window Collection covering U.S.-Vatican relations, the Vatican's role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope's personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews. Includes telegrams, dispatches, reports and correspondence.
Voices from Wartime France, 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers This link opens in a new window Drawn from the British Library and including perspectives from both the Vichy government and the resistance movement, this collection covers the French press that reached Britain during the Occupation of 1940-44. French, German and English language content. Digitised full page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1939-1945
War, Peace, and Democracy in America: Committee to Defend America by Aiding the Allies, 1940-1942 This link opens in a new window Contains the publications of the Committee to Defend America by Aiding the Allies: an advocacy organization formed in May 1940 aiming to persuade the public that aiding the Allies was the best way to avoid involvement in the war. Contains over 900 items from 1940-1942.
War, Peace, and Democracy in America: Fight for Freedom, Inc. Records, c.1940-1942 This link opens in a new window Fight for Freedom, Inc., a offshoot of the Committee to Defend America by Aiding the Allies, was a national citizen's organization advocating for full American participation in the Second World War. Includes correspondence, subject files, memoranda, posters, press releases and many more materials.
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps This link opens in a new window Contains the Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor (1918-1965), and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps (1942-1946). Included are reports, records of bureau-sponsored conferences, speeches, articles, studies on the treatment of women by unions, community studies, subject files and correspondence. The WAC correspondence covers recruiting, public support for the WAC, personnel matters like discipline and conduct, and race.
World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files This link opens in a new window Covers the Axis occupation of Greece during the Second World War, the hardships endured by the Greek population, and the ensuing Civil War after liberation. Contains classified files from the U.S. State Department documenting this period.
World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees This link opens in a new window Contains collections providing many different views of World War II. Includes coverage of top level military planning, information on the U.S. home front, and records on the internment of Japanese civilians. Also included are firsthand accounts from the individual soldiers who participated in the D-Day invasion, documentation on the fate of civilians in Europe with a special focus on Jewish refugees and a variety of other small collections.
World War II Naval Histories and Historical Reports: Commander in Chief, U.S. Fleet, Battle Experiences, December 1941–August 1945 This link opens in a new window These secret information bulletins were prepared on a continuous basis during and shortly after World War II, and were issued for officers and commissioned personnel. The locations covered are those in the South and Southwest Pacific. Each bulletin has a detailed table of contents, plus a summary of operations and battle lessons. Included are photos, maps, and chain-of-command charts.
World War II Naval Histories and Historical Reports: Intelligence Division; OPNAV; Combat Narratives This link opens in a new window Designed to provide commissioned naval officers with interim summaries of actions prior to the availability of official histories. Includes charts and photographs drawn from action reports, operation orders, war diaries, and personal interviews. Most reports describe action in the Pacific theater. Also included are North African landings, the Sicilian campaign, and the Salerno landings. Date range 1941-1949.
World War II Naval Histories and Historical Reports: Naval War College, Battle Analysis Series This link opens in a new window Allied and Japanese manuscript sources representing the viewpoints of battle commanders. Included are a variety of battles, including those at the Coral Sea, Midway, the Savo Islands, and Surigao Strait. The Battle of Leyte Gulf is covered in great detail.
World War II Naval Histories and Historical Reports: U.S. Submarine War Patrol Reports and Related Documents, 1941–1945 This link opens in a new window Reference documents on submarine operations and submarines.
World War Two Studies This link opens in a new window Important primary sources, offering insight into many aspects of the conflict, including government policy, the war in the Pacific, and the war in Europe.

CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe This link opens in a new window This collection consists of two major series of records. The CIA Research Reports document U.S. Cold War foreign policy and intelligence towards the Middle East, USSR, Asia, Europe and Latin America. The Records on Communism Collection provides information on war recovery efforts, international aid, the emergence of new Eastern European countries, and the Chinese Communist Party.
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation This link opens in a new window Transcripts of interviews with decision and policy makers in the Cold War. These oral recollections, from the 1950s -1990s, will assist scholars in understanding the motivations for conflict and conciliation.
Communisms and the Cold War, 1944-1986 This link opens in a new window Contains reports and other records compiled by the Communist Party of Great Britain's International Department between 1944 and 1986. The majority of the documents cover the Sino-Soviet split and the Chinese-Indian disputes of the 1960s and 1970s. There are also materials relating to Soviet satellite states in Eastern Europe, the left in Western Europe, and anti-colonial movements in the developing world.
Dean Gooderham Acheson Papers This link opens in a new window Private papers of Dean Gooderham Acheson, the secretary of state who guided American foreign policy from 1948-1953. These papers span the period 1898-1978 and offer a candid view of events during the Cold War.
East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963 This link opens in a new window Documents from the U.S. government relating to East Germany. Documents included in this collection are predominantly instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular personnel regarding political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany.
Establishing the Post-War International Order, 1944-1961 This link opens in a new window Collection of global governance, geopolitics, and international political economy documents from the early Cold War. Sources from the National Archives, United Nations, Marshall Plan, International Monetary, British Board of Trade, Cabinet Office, Foreign Office, Treasury and more are included.
Military Intelligence Files: Land, Sea & Air, 1938-1974 This link opens in a new window Mostly contains weekly, monthly, and quarterly intelligence summaries produced by the Army, Royal Navy, and Royal Air Force. In addition, two volumes include records from the British Commanders’-in-Chief Mission to the Soviet Forces in Germany (BRIXMIS). Materials are taken from the National Archives.
Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961 This link opens in a new window U.S. classified reports on Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa. Created during World War II and the early period of the Cold War, these reports were specially commissioned by the OSS and U.S. State Department, and helped shape U.S. foreign policy decisions.
Origins of the Cold War This link opens in a new window Contains documents drawn from major archival holdings (mainly in the U.S.) detailing Russian - American relations from 1893-1949. Includes large amounts of correspondence, memoranda, notes, reports and minutes. Most material comes from the Foreign Relations of the United States, though a spread of other sources are also included.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Coleccin Revolucin, 1910-1921 This link opens in a new window Spanish language documents relating to the Mexican Revolution from various archives. This collection includes the revolutionary activities of the Flores Magon brothers, correspondence, military activities and reports on the political situation in some states, land deals, reports of troops and mail operations, circulars, laws, decrees, and manifestos, sessions and meetings of the Supreme Revolutionary Convention held from 1914 to 1915.
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925 This link opens in a new window Documents relating to the Mexican Revolution of 1910-20. This collection contains transcripts, journals, draft documents, combat reports and correspondence addressed to General Emiliano Zapata, a leading figure in the Mexican Revolution. Topics include promotion and appointment requests, allegations of abuses committed by military personnel, applications for resources, transfer of prisoners, and papers relating to the signing of the Plan de Ayala.
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919 This link opens in a new window Documentation, mainly correspondence, related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata, a leading figure in the Mexican Revolution (1910–1920), and the Liberation Army of the South.
Mexico in History This link opens in a new window Mexico in History explores the evolution of Mexico from c.1500 to 1929, from Spanish colonisation and the formation of New Spain through the Mexican War of Independence to the Mexican Revolution. The predominantly Spanish-language material is a combination of print, manuscript and photographic collections sourced from The Bancroft Library at the University of California Berkeley.
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window Covering 1910-1924, this collection comprises U.S. State Department documents related to the Mexican Revolution.

British Diplomacy from the Unification of Germany to the Spanish Civil War, 1863-1939 This link opens in a new window Archive relating to Esmé Howard (1863-1939), an influential British diplomat during the early C20. His postings included Berlin, Crete, Budapest, Berne, Stockholm and the United States. Includes personal correspondence with important figures, further correspondence, memorandum, and other diplomatic material, personal diaries, and files on his personal estate.
Debate and Division on the British Left, 1917-1964 This link opens in a new window Contains the personal and political papers of John Thomas (J.T.) Murphy and covering his wife Molly Murphy. Both were prominent members of the Communist Party of Great Britain (CPGB) during its formative years. Covers JT's imprisonment in 1925 and campaign to become an MP to his travels in post-revolutionary Russia and disagreements with the CPGB leadership. Documents detailing Molly's time as a nurse on the frontlines of the Spanish Civil War are also included.
Spanish Civil War Collection This link opens in a new window Rare pamphlets from Germany, Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines (1936-1939), providing insights on the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists at the time of the Spanish Civil War.

America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War organizations--Vietnam Veterans Against the War This link opens in a new window FBI reports, newsletters and position papers dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) from 1967-1975. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs in the Vietnam war, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975 This link opens in a new window Department of State and CIA intelligence cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnams political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labour unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnams military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.
Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973 This link opens in a new window Archive of the Observer, a weekly official newspaper published by the Military Assistance Command Information Division of the U.S. Military. It carried news about and for American troops in Vietnam. Digitised page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1962-1973
South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attaché, 1973-1975 This link opens in a new window The Defense Attaché Office (DAO) Saigon managed American military affairs in Vietnam after the cease-fire. It also reported on operational matters and produced intelligence information. The DAO was evacuated from South Vietnam during the fall of Saigon on April 29, 1975. Included are serial reports, programme memoranda and correspondence, operational and planning historical reports, intelligence summaries, briefing papers, press releases, and documents on the ceasefire.
Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the anti-Vietnam War Movement (1958-1981) This link opens in a new window Contains the records of 12 different U.S. anti-Vietnam War organisations, including Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, AMEX-Canada; Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars; Fifth Avenue Vietnam Peace Parade Committee; Indochina Peace Campaign; National Peace Action Coalition; New Mobilization Committee to End the War in Vietnam; Paris American Committee to Stop the War; Student Peace Union; Teachers Committee for Peace in Vietnam; and Vietnam Moratorium Committee.
U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954 This link opens in a new window Contains the records of U.S. agencies established to intervene in Vietnam before the start of the war. Includes Subject Files from the Office of the Director, U.S. Operations Missions, documenting U.S. economic and technical assistance programmes, as well as the coordination of security activities.
U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1954-1957 - Classified & Subject Files of the Executive Office This link opens in a new window Contains the records of U.S. agencies established to intervene in Vietnam before and at the start of the war. Includes Classified and Subject Files of the Executive Office, documenting U.S. economic and technical assistance programmes, as well as the coordination of security activities.
U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance and Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964 This link opens in a new window Contains manuscripts that cover the activities of the U.S. Military Assistance and Advisory Group, Indochina, (later Vietnam), which aimed to process, monitor, and evaluate American military aid to the French forces fighting in Southeast Asia.
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 This link opens in a new window Covers the events from a variety of perspectives including the U.S. government, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam. Includes the records of the Associated Press's Saigon Bureau, records of the Military Assistance and Advisory Command, Vietnam, General William Westmoreland Papers, and National Security Files from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford administrations.
United States-Vietnam Relations; 1945-1967: Study Prepared by the Department of Defense (The Pentagon Papers) This link opens in a new window 12 volume set prepared by the Department of Defense for the House Committee on the Armed Services recording how the U.S. was drawn into the war and gives accounts of crucial policy meetings and why decisions were made.  Also known as the Hebert edition.