Welcome to the English Subject Guide
Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Take a break from your recommended academic reading and explore e-books and audiobooks on the Libby app.
More information can be found on the Libby guide.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
The following are key research tools to find scholarly research including journal articles, conference proceedings and books.
As well as the research databases mentioned above, there is a vast collection of other resources relating to particular literary periods, genres or information types that you may want to consider in your research. Find out more in the Which resources do I use? section on this page.
You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.
Or select your subject from the drop down subject menu to see a subset of resources in that category.
Or select a database type from the drop down type menu to see a subset of resources in that category.
For guidance on how to use these databases, see the Which resources do I use? guide > Criticism and Commentary section.
Full text is access to the whole article or paper
How do I get the full text?
Try these options:
First go to Settings> Library links and type University of Exeter in the search box. Make sure the box next to the University of Exeter is ticked and click Save.
Now when you search, you can get sometimes get PDF links to University subscribed content alongside the results.
LibKey browser extension to help you get access to full text articles.
In some cases, material you want to consult may not be available to you at Exeter.
You will be using vast literature databases which feature many millions of resources from around the world. There are a number of options that may be of assistance to connect you with the information you need.
This service can be used to request books/journal articles from other libraries.
Student Book Suggestion Scheme
Students can make book suggestions to the Library. Submit requests online and they will be reviewed by the library. If the book is unlikely to be used by others after your dissertation work, then you may be directed to the Document Delivery scheme instead, for short term access to material.
Use this service to search across the book and journal collections of the UK research and specialist libraries.
You can search to see if copies of books/journals are available in other libraries that you could visit whilst at home over the vacation, or by a special trip. Always check the access requirements before you travel, if you wish to visit another library. Find out more about visiting other libraries.
Click here for the 'Which resources do I use?' guide
This guide will help you:
Visit this tutorial guide for help with locating and using library resources when undertaking dissertation research.
Click here for the Shakespeare resources guide
Unsure how to access the texts of Shakespeare's plays and poems?
Need a critical article or essay relating to the Bard?
Visit this guide for help.
If you are looking for information on a particular author or literary figure, then try searching the following resources:
Within this resource is Gale Literature, which includes literary biographies. See this page for more information.
If you are looking for a particular literary work, i.e. a play, poem, short story or novel, then you can try searching the following resources:
See the LitFinder in the Gale Literature section.
Visit the English: which resources do I use? to locate literary works from particular time periods or literary movements.
We have a growing collection of audiobooks, available for you to borrow from our Overdrive website and the Libby app.
A way to borrow e-books and audiobooks! Read or listen via the Libby app or on our OverDrive website.
You can:
See this guide for more information on setting up your account - it's very simple!
Where available, links to OverDrive e-books and/or audiobooks will appear on your reading list, e.g.
All OverDrive e-books and most audiobooks are also discoverable via Library Search.
A wide range of current and archival news sources are available at the University.
Choose the News type in the A-Z Database List to view all resources.
See the guides below for more details.
We have a large collection of online archival resources. These contain digitised copies of newspapers, images, diaries, official documents, reports and letters, covering a broad range of topic areas.
We also have a wide range of physical primary source materials, available in Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum.
See the Primary Sources guide for more information.
A reference resource, such as an encyclopedia, dictionary, guide, or volume of literary criticism, provides general background information on a topic. High quality reference works produced by scholars are an excellent place to start your research, and can give you give a useful overview of a subject.
Includes the Historical Thesaurus, where you can explore synonyms of a word over time, arranged chronologically. Use the OED video guides for more information.
Click here for the Library Research: EAS2026 Desire and Power guide
This guide introduces you to the skills and resources required for effective library research for Module EAS2026.
Browse academic journals, save your favourites and discover new titles.
Connect to the platform with your Exeter IT login, and create a free account to save and organise journals and articles.
For more information visit https://libguides.exeter.ac.uk/journals/browzine
Take a look at these freely available resources.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Linking the University of Exeter Library to Google Scholar
Google Scholar is an online, freely accessible search engine for locating scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. But not all full text content is free to access.
However, it is possible to link the University of Exeter online library to Google Scholar, making it quick to identify and access library full text content.
Just follow these instructions:
Click on Check for this @ Exeter or Access this @ Exeter options to view full text article:
Find out more here: Making the most of Google Scholar
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
