LibGuides: Primary Sources: Colonialism &amp; Empire

Colonialism and Empire

Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914 This link opens in a new window Covers the history of European colonisation across Africa from the late C19 to the early C20, including rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage. Also includes guides to the material and contextual essays. Material is sourced from a variety of European and US archives
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Coverage begins in the 18th century with narratives depicting slavery, moves through and beyond the Harlem Renaissance, and includes writers from the movements of the 1960s, covering womanism, black feminism, and related topics.
Colonial Africa in official statistics, 1821-1953 This link opens in a new window Statistics covering the history of thirteen colonies across Africa. The statistics captured how the British Empire was performing as a business.
Colonial Law in Africa 1808-1919 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the first part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. This resource covers the Napoleonic Wars, the Boer War and the First World War. It also covers the abolition of the legal status of slavery. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Colonial Law in Africa 1920-1945 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for Kenya, Nigeria, Malawi, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Gambia, Ghana and Uganda between 1920-1945. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices.
Colonial Law in Africa 1946-1966 This link opens in a new window Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', these resources contain the colonial laws administered by the British for Kenya, Nigeria, Malawi, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Gambia, Ghana, Uganda, Lesotho and Zimbabwe between 1946-1966. Their contents include tenders of property, probate records and insolvency notices.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window Manuscripts, maps, essays, printed and visual historical sources on colonialism and Empire from the 16th to 20th Centuries.
Empire Studies This link opens in a new window This collection offers a rich array of sources for the study of the British Empire. It features material on British colonial policy and government; perspectives on life in British colonies. Content dates from the mid 18th to mid 20th centuries.
Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture - Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Full text manuscript collections, including newspapers, UK, US and German diplomatic and colonial records, publications from missionary organisations, and correspondence and personal papers from individuals. This archive provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies and League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the German colonial government, and later the mandate authorities (after the First World War the Treaty of Versailles mandated former German colonies to the British and French) and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in Africa. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
Frontier Life This link opens in a new window This collection helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. Includes correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets.
Gambia Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1881-1966 This link opens in a new window Includes the annual reports compiled by the colonial government of Gambia, covering the period from the creation of the British administered Gambia Colony and Protectorate to independence. The documents are divided into nine sections: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, and Miscellaneous.
Ghana and Togo under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1843-1957 This link opens in a new window Colonial government annual and departmental reports and statistical data relating to the Gold Coast and Togoland, 1843-1957. Supports comparative, social, political and economic history research on imperialism and colonialism across British Africa.
Ghana in Records from colonial missionaries, 1886-1951 This link opens in a new window A collection of six volumes of records highlighting the role and influence of colonial missionaries in Ghanaian society between 1886-1951. Records include letters sent and received, missionary reports and additional correspondence.
Indigenous Cultures and Christian Conversion in Ghana and Sierra Leone, 1700-1850 This link opens in a new window This resource comprises selected documents from a number of different microfilm collections, including: early Gold Coast records from the archives of the USPG; the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first Governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone
Kenya under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1964 This link opens in a new window Government reports starting when Kenya was a part of the East Africa Colony and continuing until independence. The statistics for Kenya are included in Colonial Africa in the official statistics, 1821-1953 dataset. These reports help explain why those statistics are at the levels recorded.
Malawi under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1967 This link opens in a new window Annual governmental reports commencing at the fracturing of the British Central Africa Protectorate which led to the official formation of the Nyasaland Protectorate. Most records conclude after Nyasaland gained independence in 1964, as Malawi. Documents are categorised as: Administration, Finance, Judicial & Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, plus a miscellaneous category.
Nigeria and Cameroon under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1887-1962 This link opens in a new window These Annual Departmental Reports relating to Nigeria and British Cameroons are organised into 10 groupings: Administration, Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services, Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Commerce, Miscellaneous, and reports relating to the British Cameroons.
Scottish Trade with Africa and the West Indies in the Early 18th Century, 1694-1709 This link opens in a new window Contains the financial and administrative records of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies (also known as the Darien Company). The documents cover the period from the company’s formation in 1694 as a rival to the East India Company to its dissolution due to debts incurred in pursuit of the ill-fated Darien scheme.
Sierra Leone under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1893-1961 This link opens in a new window Includes nine searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Sierra Leone's colonial government between 1893-1961. Volumes include records on the justice system, finance, social services, transport and more.
South Africa in records from colonial missionaries, 1819-1900 This link opens in a new window Includes letters and supplementary material compiled by the South African branch of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (now the United Society Partners in Gospel) during the period 1820-1900.
Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965 This link opens in a new window Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965 Containing 54,550 pages belonging to 121 documents housed in 5 volumes.
Uganda under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1903-1961 This link opens in a new window Includes nine searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Uganda's colonial government between 1903-1961. Volumes include records on the justice system, finance, social services, transport and more.
Zimbabwe under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1897-1980 This link opens in a new window Includes twelve searchable volumes of archive material outlining the decisions and challenges of Zimbabwe's colonial government between 1897-1980. Volumes include reports of the Auditor General, as well as records on the justice system, social services, transport and more.

17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Full text news and ephemera from the 17th and 18th centuries, from Britain and the colonies. Holdings complement the Nichols Collection. Digitised article and page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1604-1804
America in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1635-1928 This link opens in a new window Records from the United Society Partners in Gospel missionary organisation, providing an insight into British missionary changing attitudes towards the American and Canadian Colonies over 300 years.
American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1763-1783 This link opens in a new window Contains pamphlets authored on both sides of the Atlantic in the eighteenth century. The material covers a wide range of subject matter, shedding light on colonial governance, taxation, religion, and the debate over territory. Pamphlets discuss key events, such as the Boston Massacre of 1770, the 1773 Tea Act, and the 1775 Stamp Act.
Canada in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1722-1952 This link opens in a new window Records, letters, charters and reports from the Canadian branch of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG), an Anglican missionary organisation.
Caribbean Colonial Statistics from the British Empire, 1824-1950 This link opens in a new window Contains the Caribbean Blue Books from 1824-1950. Mostly covers 1839 to 1938, though some records commence in 1824 and others continue until 1950. The records for each colony are prefaced by a brief introduction to that colony. The population returns are published alongside education reports, while grants of land reveal who held the colonial wealth. Imports and exports are joined by prison records which reveal what the crimes were at that time. The imperial statistics are listed by year.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window Colonial America makes available around 1,400 volumes from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. This consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Colonial Missionaries Papers from America and the West Indies, 1701-1870 This link opens in a new window Letters, proceedings, journals and reports from the Anglian missionary organisation United Society Partners in Gospel, formerly the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG) covering 18th to early 20th century. The collection provides insight into the relationship between colonisers and the colonised.
Colonial State Papers‎ This link opens in a new window The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery. Date range: 1574-1757
Development of Canadian Governance and Foreign Policy, 1883-1904 This link opens in a new window Contains the personal papers of Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound (1845-1914), the Fourth Earl of Minto, who was involved in Canadian governance in various roles between 1883 and 1905. He served as Canadian Military Secretary from 1883 and 1885 before becoming Governor-General from 1898 to 1905.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window Manuscripts, maps, essays, printed and visual historical sources on colonialism and Empire from the 16th to 20th Centuries.
Empire Studies This link opens in a new window This collection offers a rich array of sources for the study of the British Empire. It features material on British colonial policy and government; perspectives on life in British colonies. Content dates from the mid 18th to mid 20th centuries.
Frontier Life This link opens in a new window This collection helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. Includes correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets.
Mexico in History This link opens in a new window Mexico in History explores the evolution of Mexico from c.1500 to 1929, from Spanish colonisation and the formation of New Spain through the Mexican War of Independence to the Mexican Revolution. The predominantly Spanish-language material is a combination of print, manuscript and photographic collections sourced from The Bancroft Library at the University of California Berkeley.
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window Covering 1910-1924, this collection comprises U.S. State Department documents related to the Mexican Revolution.
Scottish Trade with Africa and the West Indies in the Early 18th Century, 1694-1709 This link opens in a new window Contains the financial and administrative records of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies (also known as the Darien Company). The documents cover the period from the company’s formation in 1694 as a rival to the East India Company to its dissolution due to debts incurred in pursuit of the ill-fated Darien scheme.
West Indies in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1704-1950 This link opens in a new window Papers from the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel: their missionary work contrasted with the same Society owning slaves in the West Indies. The collection covers both sides of the Society's legacy as it moved from owning slaves to educating the emancipated. Contains reports and correspondence from across the region.

British Raj: Resistance and Reform in India, 1879-1910 This link opens in a new window Covers the Viceroys of both Lord Curzon and Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound in the British Raj between the period of 1899 and 1910. Contains departmental papers from both men’s ascendency, covering infrastructure, the military, commerce and industry, foreign affairs, health, and internal security and governance in the British Raj.
17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Full text news and ephemera from the 17th and 18th centuries, from Britain and the colonies. Holdings complement the Nichols Collection. Digitised article and page scans and OCR text. Date coverage: 1604-1804
East India Company This link opens in a new window Digitised primary source archive covering all aspects of British trade with, and government of, India from 1595 to 1947, under the East India Company itself and under the British Crown.
East India Company: Corrupt Governance and Cruelty in India, 1806-1814 This link opens in a new window Contains the East India Company papers of the First Earl of Minto, Sir Gilbert Elliot Murray Kynynmound, who served as Governor-General of India from 1806-1813. The collection is drawn from his personal papers during his time as premier of the East India Company (EIC), including correspondence with other officials, papers from the political department, papers from the secret department, and files pertaining to his time as President of the Board of Control.
East India Company: Laying the Foundations for British Colonial Domination of India, 1752-1774 This link opens in a new window Contains personal and professional papers of two East India Company employees, Colonel Robert Clive and Brigadier-General John Carnac. Clive was a British military commander and eventual Governor of Bengal whilst Carnac served as Commander-in-Chief of the East India Company in India between 1760-1761. Includes military records, correspondence and financial records from the East India Company.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window Manuscripts, maps, essays, printed and visual historical sources on colonialism and Empire from the 16th to 20th Centuries.
Empire Studies This link opens in a new window This collection offers a rich array of sources for the study of the British Empire. It features material on British colonial policy and government; perspectives on life in British colonies. Content dates from the mid 18th to mid 20th centuries.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia). The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates in Asia and the Pacific reporting on the activities of the German colonial government, and later the Japanese mandate authorities (after the First World War the Treaty of Versailles mandated former German colonies in Asia to Japan) and the activities of the native peoples. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
India Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window Explore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949 This link opens in a new window U.S. State Department files on the internal affairs of Indochina, including correspondence with other federal departments/agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations.
Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council, The This link opens in a new window Minutes of meetings held by the Board of Directors of the Shanghai Municipal Council from July 1854 to December 1943. Topics discussed include sanitation, transportation, telecommunication and postal service, taxation, urban planning, gas supply, street lighting, rickshaw operator management, animal protection, and police system by British, U.S. and French board members.
World News in Indian Newspapers, 1782-1908 This link opens in a new window Collection of three English language newspaper titles: The India Gazette, The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle, and The Bengal Times. These newspapers were published in India with a target audience of colonial businessmen, merchants, and administrators with an interest in regional and international trade. Digitised full page scans. Date coverage: 1782-1908
India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India. Records include translations of Indian government documents, speeches, memoranda, official reports, journals and newspapers, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia). The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window Documents from U.S. consulates in Asia and the Pacific reporting on the activities of the German colonial government, and later the Japanese mandate authorities (after the First World War the Treaty of Versailles mandated former German colonies in Asia to Japan) and the activities of the native peoples. The collection includes correspondence, studies, reports, cables and maps.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window Manuscripts, maps, essays, printed and visual historical sources on colonialism and Empire from the 16th to 20th Centuries.
Empire Studies This link opens in a new window This collection offers a rich array of sources for the study of the British Empire. It features material on British colonial policy and government; perspectives on life in British colonies. Content dates from the mid 18th to mid 20th centuries.
Frontier Life This link opens in a new window This collection helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. Includes correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets.

Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944 This link opens in a new window U.S. Department of State documents on Iraq, from Ottoman rule through British colonial occupation and independence.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window Manuscripts, maps, essays, printed and visual historical sources on colonialism and Empire from the 16th to 20th Centuries.