LibGuides: Primary Sources: Australasia

Australia & New Zealand

Australia in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1808-1967 This link opens in a new window Contains records compiled by the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. The collection includes letters, journals and supplementary material composed by the Australian branches during the period 1808-1967. These documents contain reports on the progress of the mission, relations with the indigenous people, the passage to Australia, and insights into how monetary grants were spent.
Australian Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window The Australian historical newspaper collection provides access to The Age (1854-2000), The Sydney Herald (1831-1842) and The Sydney Morning Herald (1842-2002). It covers issues and events, like the gold rush, federation, international politics, society and business. Digitised page scans. Date coverage: 1831-2002
Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901 This link opens in a new window Covering 1788-1901, this archive includes letters and diaries, narratives, and other primary source materials from those settling in the region in this period. The collection can be browsed by topic, collection, title, people and place.
New Zealand & Polynesian Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1838-1958 This link opens in a new window Includes letters, journals and supplementary material composed by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts' New Zealand and Polynesian branches during the period 1838-1958. These documents cover progress of the mission, relations with the indigenous Polynesians, the geography of the land, and insights into how monetary grants were spent.
Papers Past This link opens in a new window Digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals from 1839 – 1945.
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window Archive of extremist and radical materials from 20th Century Far-Right and Far-Left political groups in the US, Europe and Australia.